We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You pay for what you get”
Review of Hotel Makarios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Makarios
Ranked #53 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
milan
Level Contributor
226 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“You pay for what you get”
Reviewed August 27, 2009

This hotel is very good, you pay for it ... it's not cheap, but you have a lot of services ... good swimming-pool, tennis, ping-pong, free internet-access, very good breakfast, nice rooms. All was fine, but you pay almost 70 euros per night for a double room ...
If you think the price is fine, you will like for sure this hotel !

Riccardo

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pettaspagna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    71
    47
    29
    24
See reviews for
35
127
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2009

Clean public areas but not air conditioned. Bedrooms are basic, but clean, and towels and bed linen changed regularly. Rooms are air conditioned, there’s a TV, fridge and safety deposit box. The shower room is small but ok, the shower however is so small that an adult struggles to wash without constantly banging into the sides!
The Hotel is dominated by Italians, the staff address you in Italian, even the notices for guests posted in Italian, there are four guest information folders, all from Italian tour operators. Inconsiderate, ignorant , Italians.
Pool and Jacuzzi would benefit from cleaning. During our two week stay we never saw anyone cleaning the pool, the bottom edges had black sand around them which was getting steadily worse. Even in July, with the outside temperatures ranging from 30 to 40 degrees, the pool is cold.
Bedroom we had, sea view balcony, also had a fine view of the end of the runway, something they omit to mention! Aircraft pass regularly, almost overhead, there is more than “some aircraft noise, the doors and windows rattle! That said, it didn’t bother us, it should be noted the first one arrives about 05.30.
The food is aimed at Italian/Greek which is fine, pity it never even reaches the buffet hot let alone your table. We gave up on eating cold Lasagne etc after the first few days, opting to eat out in the evenings. Snacks are available at the pool bar, cheese and ham toasties is the menu!!
The all inclusive drinks arrangement is not the norm, there’s a hot and cold soft drinks machine, beer and white wine on tap, and you help yourself. All other drinks are chargable.
The internet access refered to is one machine, shared by all, only made available from 10 till 10. That said, I was able to hook up a wired connection to my laptop which was fine when the Greek phonelines were working!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 22Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2008

We visited Santorini and specifically Hotel Makarios three weeks ago and still remember the relaxing time we spent around the lagoon pool of the hotel!
The food was excellent and honestly our decition ti travel on all inclusive this summer was indeed a big relief during our holidays, since we didn;t have to wonder around and speculate whic restaurant is most probably the best to eat at!
This way we spent more money to amuse ourselves at night!
The personnel was very polite and present day and night at the reception so we felt more safe!For those who seek to have the best itme in Santorini, hotel Makarios should be their top destination combinig both ease, relax and economy!
p.s. the room was uite spacious compared to other 2* star hotels, featuring characteristics of a minimum 3* star hotels in Europe!

Vasso Foti, Athens Greece

Helpful?
Thank VassoFoti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2008

Hey there! i was in Makarios hotel just 10 days ago and i really had a good time... Makarios is more than just a three star hotel. The staff made us feel as a family.... The pool and the outdoor jacuzzi were our favorite spots... The food was also really tasty apart from plenty!!!!
The rooms are simple but comfortable enough.
If you visit Santorini, Makarios hotel is a good choice...

  • Liked — The stuff and the food
  • Disliked — Too many Italians
  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rick_trev69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santorini, Greece
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2008

this summer we choose Greece and Santorini. We stayed in hotel Makarios on July 5th for a week and had great vacations. Our room was big and very clean with a balcony that you can spend your evening. The food was very good the stuff very helpful and polite. Santorini is very beautiful and if i decide to go back i will definately visit the same hotel.

  • Liked — The Great Service
  • Disliked — The Airport
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank desparate39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2008

Hello.Unfortunately a place that destroy our holiday.Dirty,moskuitos everywhere,we booked a room with private bathroom and they gave us one with a bathroom 50 metres for from our room.The brekafast was never o time and the bread was like 5 days old.We complained to the reception but they were calling us names,and shouting.We also informed our travel agent and he mention that it was not the first time they had complains about it.Noise from the airport and behaviour worst than everywhere.Like we wanted to stay there for free!not even towels in the bath.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — staff
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bob083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kamari hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamari hotels
0.3 mi away
Rose Bay Hotel
Rose Bay Hotel
#25 of 75 in Kamari
316 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rivari
Hotel Rivari
#39 of 75 in Kamari
215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thalassa Sea Side Resort & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Hotel Andreas
Hotel Andreas
#56 of 75 in Kamari
90 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kamari Beach Hotel
Kamari Beach Hotel
#17 of 75 in Kamari
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Makarios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Makarios

Property: Hotel Makarios
Address: Kamari Beach, Kamari 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Makarios 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gazing the east and hardly 150 meters from the sea at the village Kamari, hotel Makarios welcomes you with all the modern comforts. Enjoy moments of relaxation drinking cocktails in our comfortable swimming-pool or Jacuzzi and have fun playing tennis or Ping-Pong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Makarios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makarios Hotel Kamari
Hotel Makarios Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing