We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special hideaway hotel”
Review of Tamarix del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tamarix del Mar
Ranked #9 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2013

My fiance and I stayed at Tamarix del Mar for 4 nights on our trip to Santorini last July. It was a special holiday for us as we got engaged while we were there. We had a beautiful suite here, which was very large, with a living room, bedroom and two bathrooms, private spa pool and balcony. It definitely had the 'wow' factor!
The staff at the hotel also arranged complimentary champagne and room decorations (ie. roses and petals) for us to arrive back to after my fiance had proposed.
The hotel has a great little cocktail bar by the pool which is very reasonable, and we enjoyed a day or two lounging by the poolside.
Kamari itself was my favourite village on Santorini (we also stayed in the famous Oia) as it is a bit more laid back, with easy access to the pebbled beach, and some great restaurants all the way along the beach. We also found that food and drink here was significantly cheaper than in Oia.
After just four nights here, I really didn't want to leave, and would highly recommend this hotel to any couple looking to stay on Santorini!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarix_12, Manager at Tamarix del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

It was very kind of you to write down a review for us. Thank you very much for your good words and we hope that will have the chance to welcome you again here in Tamarix del Mar suites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (430)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 430 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon as a treat the staff arranged for us, free of charge, to stay in a villa in Thira overlooking the caldera with champagne breakfast and a private jacuzzi for 2 nights. The apartments are spotless towels changed twice daily, staff polite and genuinely want you to have a good holiday. It's really a couples hotel when we stayed there were a few children but the staff welcomed them openly too. A real treat well worth a visit. It's a little more expensive than others but the little extra you pay is really worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheSmithsSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarix_12, Manager at Tamarix del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thank you for your kind words and we are honored that you had nice holiday with us. We hope to have the pleasure to see you again on a future visit to Santorini.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed at the Tamarix in August 2012 and we got married whilst over there. From the moment we walked into the reception we were greeted with such warm and friendly staff who made us feel like we belonged there - like one of the family.

Mina on the front desk was the most helpful and kind woman we could have wished for. She helped us with many aspects of the wedding (me especially!) From my hair/ make up to our transport to the suite of the gods. Nothing was too much trouble and everything was done with a smile.

Staying at the Tamarix, for us, was a truly special occasion and we would be honoured if we are lucky enough to stay there again.

Our first room was beautiful and when we were upgraded to a luxury maisonette we thought we were in heaven - the rooftop pool was amazing!

Thank you for everything you did for us and for making our wedding/ honeymoon the most amazing holiday and one we will remember always.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My Wife and I have recently returned from this wonderful little Hotel and cant praise it highly enough . From arrival to departure the staff were helpful and attentive and nothing was too much botquiet due to her . Our room was spacious and spotlessly clean thanks to the fantastic cleaning team who worked tirelessly daily throughout the complex . Breakfast was a nice selection of Cereals , meats , cheeses , breads etc with a Greek variation on an English fryup . Yoghurts , Pastries and Fruit were also available . Kamari itself although quiet due to nearing the end of season was beautiful and so friendly with more restaurants than you could ever wish for , the first being only 30 yards from the Hotel door ( free wine aplenty ) . The public transport buses leave from about 500 yards away and cost for a trip to Fira was 1.6. Euros each way and the views on arrival are breathtaking . Santo Wineries is another great stop and the scenery once again is astonishing . Kamari as a place and as people made this a Wedding Anniversary to remember and We wouldnt hesitate to recommend theTamerix Del Mar to anyone .

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foxylot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Hotel lovely & clean, very well looked after. The staff amazingly friendly & helpful. More like going to family than just a hotel.
We picked this hotel through Thomsons as recommended by one of the travel agent staff. We had never heard of Santorini & wanted somewhere special for ourHoneymoon. Special was what we got. Perfect

Room Tip: From our point of view everything was perfect & would have no hesitation in returning to such a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michelle n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We booked the Tamarix on the basis of fantastic reviews on TripAdvisor and having found a really good late deal through Thomas Cook (UK Travellers - we found their prices at the Tamarix to be a lot cheaper than Thomsons)

We arrived to be welcomed warmly and ushered through to the bar, where we were given a complimentary drink whilst they sorted the room allocation. We were then taken to our room (209). Having booked a late deal, we expected a fairly standard room - the lovely lady informed us that we had been upgraded to a deluxe masionette with a jacuzzi on the roof terrace - to say we were shocked was an understatement! As a previous reviewer have said, they upgraded us simply because they could - what a fantastic first impression and what incredible service.

The room was great, with a kitchette, a double bed on the ground floor, twin beds on the first floor and a huge, spacious roof terrace with deck chairs, a jacuzzi and a view out to sea and overlooking the windy road to Ancient Thera. We caught a glimpse into some of the other rooms (there are around 20 odd in total) and each had their own unique characteristics - some had sun lounges on the terrance, some had a large balcony or terrace and a number had a little private jacuzzi. Wherever you are put, I don't think you'd go too wrong with any room here.

The hotel itself is a real oasis - relaxing and calm. Even with full occupancy, there were enough sunbeds to go around (free beach towels provided) and plenty of room. The cafe does great snacks and drinks and opens till late in the evening (although is always peaceful, especially because at night they light lots of candles around the pool).

As well as the outdoor pool, there's an indoor pool, sauna and gym equipment which even though we didn't see anyone use was immacuately maintained.

Breakfast was good, varied with great, flexible hours (going on till around 11am) and you can take it in the bright, airy breakfast room or outside in the sunshine. A lovely way to start the day.

It's a short 2 minute walk to Kamari beach where you can choose from one of the many restuarants (as well as there being tavernas on the walk down to the beach) - we particularly liked Atmosphere where the Greek Plate was incredible, and the Crepe Academy where they have 28 dessert Crepes and Baileys milkshakes - amazing.

Kamari itself is one of the nicest beach resorts we have been to - it's very chilled, family friendly and the little touches like the outdoor cinema (a must visit, with its deckchairs on the front row and cocktails at your seat) make it a really lovely location.

A trip to the sunset side of the island is a must - the bus goes from just down the road from the Tamarix to Fira, and you can then get a connection to anywhere on the island - but we found Fira, Imergoveli and Oia to be (understandably) crowded and a lot more expensive (8 Euro for two cans of Coke in Imergoveli compared to a couple of Euro in Kamari!). Just be careful catching the bus back after sunset - it is very busy and if you're not quick, you'll be stood (for an hour in Oia) waiting for the next one.

If you don't fancy the bus, you can hire a car from the place next door to the Tamarix which they recommend, a convertable Smart car cost us 40 Euro for the day and we were able to visit the whole island. A visit to Ancient Thera, Red Beach and Pyrgos are absolute musts.

We were so sad to leave the Tamarix and have recommended it to friends and family - it's a beautifully appointed oasis with great service. We would absolutely return!

Room Tip: Room 209 was incredible (deluxe masionette)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pontypool1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Beautiful hotel!! Fantastic Staff..

My Husband and I got married in Santorini and choose the Tamarix as our hotel for our 2 week stay on the island. We were treated to 5 star service and hotel from the minute we arrived!! The hotel itself is a beautiful oasis and ideally placed for everything you could wish for. The breakfast choices were excellent, the rooms, pool and hotel grounds were lovely and the staff ( especially Mina on reception) were nothing short of amazing!! When we arrived we were whisked of for a special 1 night stay at their exclusive sister hotel in Fira ( complete with a bottle of chilled champagne) when we were collected from the Fira hotel we were returned to find a room upgrade and all of our belongings delivered to the room. Nothing was ever too much trouble ( including taking my wedding dress to have it steamed for me) they were quick to help with restaurant recommendations, making reservations, booking taxis and even helping me with my wedding day nerves and all manor of personal and little touches that made our stay all the more special. A truly fabulous hotel with fabulous staff – we would not hesitate to recommend this hotel

Amy & Lee Dougan

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamari
0 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#3 of 75 in Kamari
470 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bellonias Villas
Bellonias Villas
#2 of 75 in Kamari
821 reviews
3.8 mi away
Astro Palace Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
De Sol Spa Hotel
De Sol Spa Hotel
#9 of 81 in Fira
140 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lilium Villas
Lilium Villas
#8 of 81 in Fira
786 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel 28
Hotel 28
#4 of 75 in Kamari
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarix del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarix del Mar

Address: P.O. Box 5360, Kamari 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kamari
#12 Family Hotel in Kamari
Price Range: $186 - $458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tamarix del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tamarix del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarix Del Mar Kamari
Tamarix Del Mar Hotel Kamari
Tamarix Del Mar Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing