We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beach okay”
Review of Kamari Beach

Kamari Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$108.13*
and up
Sea Kayaking Tour in Santorini from Mesa Pigadia
Ranked #2 of 26 things to do in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
West Midlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beach okay”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Great place to be, a bit uncomfortable to walk on the beach because it's black shale but lovely scenery and great sea.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank GarnerWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,071 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,490
    1,707
    717
    116
    41
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Vist soon before it goes back into the sea”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Kamari Beach has been a frequent spot for my wife and I to visit over the last 25 years. When we first visited in 1988 the beach was almost deserted and three times as wide. Today the black beach has been erroding away because of changing tides and ecology. Located below the ancient ruins of Thira this volcanic stone beach is still a place to enjoy and go swimming or diving in. There are also many cafes and restaurants along the beach to enjoy. Beach shoes are a must in Summer because the stones do get hot.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The famous black beach”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I love Kamari Beach. It is totally different from the usual white sandy beaches that we normally go to. Kamari beach has black pebbles and the water is very nice, a beach shoes is recommended. There are a lot of nice sunbeds where you can relax & a lot of restaurants where you can order a nice refreshing drinks and good food as well. I really love this place and the next time I visit Santorini, I will definitely stay here again. its definitely fun in the sun!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank iam_maiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lydbrook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Volcanic sand and pebbles, but popular.”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We're not really beach lovers, but this was well-kept, clean and provided plenty of facilities. There are many tavernas along the seafront and a number of hotels overlook the beach as well. If you like your beaches, this is worth a visit. But take beach shoes; that black sand gets very hot!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stuart A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasov, Romania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Romantic at sunrise”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I found this beach very romantic and unique in its special way, comparing to other common beaches. The black small pebbles, mixed with black sand in some parts of the beach, did not disturb me at all. The water was very clean, but not recommended for children, as was quite deep and with stones down. Nice sunbeds and umbrellas, civilized people, it was very nice to walk on this beach at sunrise, as it offered a great landscape. For lunch, you may choose between a wide variety of dishes, at the tavernas close to the beach.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank roxyblondutza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kamari Beach also viewed

 
Perivolos, Santorini
 

Been to Kamari Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing