We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kamari Beach

Kamari Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$104.41*
and up
Sea Kayaking Tour in Santorini from Mesa Pigadia
Ranked #2 of 27 things to do in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Small.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Beach was fine, typical black sand but small and in an isolated spot. I don't think you would use it unless you were staying very close by like us as only one bar/restaurant too.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bron65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,951 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,434
    1,665
    697
    115
    40
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Kamari itself is a nice place to stay for the budget conscious and away from the noise and foreign tourists of the caldera. Kamari is mostly frequented by Greeks not foreigners. The beach though, though the word means pride in Greek, and they are obviously proud of it, is not so great. We got black stuff all over our back after we got up.
Santorini is not known for its beaches and I suppose Kamari is the best in Santorini.The swim there is not the best either, the waves can come suddenly as happened to us because it is in the open sea. If you need to swim in Santorini, stick to the pools.If you want ocean swims, swim in Kamari,there is nothing better in Santorini for swimming.But, if you can make it to the mainland or another Greek island for swimming,all the better.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank HJLtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

This is one of the better beaches here and oh my god talk about choices in restaurants.If I am not mistaken there is something in the neighbourhood of 77 restaurants along the beach strip. In front is the beach where you pay 5 Euros for a beach lounger but if you eat at one you can take a nap if you want on one the chairs. I fell asleep at the table never made it to the chairs. Great place to spend a day or two on the Island

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank luckycannuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wideworld60
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Had black sand just went on the beach once. but to walk along the front being not that good on legs was ideal

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank wideworld60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just for holiday makers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

This beach is made for holiday makers, bars, restaurants, cafes, shops off all descriptions. no traffic after noon so you can walk with out fear of been run over and if you take one of the beach beds belonging to a Restaurants you get service to your sun bed, yes I do recommend it

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank martin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kamari Beach also viewed

 

Been to Kamari Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing