We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning beach which must get a gorgeous sunrise”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kamari Beach

Kamari Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$103.73*
and up
Sea Kayaking Tour in Santorini from Mesa Pigadia
Ranked #2 of 27 things to do in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Stunning beach which must get a gorgeous sunrise”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We visited here whilst staying in Pyrgos, first impressions were excellent, the beach its self is not easy to walk along, but it is lovely to sunbath on and enjoy the plenty of options of eateries along the pedestrian walking area. I would have loved to have stayed in one of the nice looking hotels facing onto the sea.
Would definitely come back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank kinnidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,967 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,442
    1,670
    699
    115
    41
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Black Sand Beach”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed withing walking distance of Kamari Beach, and spend a few hours here on one day. We paid 5 Euro for 2 chairs and an umbrella. All of the chairs are owned by the restaurants adjacent to them, so prices vary. Water shoes are required due to the hot sand and the rocky beach. Lots of nearby eateries and shops.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank AndieA77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pebbles not sand”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

It was refreshing not having sand everywhere. Hurt to walk on just going in and out of sea but worth it. Clean, Hot sea :) and we found waiter service with our sunbeds. Happy days

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank likeitspotless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
119 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Nice beach/seafront”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We were staying at the cliff side of Santorini-Imerovigli. So a day trip to the beach was nice. The town/village is pretty small but well geared up for tourists. Unfortunately it was chopping so we couldn't swim in the sea. The souvenir shops are pretty good selling all the usual tat and some nicer bits and pieces as well.

The only annoying thing was that there is a near constant row of tavernas/restaurants all the way along the seafront and they were all trying to get you into there places. It wasn't that busy so I'm not surprised at there efforts. Having said this they weren't too pushy really.

Also worth saying that the beach is a great spot to watch the planes coming into land as it is right by the airport!

I would love to come back to Santorini and I think that Kamari beach would make a nice base to relax and to visit the cliff top villages.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank vapour84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klamath Falls, Oregon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Clear Aegean Waters”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Kamari beach has large pebbles, not sand. When you go in the water, it is a bit difficult to walk on the shifting pebbles, but when you are in the water, it is really nice. The beach has many options of sunbeds and umbrellas you can "rent" for the day starting at 5 Euros in Sept. 2013. The area of Kamari is full of restaurants, tavernas, shops, and hotels lining the boardwalk along the beach. This area comes alive with people strolling along the boardwalk until late in the evening. The location of Kamari is the best to stay at because it is so easily accessible compared to the more famous Fira and Oia.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank vcarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kamari Beach also viewed

 
Perivolos, Santorini
 

Been to Kamari Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing