We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thumbs up”
Review of Aegean Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aegean Plaza Hotel
Ranked #25 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2013

A family owned complex of rooms and apartments well suited to the family holiday 3 minutes walk from the beach. A couple of nice clean swimming pools are the focal points, one of which has a small poolside bar. The rooms are well appointed and ours was scrupulously clean and very comfortable with a proper double bed (not two singled pushed together). Our room had a good sized balcony and a couple of windows which could be left open creating a nice breeze at night. Air con was included in the room at no extra charge, but we found it surplus to requirement preferring to open windows and taking advantage of the mozzy free environment.
As there is a massive choice of eateries in the immediate area we plumped for B&B for our week giving us more choice. Having said that the breakfast buffet was fantastic, offering multicultural favourites to suit every pallet. All in all it was a very pleasant stay. The staff were all friendly.
On the negative side. It would have been nice if the bar were to stay open a little later. When on holiday we tend to want to let our hair down a little, but sadly we had to leave the hotel at 23;00hrs to hunt down some music, alcohol and entertainment. All of which were a little lacking at the Aegean Plaza. But, that probably suits other people down to the ground.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mick_W_Butler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (598)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 598 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed here for 10 night in August and thorough enjoyed ourselves. First things first, we got a transfer from the airport but you do NOt need it as it is maybe 10-15 minutes at the most in a taxi and would probably work out cheaper. The rooms were lovely, we overlooked the pool in room 321 and were met with a large and comfortable room with beautiful arched ceiling. The bathrooms are not as modern as you would find inEngland but that is expected in Greece and everything was very usable and fence for what was needed. One thing, maybe a shower head holder would help so you don't have to hold it with your hands when trying to wash. Pool wise, we stayed in the main pool (there are two smaller ones) which was fine, only 1 of the days left us with no sunbed as we didn't manage to get down before tennish. The pool was never too busy, and ahead a good relaxed atmosphere, maybe a change of music might help though as the CDs were in a loop and it got a bit repetitive. Food was average with a reasonable choice of options, salad each night with a choice of three main meat dishes and a pasta and veg side dish - all quite average dishes. The pool bar had a big choice of food however did take sometimes up to 25 minutes to come once ordered. Staff in the hotel were very good, especially Anthony in the restaurant who all took time out to talk to you and make you feel welcome. Overall a lovely hotel in a great spot, a 2 minute walk to the beach strip of restaurants and bars and cafes and a 10 minute taxi ride to the main town of Fira.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank JosieKirby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This hotel was a pleasure to stay at,huge rooms decorated very nicely.food good.hotel staff very helpful,my husband was ill for a few days and hotel staff got a doctor to. Visit him.near all restaurants and bars but far enough away for sleep quality

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susanmaureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We choosed this Hotel as being located near the beach of Kamari and we found it very comfortable. Our room was on the third floor with a large balcony looking into the main swimming pool. I would recommend to ask for the rooms located on the second or third floor in order to have more light. The room was very big, clean and with all the amneties. We had daily changes on the towels and bed linen.
We also had couple of times lunch by the bar at the swimming pool, maybe a little slow the service but good food. We were a little disappointed with the breakfast, no pastry only two types of biscuits and no fresh fruit. We could not have any espresso coffee or capuccino as the bar was closed, only black coffee that was not so good! The staff is great, nice people always smiling, very professional, thanks for the suggestions.
We absolutely recommend this Hotel, thanks for the great time :)

Room Tip: second or third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GioChiasso_Svizzera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We have recently returned from a very enjoyable two week break in Kamari and could not have wished for a more ideally placed hotel. Our room was cleaned daily with fresh towels and bed linen and the staff were always polite and friendly. Our room was on the third floor and overlooked the main pool, it had a good sized balcony. The ground floor rooms appeared to be very overlooked with little privacy if sitting out. The hotel benefits from having a choice of pools; the main pool being the busiest with a pool side bar (where Chris, the bar manager was always friendly and smiling and used excellent English). The smaller pool (across the road) was a tranquil place to relax and enjoy the sun. Breakfast offered a variety of choices from continental to full English and even cake and biscuits. We found between 8 - 9am the best time to go for breakfast as after 9 it was always busy. There are however a sufficient number of tables inside and out and the food supply was continuously topped up. The Aegean Plaza was ideally situated with the pedestrianized strip of restaurants, bars and shops on the beach front only a two minute walk away.

Santorini is a lovely island and trips to Fira and Oia for the views are recommended but as both resorts are built into the rock they can be steep in places, although there is use of cable cars and donkeys! As Kamari is at beach level it is certainly recommended for those with less mobility.

A visit to Santo Winery (Pygros) for sun set is a must. The view there is spectacular and you can enjoy some wine tasting at a reasonable cost.

We have no hesitation in recommending Kamari and the Aegean Plaza Hotel to anyone thinking of visiting Santorini. We will certainly return there sometime in the future.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank vicky0245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Hotel only 2 miles from the airport so dont bother booking a transfer just get a taxi for 15 eur one way. Hotel grounds pools etc all look a good 4* standard but the rooms were a slight bit of a letdown. I felt they could be slightly modernised as they are only a 3* standard especially for the price thay some people have paid to stay there. Food and drink at the poolside is good and the staff are excellent and helpfull. Wifi is extremely slow though! Liked the hotel but wouldnt return back as you can get a lot more for your money at other islands but you are paying for the privaledge of going to santorini. We only paid 600 each with easyjet holidays for 1 week but heard others say they paid 800-900! Kamari side isnt the nicest by all means but oia and fira are a must see!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wigantraveller85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We were honoured to be invited to a wedding in Santorini, the news given last year led to much anticipation of where to stay - should we stay in a separate hotel from the wedding party or join them. After much debate we opted to join them at the Aegean Plaza.

What a delightful hotel, the room was spacious and overlooked the pool. The furniture was basic but gave adequate storage. There were 3 pools to chose from and the main pool had a bar. The breakfast was hearty with choices and the Greek yoghurt and honey was delicious.
The staff were friendly - though the reception people were not as helpful and communicative as the bar staff. The room was cleaned daily and the towels changed, pool towels were also provided and there was a general relaxed and comfortable feel. Couples, families and friends all seemed to be catered for.

The location of the hotel was great and it was an easy stroll to the front for many taverna's and shops.

We only stayed for 5 days as we were on a tight time schedule however will return to Snatorini and potentially the same hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor - 321 - not good if you have walking difficulties. The friends we trave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Newkneebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamari hotels
0.1 mi away
Rose Bay Hotel
Rose Bay Hotel
#26 of 75 in Kamari
361 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aegean View Hotel
Aegean View Hotel
#16 of 75 in Kamari
254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#20 of 75 in Kamari
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Epavlis Hotel
Epavlis Hotel
#35 of 75 in Kamari
394 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tamarix del Mar
Tamarix del Mar
#9 of 75 in Kamari
429 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anassa Deluxe Suites
Anassa Deluxe Suites
#2 of 75 in Kamari
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aegean Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aegean Plaza Hotel

Address: | Kamari Beach, Kamari 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kamari
#24 Family Hotel in Kamari
#28 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
Price Range: $107 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aegean Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Aegean Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aegean Plaza Kamari
Hotel Aegean Plaza
Aegean Plaza Santorini
Aegean Plaza Hotel Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing