We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sooo lovely!”
Review of Rose Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rose Bay Hotel
Ranked #27 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We went there for the first time in 2010 and went back this year. Nice and clean rooms, very very friendly staff (efcharisto para polie Xristina, Sapphi, Magda and all the others), fair prices, great swimming pool, even greater poolbar...a lovely heaven to return to many times again... And don't be afraid of the planes that pass by very closely, you get used to it very quickly! Tha leme...

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Dirk A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (361)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 361 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

Our room was bright and very clean, with a good size bathroom and balcony overlooking the pool. The pool area was secluded and restful. The pool itself very clean and cool - both long and deep enough to be able to swim as well as relax in. The other guests were generally quite a bit older than us - mostly retired couples on Saga tours. (This was the case across Kamari, not just at the Rose Bay.) The staff were generally very pleasant and helpful, although the staff at the pool bar came across a little aloof and grumpy at times!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmmaM2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of our tour package. The pool area is lovely with lots of sunbeds, pool bar, shade and very friendly staff. The rooms were nest and tidy. Breakfast consisted of an English style breakfast plus local options. The highlight if this resort is it's location. It is close to the beach and a large selection of restaurants, close to bus stop and airport.
The staff are all very helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AussieYoungMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

We had a lovely 3 day stay here. The location was perfect for us - away from all the crowds, our own little paradise. A very short walk to the main beach 100m, shirt walk to bus stop to get to Fira or Oia; lots of lovely restaurants. The staff were extremely helpful, especially the reception who helped change some if our tour details. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tishba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were booked into this hotel as part of a Saga tour of three Greek islands. We spent eight nights there in total on a half board basis and have to say the staff and the food are first class. The location is also perfect because although the beach at Kamari is poor - like all beaches on Santorini - the "strip" is very lively and great fun at night and is only 100 yards away. The hotel is on the flight path but flights are relatively few and, apart from the odd one at night, not a great inconvenience.
The pool is very nice and the rooms are cleaned every day. All in all a very good little hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms around the pool are best. The first one we were allocated was out the back with no view an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GulliverCornwall_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We've been first time to Santorini from August 22nd to September 2nd 2012.
After arriving at the hotel at 11am we could do the check-in, but we've been told that as the hotel currently is fully booked the hotel room will be ready at noon only, which did not bother us at all. It gave us the opportunity to discover the area around the hotel and have a welcome drink at a bar somewhere around.
We got back to the hotel at about 2pm and got the room key. Our room was 213, which was a corner room (three-bed-room) and a balcony with backyard-view. It was ok, but after we tested the bathroom - especially the shower - we noticed that water run out onto the floor from somewhere and that the shower shower head was full of limescale, which made only few water coming out in all directions. TV did not show picture as the cable was loose.
We went back to the reception desk and reported. At the same time we asked whether it might be possible to get a pool-view room. The lady at the reception was very helpful and offered us a room for the next day as people will leave and we could change room as soon as the room will be ready.
We spent the rest of the day at the pool area and enjoyed the big pool (not usual at all for the hotels on Santorini at all) local beer (yellow donkey) and a club sandwich. The value for money was great - the club sandwich exceptional fresh and tasted fantastic.
When we went back to the room the TV has already been fixed in the meantime. However, we did not watch TV during the rest of our holiday also in the new room - channels quite poor with only one English and one German beside Italian channel as only once not being Greek.
The change did happen very smoothly and uncomplicated. Also the second room was very spacious, which is not usual on the island it seems according to many other reviews. The balcony was bigger and facing the pool.
We did enjoy the peace and quiet on Santorini and in Rose Bay very much. Rooms very clean and daily new towels. Only negative thing is the extremely hard mattress. Might be ok for heavy weighted people, but can give back ache if you're light weighted. You get used to it after a couple of nights though I must admit.
Breakfast was quite a big choice, but no variety from day one to last day, so after a few day you exactly what you like and you're going to eat. The toast-machine was a bit annoying as there were just four slots to put four slices of bread into and all other guests have to wait until the bread was toasted. It also toasted very unevenly, so you had to turn around the bread after half time. Beside this the service was very attentive and friendly and nothing to be complained about at all. Just beside the hotel there is a small supermarket with the most essential things to buy cheap and store in the fridge in the room.
The hotel is excellently located in a road that leads to the beach front with all the restaurants and shops, which made it a quiet place. Still you only had to walk down for about 2 minutes and you've been on the stony beach.
Except of our arrival day we never spend the day at the hotel pool, but went down to the beach where we had a set of two sunbeds and a parasol out of palm-tree from the restaurant Splash. The costs were 5Euro per day and set (so for two people), which was less expensive than all the other sets down the beach to the other side of Kamari. It is quite painful to get into and out of water as the stones hurt depending how you hit them by walking in or out of the sea. Crocks, which we had are not ideal, best would be beachwalkers that fit well the feet give hold and you do not lose in the sea.
We usually eat a small snack at Splash, so we could even stay at the same beach area the whole day and even got served at the beach on our beach-set. Splash is reviewed by us in the restaurant review section to be referred to.
To the bus station it's about a 10 minutes walk. Buses cost 1.60 Euro and do always turn by Fira the capital - you always have to go to Fira if you want to go by bus to other sites. So no direct bus to Oia for example. Bus to Fira takes about 10 minute and from Fira to Oia about 20 minutes. To Oia it counts as two rides so you pay the 1.60 everytime you get into a new bus. Buses run every 20 minute.
It's easy to be in Santorini without a car as long as your hotel is in Kamari and no-where outside. We only rented a car for one full day to see things you do not get to with the public transport (eg the lighthouse at the very end of the island - stunning view of caldera, the sea and its different small islands).
We most likely will return to Santorini to have a great and relaxing time and we would again choose the Rose Bay hotel as we overall liked it very much. Not modern, but clean, which we rate and appreciate far higher than super modern, but dirty and full of bugs. We recommend Rose Bay.

Room Tip: Our room was 211, which was a good one with pool view balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SwissGulliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

The Rose Bay Hotel was a great gem. Really close to the airport *18 Euros by taxi), a very friendly staff, a great pool, and just steps from Kamari beach. The breakfast spread is both ample and free, and while the Wi-Fi wouldn't work in our room -- it just didn't reach room 215 -- it worked very well and was free at the pool.

The rooms were very clean, had an open fridge (great!), and free parking for guests. I'd highly recommend using the ATV rental shop about 10 minutes walk north of the hotel, down the beach towards the mountain and very near the Landry facility. Sorry, I can't recall the exact name, but there's a pug on site. We got a 350 ATV for 75 Euros for 3 days (insurance included) and it was a BLAST. Don't do Thira without getting an ATV. Buy your own cute helmet at the 2 Brothers store in town.

Anywho, this hotel is an awesome jumping off point. Great price, free breakfast, free Wi-Fi, near the beach, beautiful. It's just a quick ATV ride to anywhere on the island.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarrenNCSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamari hotels
0.9 mi away
Epavlis Hotel
Epavlis Hotel
#36 of 75 in Kamari
394 reviews
0.8 mi away
Antinea Suites Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#20 of 75 in Kamari
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sigalas Hotel
Sigalas Hotel
#30 of 75 in Kamari
167 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kamari Beach Hotel
Kamari Beach Hotel
#15 of 75 in Kamari
628 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel 28
Hotel 28
#5 of 75 in Kamari
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Bay Hotel

Address: Kamari 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Kamari
#22 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
Price Range: $119 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rose Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rose Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rose Bay
Rose Bay Hotel Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing