We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel location”
Review of Sunshine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunshine Hotel
Ranked #6 of 31 Kamari B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We really enjoyed this hotel for its location right off the beach & the boardwalk right in front of the hotel so you could go for a nice nightly stroll & check out all of the other hotels & restaurants that are plentiful in this area. The hotel room was large & bathroom was also nice. The hotel staff were super & very helpful. There hotel has a nice pool in the back away from all of the noise on the boardwalk. The beach area is very large & the hotel have free lounge chairs on the beach but the beach is very pebbly & with some large rocks. The water is nice but does get deep quickly.
Would definately recommend this hotel, great value.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KGACanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

60 - 66 of 186 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stay for one week at sunshine hotel. The location of the hotel is great (near the beach,2 minutes walking to bus station). Clean and comfortable hotel with helpul staff definidly was a very good choice for our holiday on santorini. Try for sure the home made pasta from the hotel restaurant which is one the best in Kamari.

+Location
+hotel restaurant
+Clean
+Staff
+free sunbeds

-Breakfast (poor)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Macchris10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

To save money on Santorini you need to stay on the the opposite side of the caldera. Kamari Beach is quiet and only a bus ride to Thira. Very helpful owners who are right on site!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eleni1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

The Sunshine Restaurant is right on the beach towards the mountain. When we arrived we were shown the menu to see if there was anything we liked. Then we were able to choose a table right on the sea front overlooking the beach.

We ordered a 1.5ltr bottle of water as we were so thirsty after walking around all day.

The bread came along with a flavoured butter and soon afterwards the mains came along. I ordered the Mixed Fish (14.00 euros), which was really nice. My partner ordered the Greek salad (6.50 euro) and tomatokeftedes (5.00 euros), these dishes came off the starter section of the menu. She enjoyed both dishes.

We asked for the bill, a short while afterward the waiter came with the bill and a Creme Caramel free. This was a lovely end to a nice meal.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank GrahamUK33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

+ Friendly staff
+ Newly renovated rooms
+ The hotel restaurant (pasta)
+ Close to the beach and pedestrian
+ Air condition included
+ In-room refrigerator
+ No children during our stay

- Small balcony (50 cm in width) and no view
- Breakfast was a bit small
- Breakfast was served between the hours of 8-10
- No pool bar
- It would have been better to have the pool at the pedestrian

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

This is a quite nice hotel, Mrs. Maria Preka, owner, and her staff are helpful and smiling. The property is on the beach of Kamari, not a modern resort, but it has an ancient time atmosphere, although the pool is located on a corner (right on the road), it's clean and confortable. And the view on the hill of ancient Thira (few minutes away) is breathtaking: on the top of the hill you can see ant-size buses goin' up and down, and if you climb the hill (we did the trip by car....) you'll have the chance to see airplanes landing FAR BELOW YOU! (The Santorini airstrip is very close). The breakfast is average, but the fresh home made pasta of the restaurant is super, and the prices of snacks and dishes ok....

Room Tip: Ask for room with view on the beach, or the hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Biavati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

We just came back from our visit to Santorini and we enjoyed staying at Hotel Sunshine. We had spent a couple of nights at the Volcano Views hotel which is in a different category so we were expecting a total downgrade but we were pleasantly surprised. Their website does not do them justice and it definitely needs to be updated.
We had booked a triple room but when Maria, the lady at the reception, saw our luggage, she said we won't be comfortable in one room so she gave us two double rooms with no extra charge. They also let us check out later than 12:00 pm so we got to use the beach and our rooms the last morning as well.
It is a family owned business, like many other places there in Kamari beach, and that's probably why they don't follow strict protocols. They make fresh pasta right in front between the hotel and the restaurant and they gave us free deserts when we ate there.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bewaremomisthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamari hotels
0.1 mi away
Kamari Beach Hotel
Kamari Beach Hotel
#16 of 75 in Kamari
627 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alesahne Beach Hotel
Alesahne Beach Hotel
#38 of 75 in Kamari
210 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Matina
Hotel Matina
#19 of 75 in Kamari
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#5 of 75 in Kamari
468 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anassa Deluxe Suites
Anassa Deluxe Suites
#2 of 75 in Kamari
390 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santellini Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Hotel

Address: P.O.Box 53, Kamari 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Kamari
Price Range: $74 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunshine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open: 24 Apr to 20 Oct ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sunshine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing