We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Prehistorical Museum” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ancient Thera

Ancient Thera
Book In Advance
More Info
$241.80*
and up
Santorini Helicopter Flight
Ranked #1 of 27 things to do in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This 11th century BC Dorian settlement includes remains from Hellenistic, Roman, and Byzantine periods.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Prehistorical Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

You have the opportunity to admire the buildings as they were on 2000 BC. It seems that they are people who lives in. They are not ruins!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Eirini Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    742
    556
    175
    23
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrow, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“worth a visit.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

If you are interested in the history of Santorini on your holiday, then it is worth the trip to Ancient Thira. It cost's only 2 euro's per person to get in. Ancient Thira is accessible from 2 places, either by foot only from Perissa. However, to go from Perissa you will have to be very fit, as it is quite a steep walk along a stoney path, that twists and turns up the mountainside. Should you choose to go from the Kamira side, you can either walk or go by car / motor bike, as there is a roadway to the very top. However, the walk is very steep also, and would take the average walker probably well over an hour to get to the top, so be prepared if you are walking in very hot sunshine! Once at the top there is a converted camper van that has drinks and snacks for sale, and plenty of places to sit down and take in the views. From here you can see most of the island, with stunning views and scenery, plus of course all the ruins of Ancient Thira itself. You will find yourself able to look DOWN on the planes as they come into land at the airport, as you are now above them on their flightpath! The walk along the ruins would take no more than an hour in total, and is well documented as you walk round. It gives you a good insight as to how it was all those years ago. At the far end of the ruins, you will have excellent views and places to take some stunning photo's. Well worth the visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank ArthurMccann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
74 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Fantastic views and great value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

We walked up to Ancient Thera from Perissa and it was a bit of a hike up the mountain but when we got there it was well worth it. The entrance fee was only 2 euros and the site is quite large - we were in there for over an hour. Not sure I'd recommend the walk up unless you're reasonably fit but it's definitely worth paying Ancient Thera a visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gemma1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Es Castell, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
“Walked up a mountain came down a wreck.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

It's OK; we walked up on a cloudy day. The site at the top has some interesting looking piles of stone etc. You can see why this place was picked for the ancient capital but you are prevented from really getting around the site. Similar sites I have previously visited were more open.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank T5andG5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alloway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Such a cool site to walk through! We came here on foot by hiking up from Perissa. We didn't really know where the trail started before we arrived in Perissa, so I'll try to be helpful here: It is at the northwest of town on the street closest to the hill and is labeled with a sign for "Anicent Thira". The hike up took about 25 minutes and wasn't too hard. At the top there is a circle with parking and a gentleman with a food truck - we purchased a container of cherries and they were really fresh and sweet! Yum!

The site of Ancient Thera is pretty neat. You are up close with the buildings and there are ruins strewn about, so it looks like you're walking through an untouched site. Much of the ruins are overgrown and inaccessible, but you "walk through" town on the main path and see all the different places that kept this a thriving village. The signage is pretty good (in Greek and English), but the "long version" of the site walk through was roped off the day we were there, so I was pretty bummed about that. You should definitely walk out to the top of the hill - it was really windy in this spot the day we went, but you can tell why there are so many religious connections due to the amazing views and the power of mother nature!

And remember, the sites close early (last entry is at 2:45pm I believe), so make sure you get there with plenty of time! Also, if you're coming back down the Perissa side, make a detour to see the church on the cliff face!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank migratialcoconut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ancient Thera also viewed

 

Been to Ancient Thera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing