We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avslappende og fantastisk stemning!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mediterranean Beach Resort
Ranked #40 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Reviewed June 1, 2010

We arrived at the hotel and got sent straight to the dining area, they held the lunch area extra open just for us. So immidiately the service was fantastic. After eating, we got our room, clean with one double bed and two singles. The room had to porches, one on each side so we could enjoy the sun both in morning and on the afternoon.
The room got cleaned once a day, and the cleaning ladies did a terrific job. The only reason for not giving this hotel 5 in caracter at cleanliness is because of the water. The water had, at some times, a slightly yellow color and if you showered between 18.00 and 19.30 the water was cold.
The service when eating was perfect! Allmost to perfect, they nearly cleaned the table before you had finished! But they were nice and polite. The food was great in taste, but they served pretty much the same food every day. And when you got all inclusive, it gets kind of boring. But the taste of the food was great!
At night, we spent the time at the bar, and the bartender was fantastic! If you ever go to the hotel, take a drink at the bar with Helena, she gives you a fantastic evening!
We also rented a car, at the hotel, and travelled around the island. Fantastic is the only word to desribe this place, it MUST be experienced!
They also got spa-treatments, and you walk straight from the bar onto the beach. The distance in to Kamari is not to difficult to walk, but the hotel also got a bus that travels to and from Kamari 4 times a day.

I am definitely going back to this place, but next time I am going to order half-pension;-)

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Apollo
1  Thank DitaMor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (446)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 446 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2009

Upon arrival our hotel was changed from a hotel in Kamari resort to this one. We were taken to the Med beach where the porter started shouting at us as he was asked to take us to our room. We then found that we were no where near Kamari resort and had to get a taxi to go anywhere.
The room was tiny, and very basic, no balcony or terrace and o real facilities. It was kept clean.
The food, I was just glad my wife and I didn't go all inclusive. The food is a watered down greek buffet, with more German and Italian food than Greek. It wasn't worth paying for.

We got our hotel moved as this place was that bad, and upon telling the staff we were leaving they became rude to my wife and I. We aked for a hotel taxi to take us to the hotel we were moving to and t drove us to Kamari and dumped us with out bags around 2 miles away from the hotel. Then the porter we met upon arrival said something rude in Greek and drove off.

I don't complain easily but this place is bad. The only good pointg was a traditional fish restraunt down the beach. But this was not at all attached to the hotel.

Folks, don't stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Joe-George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2009

We booked a week "all-inclusive" at the Mediterranean Beach Hotel from June 22-28, 2009 with our 2 kids and arranged for other family members to join so we would have a relaxing time. Overall, we had a positive experience even though it was not perfect. The hotel architecture is beautiful with gorgeous bougainvilliers growing all over the roofs. We were delighted with room 133 which was perfect for a family of 4 and was very clean. It is a mini-suite with an entry hall that has a private balcony overlooking the ocean with a table and chairs. On the left there is loft with two kids beds and on the right a bedroom with double bed, desk and bathroom. The room has a fridge and is adequately spacious even though the double bed is a small queen size. The hotel is literally only 1/3 of a mile from the airport landing strip, yet we had little disturbance from the few planes that land daily. The swimming pool is beautiful and there is adequate seating around the pool and the beach is right there as well. It is black volcanic sand and you need to wear sandals as it gets burning hot in the sun. Our parents were not as lucky with room 127, which did not have direct ocean view, was quite small and unfortunately smelled of sewage. When we complained they stated they could not give them another room and sent a cleaning crew to pour bleach down the bathroom drains that largely fixed the problem. The front desk personnel at the hotel is friendly once you know them a little bit but at first they come across as less friendly than a standard hotel and will argue with guests who have some concerns rather than listen and fix it. The MAJOR disappointment at the hotel is the food, which is clearly not fitting the purported 4 star rating of the hotel. Powdered coffee and juice, reheated dried out croissants and a lack of food variety are just a few examples. While we were on an "all inclusive" plan the reality is that you have to pay for a lot of things that would be included in another hotel. Cocktails at the bar are Euro 7 each and an Espresso will also cost you Euro 2. The ice cream is free but of poor quality and the free snacks are just a few dried out cookies and sandwiches. Clearly, I do not recommend that you take the all inclusive, better to go eat outside the hotel in Kamari Beach (30-40 min walk). Another drawback is that they allow smoking all over the hotel and it was very unpleasant to sit at the pool with smokers all around. Pool towels (they look like old rags) require a deposit and a daily charge if you want them cleaned. The hotel offers little in matters of entertaining, no jacuzzi, no watersports and not even a ping pong table. There is a mixed use tennis/basketball cement court but no decent tennis balls were provided and it offered no shade. The hotel has free wireless internet in the lobby. The hotel is isolated and you will clearly need to rent a car to see the island and you can do it for about Euro 40 per day at the hotel which is convenient. There is a little convenience store next to the hotel and it has a lot from food to postcards and souvenirs. On the main road outside the hotel you can also catch a public bus and the hotel has a schedule (Euro 1.4 per person one-way to Fira). Taxi fares are clear rip-offs. Kamari Beach is at 5 min drive, Fira at 10 min and Oia at about 20 min, all places you should see. We paid Euro 1,100 for the week through a Neckermann agency reservation for 2 adults and 2 kids (10,14) which made it a good value for the price.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mesmerizing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2008

We recently booked a ten day trip to Greece to include four days and three nights on Santorini Island. We booked our trip through a great website and were very happy with their service. The only hitch was with the Mediterranean Beach Hotel on Santorini. We arrived at the hotel and were immediately disappointed. First and foremost, the airport for the entire island is directly across the street from the hotel. I'm talking 100 feet away from their driveway is the runway! There was no mention of this. The hotel is old and dilapidated. The first room we were given was about the size of a small bathroom in a standard home and smelled of urine and mold. When we complained they did try to move us but the second, third and forth room were not better. The views on their website were nowhere to be found and we were absolutely disgusted by the condition of the hotel. It was so bad that management actually offered to take us to another hotel they managed and apologized for the condition of this hotel. Needless to say the other hotel they managed was somewhat better but still bad. This was a ten year anniversary trip for us and the first time we were in Greece. If you want to enjoy your trip to Santorini do not stay at the Mediterranean Beach Hotel. Stay in Fira or even better, Oia. Oia was our favorite. in the end we spent an extra $800 U.S. dollars to stay at another hotel and walked away from our money at the Mediterranean after they refused to refund us any money. Sadly, I would have paid double that just not to stay there.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank TruthfulEval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
belgium
17
Reviewed May 15, 2006

The all in formula was very bad.

There were no snacks available during the day. And also no coockies and pastries between 17u and 19u, although it was written in the brochure of Thomas Cook.

The coffee was cold most of the time.

Breakfast was very monotonous, there were no sandwiches en pistolets, no brown bread, no fresh fruit.

At lunch and dinner the choice in cold and warm buffet was not much. The desserts were always the same, and no variation.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2006

I happened to stay at Mediterranean Beach Hotel in August 2005.
It was a very bad experience: first of all the hotel is an airport hotel,
noisy and in front of a poor beach.
Most of all, I had booked on line, and the hotel manager told me the quoted price was a mistake, and that I had to pay a supplement; it was late evening, I was in the middle of nowhere, so I agreed to pay the supplement.
The room was hot, old fashioned, and definitely below what you would expect from a four star hotel.
Definitely, a tourist trap.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Roberto D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2005

This hotel is located just near the airport, not in Kamari Beach and not with Caldera view. However, the quality, the service and expecially the bungalows are excellent. Athmosphere in the evening is cool and you're just on the beach. During the day you have to rent a scooter, but also if you're in other places because Santorini has to be visited.
The sea is not beautiful, sand is dark, so, you can swim in the large swimming pool or you can take sun.
If you don't want to spend a lot in the hotel restaurant there's a nice french restaurant just near the hotel, on the beach.
All I tell and also my vote are based on the fact I spent 100 € B&B. For 200 € it's a bit expensive.

  • Stayed: September 2001
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MichaelMancini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamari
1.8 mi away
Bellonias Villas
Bellonias Villas
#2 of 75 in Kamari
821 reviews
5.2 mi away
Notos Therme & Spa
Notos Therme & Spa
#1 of 1 in Vlychada
149 reviews
1.8 mi away
Santorini Crystal Blue Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Epavlis Hotel
Epavlis Hotel
#36 of 75 in Kamari
394 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sigalas Hotel
Sigalas Hotel
#31 of 75 in Kamari
167 reviews
2 mi away
Antinea Suites Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterranean Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranean Beach Resort

Address: Agia Paraskevi, Kamari 847 00, Greece (Formerly Mediterranean Beach Palace)
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Kamari
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Kamari
Price Range: $84 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mediterranean Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mediterranean Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterranean Beach Palace Kamari
Mediterranean Beach Palace Hotel Kamari
Mediterranean Beach Resort Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing