We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Matina”
Review of Hotel Matina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Matina
Ranked #18 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is the second time I've been to this hotel. The last time was 2001. Everything good I remember is still great. I've just met a couple who have been annually returning for the last 15yrs. Enough said!
Spotlessly clean, chilled & friendly atmosphere, always accommodating & helpful. Family run by a family who desire to please.
The pool area/bar always has someone to cater for your needs. The beach & shops just a 2 min walk away.
Would I come back again? Why fix something that is not broken! Definetly yes!

Room Tip: The hotel is split into two separate buildings. An accommodation block is near the road but the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael4444Harvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (433)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 433 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

Overall it's a great location for beach, shops and bars etc which can all be reached on foot.

The pool area was good with decent beds, free towels and a good selection of authentic food and drinks.

The breakfast is left on a room temperature counter which put me off a bit (meat and milk served like this doesnt feel right!) but plenty of greek style choice other than theres no toast! :/

The hotel offer lifts at twice the cost of a cab so get a cab arranged from a nearby bar if you need one!!

It's like you're staying in the family's spare room more so than being a hotel guest, ie. you feel like you should apologise if you order several drinks at once and that you may cause offence if you dont eat all of your meal! I realise some like the more personal/homely feel but it was a bit over bearing sometimes.

Room was really small, a bit smelly at night for some reason with almost no floor space and very little storage, no tea/coffee facilities and the bathroom was minute, loo may as well be in the shower tray (curtain no cubicle). As a sleep base it's totally fine for friends but probably not for proper grown ups or families.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank GloucestershirePips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Located 2 minutes from the beach, this family run hotel is really an excellent choice: the pool is fine, the pool bar really nice and the hotel staff is friendly and welcoming. Our room (2 adults, a child) was nice, perfectly clean, comfortable, and the bathroom small but nice.
Resting at the pool during the day was really relaxing, and the choice of music at the pool bar perfect.
Breakfast comprehends very good local cakes. Obviously, we'll go back again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Footina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel 15years ago and are delighted that we chose it again this year. A family run hotel that puts its guests first. All staff were friendly and helpful. Although the rooms and balconys are not large they are adequate and very clean and comfortable. The hotel is situated back from the main road and is a cool and quiet retreat from the main strip of restaurants. We will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

If you are looking for a small, Family-owned hotel with warm staff & great people, then you found your place. Yes rooms are not huge and the hotel is simple, but that's the beauty of it. You feel at home and it's very very clean. Greek Papa is always here to great you, or advise you, or to take you to some beautiful traditional places. If you are traveling alone, you will feel safe there.
At night it's quiet and windy, so your sleep quality is optimal.

Beach & Promenade are only two minutes walk away and there are plenty of available exciting excursions.

I will definitely return there.

Have fun & enjoy your stay!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Didi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Couldn't have asked for a better place to stay on Santorini. Family owned and run hotel who were the most gracious, friendly and helpful hosts you could ask for. They organised hire cars for us, tours and the father took groups of guests out to traditional Greek dinners, sunset dinners etc. Rooms are spotless, the pool area is great, lovely breakfasts in the morning by the pool. The kids and I didn't want to leave the place. Wouldn't recommend anywhere else to stay on Santorini.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed at the hotel in June this year. The hotel is lovely and nice little oasis set back from the road a few minutes walk to the main strip of restaurants. The Hotel is very clean through out and all the staff and owners are really nice people and so friendly. There was never any problem to get loungers around the pool and a nice mix of sun and plenty of shade. I can't really think of any faults of the hotel for the price range that its in and if we visited Santorini again I wouldn't stay anywhere else. I also had an accident on a boat whilst there and they kindly drove me to the Hospital and then to the pharmacy afterwards.

Thanks to Athina and Athina for the great bar service and their lovely company!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripersareus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamari
0 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#3 of 75 in Kamari
470 reviews
4.9 mi away
Apanemo
Apanemo
#1 of 12 in Akrotiri
717 reviews
2.6 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Santellini Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Blue Waves Hotel
Blue Waves Hotel
#8 of 75 in Kamari
361 reviews
0.2 mi away
Epavlis Hotel
Epavlis Hotel
#36 of 75 in Kamari
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Matina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Matina

Address: Kamari Beach | P.O. Box 5213, Kamari 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Kamari
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Kamari
#16 Family Hotel in Kamari
#25 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
Price Range: $73 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Matina 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Matina is in a quiet flower garden with swimming pool & pool bar, only 2 minutes walk to the beach, in a nice central location of Kamari next to shops, restaurants & bus stop. Feel at "home away from home" according to our repeating visitors & enjoy our fresh buffet breakfast overlooking to pool. There is 24-hours reception, Internet service. Transfers from airport/port on request. Tastefully decorated combining traditional & modern style in elegance! SEND AN EMAIL directly to the hotel for the lowest prices with TRIPADVISOR SPECIAL OFFER ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Matina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matina Hotel Kamari
Hotel Matina Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing