We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotlessly clean, very friendly and relaxed”
Review of Hotel Matina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Matina
Ranked #15 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Fareham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Spotlessly clean, very friendly and relaxed”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The hotel is in the perfect location, with a 10 minute transfer from the airport, 5 minute walk to the beach and 15 minutes on the local bus (1.60) to Fira. The pool is excellent, and the whole hotel is spotlessly clean. There is a lovely relaxed and friendly atmosphere and the family (and dogs) are all very welcoming. It was my birthday while there and a bottle of wine and two glasses was left on a tray in my room on the day! A lovely touch. If you are feeling up to it take a walk up to Ancient Thira via the mountain opposite the hotel - we got to the top in 35 minutes but you will need to go early before it is too hot!

A small improvement that could be made to the hotel is to have shower cubicles put into the bathrooms as the showers are small and the curtain can make it a bit tricky. However, this wouldn't stop me going back for another lovely, relaxed week in the sun.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    78
    23
    5
    5
See reviews for
93
166
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halle, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The hotel Matina is a very clean hotel with an excellent hospitality. We liked our stay in this familyhotel. Year after year we come back, especially because of the owner and his family. They are really very friendly. In hotel Matina it's always as good as ever. It's a beautiful setting with an amazing swimmingpool and it is very good situated to see all the remarkable places.
Everytime when our plane is landing on the island, it feels like coming home.
A perfect place for beachlovers, combined with history and geology of the island.
Kalliste! The most beautiful!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilde D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

stayed in the matina for 5 nts with two other couples as we were attending a wedding. can honestly say we couldn't find fault with anything during our stay, it was very clean tidy and the staff were very friendly especially Athena the barmaid and Vangelis the owner who went out of his way to ferry a large group of us to a restaurant the other side of the isle, will definitely return some time. thanks

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dean_galea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent a week last summer at Hotel Matina. It was ideally positioned to visit the main attractions and beaches of Santorini while still enjoying some downtime by the sea in Kamari and by the pool.

Hotel Matina definitely has one of the best swimming pools in Kamari. The staff is polite, friendly and discreet, offering lots of helpful tips, advice and indications on how to get around, The rooms are small, but quaint. The beds are not the definition of superb comfort, but they do suffice The bathroom is also small, but the water pressure in the shower is good. Would have been nice to have a full length mirror, but you can't have everything :) We also had a fridge and a cute little balcony that looked out onto the garden.

Breakfast is simple and the same everyday, juice, coffee, cakes, packaged cookies, hardboiled eggs, yogurt, cereal and cold cuts.

Would definitely recommend this spot for its location, staff, cleanliness and pool. Very good value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alessismore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed for one week with our two boys aged 7 and 9. The family and staff's hospitality was second to none. They could not do enough for us. Many returning guests were there when we were there and all had nothing but praise for the hotel. It's ideally located close to bars and restaurants in a lovely garden setting. We love Santorini and we'll definitely visit Hotel Matina again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SWroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This was my first time in Santorini and I am traveling with my friend who has been to the Hotel Matina twice before. He told me about the lovely family that runs the Hotel. They were welcoming and friendly and made us quite comfortable. Love the Hotel, the family and even their dogs. Come once and you'll have to come again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rochelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at Hotel Matina twice, July 1993 and July 2012, same family run business and same amazing and personalized service! We loved it so much the first time we named our first daughter Kamari after the village and our second daughter Matina after the hotel and our host! It was a pleasure bringing the girls at ages 18 and 14 (along with their brother) back in 2012, plans are now in the works for another visit in 2014!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisOtto24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamari
0.6 mi away
Atalos Apartments & Suites
0.0 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#5 of 75 in Kamari
393 reviews
2.0 mi away
Smaragdi Hotel
Smaragdi Hotel
#3 of 39 in Perissa
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Anassa Deluxe Suites
Anassa Deluxe Suites
#3 of 75 in Kamari
344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Waves Hotel
Blue Waves Hotel
#8 of 75 in Kamari
271 reviews
4.1 mi away
Villa Renos
Villa Renos
#4 of 79 in Fira
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Matina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Matina

Property: Hotel Matina
Address: Kamari Beach | P.O. Box 5213, Kamari 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Kamari
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kamari
#23 Family Hotel in Kamari
#25 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Matina 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Matina is in a quiet flower garden with swimming pool & pool bar, only 2 minutes walk to the beach, in a nice central location of Kamari next to shops, restaurants & bus stop. Feel at "home away from home" according to our repeating visitors & enjoy our fresh buffet breakfast overlooking to pool. There is 24-hours reception, Internet service. Transfers from airport/port on request. Tastefully decorated combining traditional & modern style in elegance! SEND AN EMAIL directly to the hotel for the lowest prices with TRIPADVISOR SPECIAL OFFER ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Matina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matina Hotel Kamari
Hotel Matina Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing