We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of Hotel Matina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Matina
Ranked #18 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Loved it!”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

The Matina is a wonderful boutique hotel - family run and very friendly. We felt welcome from the 1st moment and a greeting from Elsa the dog made us feel very much "at home". The rooms are very nice with a wonderful ambience - the pool is immaculate. The location is excellent, being just out of the noise zone and ensuring a quiet night's sleep, as well as being just a short walk back into the beach/shopping area and all amenities. Any small request was immediately looked after by the family/staff and nothing was too much trouble. We wished we could have stayed longer and would have no hesitation in staying there again. An excellent choice.

Wendy B Sydney Australia

Room Tip: The first floor allows a balcony - the doors of which which can be left open at night to catch the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    84
    25
    5
    6
See reviews for
105
176
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed at the hotel with a group who where over to attend a Wedding !
The hotel is in a very good position and the Family are very friendly and make you feel at home
they where all very helpful,

if required they kept the bar open for as long as you want it,
The situation is all very relaxed and laid back with a good pool and plenty of sun beds

The owner will also pick you up and drop you off at the airport or port and arrange tours,
all in all we had a very good break and would recommend it for a Holiday any time
The Best bar tender on the Island Maia looked after us all very well,

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank portyEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2012

The nicest hotel I have ever been to!! Nothing was to much bother for the staff I will definately return in the near future and advise anyone looking for a relaxing break and value for money to visit this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rasperry27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Stayed at The Matina for one week whilst in Santorini for my Son's wedding. Vasso and Ender made us so welcome and helped with everything including pressing my linen suit on the Wedding Day. Every member of staff where helpful, Maia with Lunch Toasties and Drinks plus a relaxing music schedule tailored to whoever was round the pool area. Hara the night porter always let me in and out when I could not sleep on the wedding morning and we had a good chat about Greek Politics over a coffee.
Pool area is spotlessly clean and well maintained.
Location is perfect for local restaurants and beach access, but is very quiet at night.
I would strongly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay here the next time we visit Santorini

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2012

My family all stayed at the hotel for a family wedding and we had an absolute ball at the hotel Matina. The Hotel Matina is family owned and run and it made such a difference. We were made to feel part of the family too. They were so helpful in every way from helping us choose day tours to booking accommodation on the other islands we were to visit. Nothing was too much trouble. The pool area is just gorgeous and a great way to wind down each day...we miss Mia's cocktails...if you go there ask for a "Mia special"...her version of a long island iced tea. The rooms are lovely and I miss opening the blue shutters each morning. Our holiday to Santorini was the best holiday we have had and it was largely due to the wonderful experience that we had at the Hotel Matina...if I were to visit Santorini again I would definitely stay at Hotel Matina...can't wait to go back...thank you to the Hotel Matina family for a life changing experience..see you again soon.

Room Tip: Lovely rooms with everything you need for a great holiday
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

My family and family friends (group of 12) stayed here for a week at the beginning of June. We came to Santorini because my sister was getting married here.
This hotel was very clean, had a beautiful pool area and the staff were very friendly. The lady that works there (in the pool bar) makes the best frappes and cocktails, the food on the bar menu is also delicious. The owner took us all out wine tasting to see the sunset and for an amazing meal.
We loved this hotel and so did the other wedding guests that stayed elsewhere.

The location of this hotel is excellent, it takes a few minutes to walk down to the beach where there are loads of restaurants, bars and shops.

I can't wait to go back next year.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KT1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We are so happy we chose to stay at Hotel Matina. We where visiting Kamari for a family wedding and wanted something close to the beach, clean and affordable.
The whole experience of Hotle Matina was lovely, from the shuttle service, breakfast, clean rooms and the most friendly staff you could ask for. Nothing was a hassle for anyone.

Hotel Matina is in the perfect location, its a minutes walk away from the beach front, but back enough so you have some privacy in the beautiful outdoor pool area.

The pool bar is great - ask Maia for her special. Also breakfast each morning is lovely, especially sitting out on the deck looking out over the beautiful garden.

I would not stay anywhere else on the island.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marnee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamari
0.6 mi away
Atalos Apartments & Suites
0.3 mi away
Anassa Deluxe Suites
Anassa Deluxe Suites
#2 of 75 in Kamari
361 reviews
2.0 mi away
Smaragdi Hotel
Smaragdi Hotel
#3 of 40 in Perissa
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
0.0 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#5 of 75 in Kamari
430 reviews
3.9 mi away
Kalisti Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Matina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Matina

Property: Hotel Matina
Address: Kamari Beach | P.O. Box 5213, Kamari 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Kamari
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Kamari
#23 Family Hotel in Kamari
#25 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Matina 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Matina is in a quiet flower garden with swimming pool & pool bar, only 2 minutes walk to the beach, in a nice central location of Kamari next to shops, restaurants & bus stop. Feel at "home away from home" according to our repeating visitors & enjoy our fresh buffet breakfast overlooking to pool. There is 24-hours reception, Internet service. Transfers from airport/port on request. Tastefully decorated combining traditional & modern style in elegance! SEND AN EMAIL directly to the hotel for the lowest prices with TRIPADVISOR SPECIAL OFFER ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Matina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matina Hotel Kamari
Hotel Matina Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing