We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poseidon Fresh Fish=Best Calimari and View and Service”

Restaurant Poseidon
Ranked #92 of 124 Restaurants in Kamari
Cuisines: European, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: located in the Eastern coast of Santorini, in the village Kamari, in one of the most famous beaches of the world, the sandy "Black Beach" of Santorini.
Bozeman MT
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Poseidon Fresh Fish=Best Calimari and View and Service”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

6 of us were strolling on a windy chilly day and Super Mario invited us into his lovely seaside tavern for Ouzo. He spoke Italian and English as well as Greek, and with his partners, provided us with great food, the best calimari we had on the island, and attentive service. They dropped the walls when the temperature dropped so we would be comfortable. He and Dimitri and the rest of his staff rate number one in our book, and we highly recommend you seek out this gem when you are nearby. Way worth it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sjhBozemanMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    72
    44
    19
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Bravo”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We too were wandering aimlessly and struck up a conversation with maryo at the Poseidon. No pressure, no hype. We walked the length of the promenade and returned to the Poseidon because of maryo's personality. We can only say....holy mackerel! Or holy calamari/ sardines. The food eas among the best we have had in Greece, if not the best. The meal was enhanced by the views of the sea and by the unbelievable attention paid by maryo and dimitri. These two young men, as well as the wizard in the kitchen should be praised and truly appreciated by the clientele of this restaurant. If it wasn't so far from colorado, this would be our new neighborhood hangout. Food, service and views all rate an a+

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank denverchucko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great time with Super Mario at Poseidon Fish Tavern”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

My husband and I took a lovely stroll on Kamari Beach. We watched many of the shop and restaurant staff busily working in preparation of the high tourist season. We were pleased with the sunshine, few people, and the time to enjoy the surroundings. We decided to stop for a drink and light lunch. We chose Poseidon. Then the fun began. Super Mario (Marco) was there to greet us, feed us, and entertain us. We ordered Tzatziki, a mushroom and garlic dish, bread and a couple of beers. The food was delicious, beer was cold. Mario, and Demitri, gave us excellent service, told us about the area, shared some recipes, and made us laugh. In other words, they shared "Greek Hospitality" with us. Stop by the Poseidon and enjoy!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Claudiamdt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent service.”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Enjoyed a great meal on the sunny patio with Mario entertaining us with Island knowledge and card tricks! Great spot to dine if you are playing on or near the beach in Kamari!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best Place”
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

This is the best restaurant i tried in Santorini. Great food: The food is really good and for a good price. I love their stuffed burger and their Pasta Bolognese. They have really good Greek food and fresh! They have the best view. Looking out at the sea while eating. Cant be better. The staff is dedicated and serviceminded. They are really good in what They are Doing and know how to make customers feel extra Welcome! Of course My favourite Waiter is Maryo. He always know how to speak with people from all around the world! All My best wished to you all guys this Year: Maryo Dimitri!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Johanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Poseidon also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Poseidon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing