We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth A Try - But Others Are Better”

Restaurant Poseidoni
Ranked #94 of 119 Restaurants in Kamari
Cuisines: European, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: located in the Eastern coast of Santorini, in the village Kamari, in one of the most famous beaches of the world, the sandy "Black Beach" of Santorini.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth A Try - But Others Are Better”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The food here was average and the prices were reasonable for the quality we received. The staff were friendly and the service acceptable. Located in a central spot along the main Kamari beach-front, we ate here on our first night - but every night after this we found the staff outside rather pushy in wanting us to come back. This actually put us off wanting to go back. I'd say to eat here if you wanted a basic meal, but there's plenty of other places close by who would prove a better option.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cjamesw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    69
    41
    16
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Reasonable food at reasonable prices”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We ate here on our first night in Kamari.
Although the food was nowhere near as good as some of the other restaurants that we ate at, we both enjoyed some traditional greek cuisine and it was nice.
The location (right on the beach front) is lovely and the service was good too. Prices very reasonable, but that's because the food (that we ordered, at least) was pretty basic.
The main thing that let this restaurant down was the men who stand outside and try to drag you in every time you walk past. Despite the fact that we'd already been there once, they consistently tried to get us to come in again. The sad thing is, we mightve eaten there again (albeit probably just for lunch, rather than dinner), but these guys put us off completely.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Got To Try This One”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Out of all the restaurants that we tried along the main drag on the seafront, this was only the second that we returned to. The food, whilst simple grilled meat, was really tasty. All salads were really fresh and refreshing. The staff are friendly without hassling you to eat and are happy just to chat as you pass by. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Manj11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
311 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Average, Nothing Special, No Reaction From Staff”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The perfect location, great ambiance, great beach and the waiters are so very friendly when they are getting you to sit at the restaurant but then forget you once your there, seems they are so busy getting it full!
We ordered what we knew and were still disappointed, both were cold and when I told the waiter he said "sorry" and walked away, when they came to clear the table they asked if it was all ok although we only ate half, I said no and he said "sorry" and left.
To expensive for what you receive but edible if you have no expectations.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stevenekuhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
249 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“A bit pricey”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Spent the first evening of our holiday in Kamari at the Poseidon. The staff were accommodating and the food was nice but expensive compared to others in the area although did not realise this at the time.
We had a mixed grill for two, two Ouzos and two coffees which came to 55€.
A good meal but there are places in the general locality that are serving nicer food at cheaper prices.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Davethetraveller47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Poseidoni also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Poseidoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing