We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only average”
Review of Bacchus

Bacchus
Ranked #58 of 124 Restaurants in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Traditional family Greek taverna located in Kamari . Open all year.
Rayleigh
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Only average”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We went here before our night at the open air cinema which is just down the road and were pretty disappointed. The prices are fairly low which is the best thing about it but everything else was pretty much a let down. The place looked maybe half full but there was only 1 person serving and probably because he was overworked seemed pretty vacant and fed up and service was slow. The food was not much better as I had Kleftiko which I had to pick bits of bones/grisle out of and my wife had Stifado which appeared to be a small pot mainly filled with onions and hardly any meat. As she was still hungry, mainly because she is not keen on onions and that was the main consistency of her meal, we ordered dessert as we had half hour to kill before we had to be at the cinema. It got to about 25 minutes and still no sign of dessert so we told the waiter that we would just leave it and pay as we had to go. He told us that it was almost here so we waited a bit longer. It turned up and again was only ok but we felt we had to rush it down and pay up and leave so couldnt really enjoy it even if we wanted. I wouldnt presonally go here again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Warren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    37
    14
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tripadvisor dissapoints”
Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

First time I've been dissapointed going to a well reviewed restaurant. We were served 5 overcooked and tasteless prawns for 15€, and charred lamb chops, which were basically fat with a little meat here and there. The fries were boring and saggy without any crispness.
We left without eating much, with rumbling stomachs, and 33€ poorer.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank akerman82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

The food is amazing a must visit It is a little out of the way from the main strip but well worth the walk and is near the open air cinema

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helsbells72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best food in Kamari”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

My friend and I stayed in Kamari for a fortnight. Without a doubt this would be rated number 1 on tripadvisor if it was on the beach front as this was the best food we had by miles. I ended up going almost every day for lunch and ate there three times for dinner. My favourites were the fried zucchini and eggplant, stuffed tomatoes and peppers and the stifado. House wine was also very nice. Bacchus was what we used as a benchmark to compare all other food and it wasn't beaten.

Adonis was very welcoming and also knowledgeable about Santorini, and allowed us to drop in for nightcaps without ordering food.

Lovely.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HLU82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maribor
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Yamas!”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

What a delightful experience! Set away from the crowd, the busy promenade - just the right place to enjoy a great Greek meal in authentic surroundings. You have to try fava, fried tomatoes, zucchini and eggplants, big beans, pasticcio, moussaka – everything we ordered was fresh, of delightful authentic taste and I have to point it out - served by very friendly, helpful owner Adonis. So here is YAMAS! to you, Adonis and all the best to your family!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simonca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bacchus also viewed

Kamari, Santorini
Kamari, Santorini
 
Kamari, Santorini
Kamari, Santorini
 
Kamari, Santorini
 

Been to Bacchus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing