We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great greek cuisine” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Irinis Taverna

Irinis Taverna
Ranked #39 of 115 Restaurants in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Enjoy the traditional dishes of Santorini, unique Greek recipes, local wine, fresh fish and fresh seafood. Since 1965 we offer to the visitors of Santorini unique traditional recipes and Greek dishes prepared with the best local products and great experience. The Café - Restaurant "Irini's" in Kamari is one of the first restaurants in the area and is famous for its traditional home recipes of Mrs. Irini, which will become your favorite traditional Greek seaside Tavern in Santorini island in Greece.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great greek cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Best stifado in Kamari, nice terrace right next to the beach...se spent two evenings there and were really satisfied. Simply the Best...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DominikaPlatosova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    79
    21
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Ate at this restaurant on two nights as it was so good. They serve an excellent vegetarian moussaka, zucchini fritters, dolmadakia and fava along with many other choices. The restaurant is situated at the quieter end of Kamari beach which gives it a lovely atmosphere with friendly service and nice views out to sea. Well worth visiting.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gale G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
103 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“It's a "must do"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Probably the oldest taverna on the beach with the original owner still in place yet as fresh and fun as the day it opened.
Take a moment to say hello to Mama Irini - she is an absolute charmer and will make you feel very welcome.
Good place for an early evening cocktail too.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ladyandtramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly, authentic, fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

What a great restaurant. We visited three times in our two week stay in Kamari - the waiters were so lovely and friendly and made each time really special for us, remembering us even though they see so many people every day. Each time we had at least 6 people (we were in a wedding party of 35) and they were just as attentive when we went back with a party of 30. It was no trouble to them to set up a table for 30 with only a few hours' notice - and I'm sure it wouldn't have been any different with no notice at all. They even put flowers on the table for us to make it special. The food was great, whether it was the Moussaka or the Kleftiko, the pizza or the fish. It all came out fairly quickly and at the same time. The Cretan Dakos starter was lovely - plenty of feta and tomato, lots of food for a starter. They were very happy to do separate bills for different groups within our party - very accommodating and easy-going. I would definitely recommend trying this gem of a restaurant! We will definitely be back one day!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Briz83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just What You Want”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is the oldest, and biggest, restaurant in Kamari. It is easy to see why. The chaps do not hassle you to eat there. They are very friendly without being intrusive. The menu is vast and has many dishes on there that I had not seen elswhere. We visited twice whilst in Kamari. They remembered that we had been there before and welcomed us warmly on our return. Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Manj11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Irinis Taverna also viewed

Kamari, Santorini
Kamari, Santorini
 

Been to Irinis Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing