We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely poor, even tried to rip us off”
Review of Zorbas Taverna

Zorbas Taverna
Ranked #106 of 124 Restaurants in Kamari
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Extremely poor, even tried to rip us off”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Just attempted to eat there this evening, not normally moved to comment if I have a bit of an 'off' meal but Zorba's add insult to injury. Ordered souvlaki and calamari, disappointing plate with small chicken kebab but edible enough for 8.50 euro, calamari cold and inedible. Waiting staff wanting to return this to kitchen to heat up, tried to explain that result would be like shoe leather, asked for bill charged 30 euro's for food and drink not drunk or eaten. Unbelievable!
Should have clocked the warning signs as toilets unclean and smelly, cockroach scuttled across the floor of the beach side seating area while waiting for food to be served. Young waiting staff perfectly pleasant but frankly alarmed that they still try to charge when compliant is made.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    114
    96
    69
    104
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“reasonable dinner”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

had a miked greek plate for two which ok not great but worth one visit, the house wine ok but you need a bottle of sprite to make it drinkable.nice views of kamari beach.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michael50manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milan
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Had a good meal there.”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Just came to write a review as I had good memories of our meal there and have found quite a few bad reviews. Maybe they are old and the staff has changed as our party of six, (3 English women, 3 Italian men) had a very nice meal there. The mixed Greek food plate was really really nice, well cooked and tasty. Idem the mixed grill. The food must have been good as we enjoyed our meal even though that was the night that Italy lost to Spain during the European Cup! There are a couple of restaurants in Kamari that I would not return to but this was certainly not one of them.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lisaitalyMilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Disappointed about food and service”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We went to several restaurants in Kamari for lunch and for dinner. And Zorbas Taverna was the only one that we did not like. The staff was only friendly until you sat down with the menue. They were too busy with everything but to serve their customers. Too much running forward and back, and too much in a hurry, not friendly at all. Also the food was not at all what we expected. We would never go back to this restaurant.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank gun_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Very good food”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

The food was great, although the service was quite average and the waiters rather pushy! The views and location are very good - on Kamari Beach. Good value for money, I would definitely eat here again.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brunhilda7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zorbas Taverna also viewed

 

Been to Zorbas Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing