We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 LOVELY DAYS AT THE GLAROS”
Review of Hotel Glaros

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Glaros
Ranked #11 of 31 Kamari B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We have recently returned from the Glaros in Kamari, cant speak highly enough of this family
run Small Hotel.They will do their very best to make your stay enjoyable.
The Hotel is Clean well run and evening meals are 1st Class served to you at your table
not a buffet!!!.Water always hot, air con works well and is included in the price.
A 5 min walk takes you onto the front with tavernas and beach on hand - do try the beach
taverna (with no name) at the far right hand end on the beach very popular and excellent
prices for food and drinks.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holiday037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 58 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2012

Santorini, no doubt an established prime Greek island resort, it has recently achieved a first place in popularity worldwide according to a voting of an international federation of tour operators. It owes this place to a unique combination of lovely beaches, historical sites and particular volcanic characteristics, all blended beautifully with diverse leisure opportunities. Its main town of Fira situated on a 600 m high hill offers a panoramic view of the Caldera, the Aegean Sea and surroundings lesser islands.
We stayed at the «GLAROS» (= Seagull) Hotel at Kamari seaside village, about 20 min drive from Fira.
«Glaros» is a relatively small, quiet cozy family hotel, situated in a narrow, fairly peaceful street, two blocs away from the main Kamari beach, characterized by its grayish volcanic sand and sparkling sea water.
We had a really immaculately clean and tidy room with a good ensuite bathroom, a perfectly quiet one overlooking an inner yard of the hotel, this latter leading to a reasonably good sized and impressively well kept piscine. Our room, just as the rest, came with a fridge, a modern quiet slim line A/C, a flat screen TV and a ….safe! Free of charge WI FI was also available in all common areas of the hotel.
The hotel offers breakfast and half or full board service, according to requirements, while its restaurant has both an indoor and an outdoor area, the later looking on the front street. The menu was a revelation! Broad range of dishes largely of Mediterranean type, cooked by the proprietors (two brothers) mother, Mrs. Evanthia, and her upcoming sophisticated young assistant Dorothea, both indefatigable and most eager to please. Most notably, all ingredients used (i.e. olives, olive oil, tomatoes, the fava, eggs, fruits and vegetables, the wine and more) are first quality and family produce ! While every thing we have tried was excellent, we specially recommend the restaurant’s specialties: «rabbit stifado », « pork fillet Vinsanto» and «grilled fish».
All personnel were very warm yet non possessive and most helpful at all times.
They speak all English, German and Italian. We found the overall services offered as a fairly good value for money. Many thanks to the managers/owners of the hotel Stavros and Nektarios as well as Susanna for the lovely time we spent in «GLAROS» hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gastroholicAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

august 2012: very nice hotel , very clean. 150 metres from the beach (left side of kamari, more quiet beaches. suzanne is really kind at the reception. possibility of having lunch at the hotel restaurant, fine food. rooms are big, bathrooms just a bit small, showers spill water on the floor but no problem. air conditioning system works fine. rooms are very clean. very good staying, We'll like to go back to glaros hotel - good ratio price-quality in August

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cagliostrino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

This is one of the best Restaurants in Santorini, we have been to Santorini 8 times now and always go back here. The food and wine is fantastic,the Stifado is the best I have ever had anywhere in Greece. The owners are lovely, very warm and welcoming. We are going back here in a week and will be heading straight hack to Glaros!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KirsteDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

This is not in Firi central it is by the beach away from crowds - Has all the shops, restaurants, beach close by (as in within the area) everything is so close.
This is a family owned hotel and they will go out of their way to try and help out in anyway they can. Rooms are good size and clean, they have a resturant with great food and service. We stayed there for 5 nights and it was truly enjoyable!!

We will definately be back when we visit Santorini again.
K & I from Australia

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dreamer028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We did not stay in this hotel but did eat here a few times in august 2011. The owners could not do enough for us. They were fantastic. Oh and the food was just the tops. Looking to stay here next time

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barry l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Margot R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamari hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Andreas
Hotel Andreas
#51 of 75 in Kamari
105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Matina
Hotel Matina
#20 of 75 in Kamari
423 reviews
0.6 mi away
Atalos Apartments & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Afroditi Venus Beach Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#48 of 75 in Kamari
296 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dolphins Apartments
Dolphins Apartments
#56 of 75 in Kamari
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Glaros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Glaros

Address: Kamari, Kamari 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Kamari
Price Range: $74 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Glaros 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Glaros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Glaros Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing