We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Portblue La Quinta Menorca
Nearby Hotels
$210
$126
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sol Falco by Melia -All Inclusive(Cala'n Bosch)
$274
$226
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Valentin Star Hotel(Cala'n Bosch)
$196
$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Marinda Garden Aparthotel(Cala'n Bosch)(Great Value!)
$101
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Zafiro Menorca(Cala'n Bosch)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (933)
Filter reviews
933 results
Traveler rating
711
168
46
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
711
168
46
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgala dinnersalad buffetpillow menufree minibuswaiter servicefive star hotelsteam roomlovely hotelplunge poolr rrelaxing holidayhalf boardafternoon sunpeace and quietsmall hotelfish dishesson xoriguer
Filter
Updating list...
640 - 645 of 933 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Great holiday - apart from a dismal start! We found out a couple of days before we departed that the hotel was overbooked and they could not accommodate us for the first 2 nights. We were booked into a hotel about 200 yards away - which was not the standard of accommodation we had paid for. We were adequately compensated and La Quinta did absolutely everything they could to make up for the inconvenience. As always the standard of the food in the restaurant was variable going from excellent to mediocre - depending what was on offer. I also felt that the restaurant staff were under real pressure and sometimes brusque, which at times made you feel most uncomfortable and inclined to hurry your meal. Overall, as always, this was a truly relaxing break - the hotel is calm, quiet and peaceful - which is everything you would want - to escape from a hectic life!! We'll be back.

Room Tip: The best rooms are the garden rooms on the ground floor - where you can walk from your terrace straight to the pool area
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DiscerningDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

Poor Restaurant Service – Very Poor Response from Hotel Manager

Hotel La Quinta is still a very nice hotel, with all rooms overlooking the attractive gardens and swimming pool area. The public rooms are very nicely furnished and the staff on Reception and in the Bar area are fabulously helpful, friendly and efficient. We have spent many happy holidays there over the years including two visits last year.

This year however, we did experience problems in the restaurant. The food isn’t what you would hope for in a five star hotel, but we usually manage to make do and find one or two choices, despite the unusual offering of calf’s cheek and calf’s livers on the same menu one evening this year.

But the difficulty we found was with the waiting staff. The majority of the staff appeared to have little knowledge of English, were poorly trained, and one or two had a surly manner. This meant that a simple order for eggs for breakfast was an ordeal and when meals were delivered to the table, there was no consideration given to the requirement for any cutlery or condiments. The impression we got was one of the “what do you want?” rather than “can I get you anything else?”. During the evening meal, there was confusion over which meals were for which tables, and often the waiting staff were slow to clear the table and did not offer another course such as ice cream. At times they appeared to be more interested in laying up the tables for breakfast.

By the second week of our holiday we decided that we were really not looking forward to or enjoying our evening meal experience and wanted to ‘opt out’ of our half board package. When our Sovereign Concierge called at the hotel to speak to the Hotel Manager on the Saturday with her report highlighting the problems, he told her that he could not see her that day and that she would have to make an appointment to see him on the following Monday at 5.00pm. What transpired from all of this was a small financial compensation from the Hotel Manager for the meals not taken, despite the best intentions from the senior hotel reception team, who had taken the time and trouble to investigate and resolve the situation. It would have been more worthwhile if the Hotel Manager had taken the time to read the report and to discuss the problems properly with us. This is a shame because after many happy holidays at La Quinta, we will not be returning.

The management of the hotel also do not enforce the ‘requirement for gentlemen to wear long trousers for dinner‘, even on ‘gala night’. They also do nothing about the tiresome habit of some guests who insist on reserving sun loungers around the pool from as early as 7.15am. For the well seasoned 5 star traveller, you may be disappointed to find that you will have to take your own cases to reception, there is no welcome drink on arrival and although the bedrooms are very pleasant, there is only one easy chair in the bedroom and the bathroom is on the small side with only one basin and the shower is in the bath.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Menorcafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

The main problem with this hotel has nothing to do with the service, staff, food or location. It's the attitudes and manner that many of the guests have towards children/families staying here that I have a problem with. A quick example: shortly after arriving at La Quinta we decided to go for a swim in the fabulous hotel pool with our 5 year old son. As soon as we arrived people moved away from us as if a bad smell was circulating. A nearby couple stared in disbelief, evidently shocked at the sight of a child, and very openly contemplated with each other that this disastrous occurrence might well ruin their entire stay - it really was that obvious.
How can I say this...Unfortunately, It's folk of a certain age and personality that appear to be attracted to this very beautiful location.

I've stayed in many 5 star hotels around the world and have never been made to feel like this. There is a real pretentiousness with many of the guests who, dare I say it, are 'playing rich'. I suspect if many of them actually stayed in more 5 star hotels they would soon discover how embarrassing and inappropriate their behavior is.

The hotel staff is fantastic and extremely helpful, and the hotel certainly merits its 5 stars. The evening meal, the subject of many comments on this site, could easily be improved with the addition of some side orders with the main course, but, on the whole, we found the food to be of very good standard.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank boboangus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

My husband & I stayed at the La Quinta for two weeks in June & for the first time ever on holiday, I did not want to go home ! The hotel is superb. Everywhere is spotlessly clean & we have never come across such delighful staff. The food was excellent, lots of choice and an amazing salad buffet every evening. The resort is small & tranquil with some nighlife if you want, a 5 minute walk away in the Marina. We hired bikes from the hotel and felt perfectly safe, even on the main road as the driving is quite sedate. Buses were good and a trip to Ciutadella is well worth while. I would definately go back to this resort and this hotel. If you want peace and relaxation this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HobbitAlassio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We returned to La Quinta 2 years from our first trip.Still like the room,the service was very attentive. Other reviewers didn't like the food but we found something we enjoyed every day,yes it is different to food at home but there was so much choice and we didn't suffer anything served too cold.
My only gripe is the behaviour of other customers,mostly middle aged to elderly Brits getting up at the crack of dawn to reserve sun beds.Then keeping them 'reserved' for 8 hours despite only using them for 1 or 2. This is MEANT to be against the rules but no one bothers to enforce it.Mostly we used our hire car to go to different beaches but still found it annoying to see 20 sunbeds empty for hours on end.
La Quinta management need to either A)Enforce the rule or B) Double the amount of sun beds, decent human beings said it would stop them returning as they did not want to become one of those people setting the alarm @7.30 just to place towels on a sun bed.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jane087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews