We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Zafiro Menorca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Zafiro Menorca
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Cala'n Bosch
Certificate of Excellence
birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Stayed here in september and it was our first all inclusive. ..always thought they weren't for us...cant fault it apart from you just ate to much...manager nice staff friendly and cant fault the place. ..my four year old loved it..we had 5 days on our own and family members came and met us for our last 5 days...they to were really impressed as well...branded spirits and never short on measures. ..excellent hotel

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sean313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    379
    100
    24
    10
See reviews for
844
89
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in the half term holiday. We could not fault the room, food or staff. But there is absolutely nothing to do on the island for the family. Everywhere had shut down for the season, there was only 1 shop which was very basic. We caught the bus into the nearest town that was recommended by the reps but after just 1 hour we had seen everything. It was very disappointing. If you are only looking for a holiday that requires you sitting by the pool then this is for you, but if you want more then I suggest you look elsewhere. We would definitely go to a holiday village again but just not this one. One other fault was the temperature of the pools. Both the outdoor and the indoor pools were freezing cold most of the children couldn't bear the temperature which was such a shame.

Room Tip: We had a room in the far side of block 3 which was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emma d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viva h, Gerente at Zafiro Menorca, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Viva Menorca Guest,

Thank you very much for your detailed review about our hotel.

We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay in the hotel and you did like room, food and staff.

I am sorry you did not received the best information for visiting the town from your Tour operator´s reps. At the reception, we could have given you a big choice of what to visit or what to do in the town.
I have informed about your comment to the head of the TTOO explaining that the reps did not give you the right information, and offering us to help them about what is going on in the island during the low season.

We also wish to thank you for your room suggestions and be sure that future guest will appreciate it as well.

Thank you again for choosing our hotel and we hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. helens
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed at this hotel at the beginning of August. This hotel is exceptionally clean and the staff were hard to keep it spotless. Accommodation was nice, adequate for a family of four. Balcony was small but had a partial view of the pool, which we requested, but it had a massive tree in front of it which did restrict our view. The free Wi-Fi is great. The main pool was lovely with plenty of sunbeds, there was no rush for sunbeds, you could easily go down after 9am and get a sunbed which was great. Did not go AI so cannot comment on food but everyone said food and drinks were fantastic. We went to the supermarket on the roundabout and got breakfast, lunch, drinks, snacks for day for around 20euros which was a bargain. Drinks were expensive on complex. Entertainment was great if you were below 10 years. This hotel did not cater for teenagers and my 13 year old was bored some of the time. Bastian was great and table tennis competitions he had with my son were amazing but that was all that was available for my 13 yr old. The archery, shooting etc was only for 16 years plus. This was a shame, we wanted to upgrade to AI for a few days but the hotel wanted us to pay an adult price for my 13 year old which was ridiculous as he was not going to drink any alcohol and there was no entertainment for his age. My 9 year old son had a different holiday, there was plenty for him to do round the pool, football, table tennis etc. The entertainment at night was again mostly for younger children. There were a few shows but these were finished at approximately 10.30 every night so by the time we had walked back from the Marina, 10 minute stroll, it was almost over.
Overall we had a lovely time, the hotel is very relaxing but I would not recommend for anyone with teenagers, however, if you have children under 10 years, this hotel is ideal.
We have been to Calan Bosh for 3 years running, it is a fabulous place, very family orientated. We would of stayed again at Viva Menorca but my teenager would be bored, but it depends what you are looking for.

Room Tip: Great Hotel if you have young children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LPOSt_Helens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 11 nights with a child aged 6.The pool areas were very clean and the lifeguards made a fuss of the youngsters.The choice and quality of food was excellent.The staff went out of thier way to make you feel welcome.I do not have one negative comment about our stay.Thankyou for a great holiday.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spennymoor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed here for a week from 28 September on an all-inclusive basis. If staying here, I’d definitely recommend going AI, it’s far better value than SC option. The staff are really helpful, the rooms spacious and clean, and no sounds from adjoining rooms.
The food and drinks are exceptional. I’m vegetarian and not once did I struggle to find something to eat throughout my stay. Branded drinks and fabulous cocktails are available and you’ll definitely be spoilt for choice.
We stayed in block 4 which is closest to the main reception, bar, etc and thought we were perfectly placed.
The walk to beach is not arduous, in fact it’s quite a pleasant stroll. The sand is white and clean and the sea extremely clear. I took some amazing pictures from the cliffs beside the cove.
We also went to Ciutadella for the day, but chose a taxi over the often crowded public bus, and there are lots of shops and bars along with some beautiful architecture.
Although the rooms and poolside sunloungers may need some updating, this doesn’t deter me from giving this hotel top marks, as I would definitely stay here again; and will also look at the other hotels within the Viva / Vanity chain too. I found no reason to grumble about anything, and am amazed by some the recent reviews; we travel abroad about 3 or 4 times a year so are quite used to going to various hotels and different countries. If you are thinking of booking – don’t hesitate.

Room Tip: block 4 is closest to main areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JaaCee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Holidayed between 20 - 27th September 2013 I'll get the negatives out of the way:
Being dropped off across the road with lots of luggage and 2 small children, room smelled of damp, food was largely salty. Restaurant waiting staff were a little 'snippy'. Childrens pool and restaurant are across the road and not on same site as main pool. Pool was absolutely freezing!! We were told by the rep that we would not need to put towels out on sunbeds - but you do if you want a good spot!
Positives:
Rooms cleaned regularly, nice pools (but just so damn cold!!), kids loved the entertainment in the evening (except the rather strange Disney show!) Nice and close to the Marina ( we dined at Torre Negro - which had THE BEST food and really reasonable prices.) The desserts in the restaurant were amazing!!
Like I say not the best holiday - but not the worst. If the room hadn't have smelled of damp (we think it may have been the air con - despite what our rep explained it to be ' Menorca is a humid island' ??) And if the food hadn't been so over salted and maybe more of a choice - and by that I mean maybe themed evenings (Mexican, Indian, Chinese, Italian) like other all inclusive resorts I have previously stayed in it probably would have warranted a 5 star result. Would not stay there again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Niki V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This was our first all inclusive holiday and also our first holiday abroad with our 1 year old. We chose the Viva Menorca based on the TripAdvisor reviews and we were not disappointed.

I am writing this review in our room (in block 3) on our last night and am struggling to think of any negatives. I have seen that people have criticized the rooms as being dated but looking around the room, the roof is white and the walls are cream, the curtains are gold and the kitchen is all stainless steel, yes the furniture has some knocks on it but not enough to moan about. One thing that cannot be criticized is the cleanliness of the rooms and the whole complex which has always been spotless.

As I said we are in block 3 and it looks like we are in a corridor with all the people with young children which I think is a great idea as it means they wont be disturbed by couples coming in late who in turn won't be woken up by kids early in the morning, another little touch which makes a difference. (just for the record though the walls are thick enough to not hear the neighbours).

The food has been fantastic, The buffet has always had a varied menu and has always had plenty of vegetarian options as well as a paella every night. There are also several local dishes on the menu every night as well as chefs on hand to cook a fish and meat option. Breakfasts are just as good and lunchtimes were spent at the poolside bar where the choice was great and the food all cooked fresh (the pizzas are great as are the salads).

Also a quick mention about the bar which serves lots of premium brand drinks in the all inclusive (Jack Daniels, Southern Comfort, Baileys etc) which came as a pleasant surprise as I was expecting generic versions.

A special mention must be given to the staff who work their socks off but seem to keep a smile on their faces throughout. The staff really do make a difference and always have time for the kids and also great at the buffet (a special mention to Sonia and David who were our little one's favourite!).

The pool area is also good with plenty of room. We had a couple of rainy days and so we used the indoor pool which was lovely and warm, also the kids splash pool was cool with a Pirate ship with plenty of slides.

If I had one criticism (and its a small one) it's that evening buffet does not open until 19:00 which was a little late for our little one, however the quality of the food makes up for it.

All in all we have had a great time and would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for an all inclusive on Menorca.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
10 Thank daveandfran96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala'n Bosch
0.4 mi away
Aparthotel Paradise Club & Spa
7.2 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,000 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sol Falco All Inclusive
Sol Falco All Inclusive
#5 of 13 in Cala'n Bosch
1,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Prinsotel La Caleta
Prinsotel La Caleta
#1 of 2 in Cala Santandria
1,107 reviews
11.2 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#1 of 5 in Santo Tomas
1,182 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casas del Lago Hotel, Spa & Beach Club - Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zafiro Menorca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zafiro Menorca

Property: Zafiro Menorca
Address: C/Llevant, s/n, 07760 Cala'n Bosch, Minorca, Spain (Formerly Viva Menorca)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Cala'n Bosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cala'n Bosch
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cala'n Bosch
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cala'n Bosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Zafiro Menorca 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zafiro Menorca hotel is an apartment resort located within 15 min. walking from the heavenly beach of Calan Bosch. Fully-equipped apartments, impressive swimming pools, funny leisure programme, sport offer and delicious gastronomy make this 4-star hotel the ideal accommodation for some unforgettable family holidays in Menorca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Zafiro Menorca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Menorca Hotel Cala`n Bosch
Viva Menorca Cala n Bosch
Viva Menorca Apartments
Zafiro Menorca Minorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing