We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant holiday”
Review of Zafiro Menorca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Zafiro Menorca
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Cala'n Bosch
Certificate of Excellence
Middlesbrough, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant holiday”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We have just arrived back from our 11 night holiday at viva menorca and want to say how good this family hotel is. We were thoroughly impressed with everything the hotel had on offer. The kids absolutely loved both swimming pools and they were kept very clean. The restaurant staff and food were great offering a wide selection for both adults and fussy eating children. The snack bar at the pool was a great alternative for lunch with a good menu and fast service. I was really impressed that you didn't have to get up at the crack of dawn to reserve a sunbed and they had a brilliant one hour warning card so people couldn't leave unattended sunbeds for hours. Accommodation was as you would expect and was kept clean. Cannot fault this hotel really we've had a brilliant holiday and would definately return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kerry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    380
    101
    24
    10
See reviews for
849
89
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Agree with everything that has been said in previous reviews. It is fair to say the rooms are not 5star, but the air conditioning does WORK, in fact we turned it down whilst sleeping, and the rooms are meticulously cleaned. I agree occasionally, boisterous children do let off steam at the playground, but they are having fun.
The one fact that stands out for me that differs this establishment from others are the staff, and the positive culture that is driven from the top. The manager is highly approachable and visible daily, frequently greeting you at dinner and can often be seen encouraging and motivating his staff. This happy positive attitude is then evident in all his staff.
A big thank you to Bastien, Natalia and Sandra, I wish you all the success in the future, I know you will be.
The bar staff and restraunt staff work like Trojans always with a smile on their face.
An example of a well run organisation from top to bottom.
A happy customer!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NewcastleTraveller67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Just got back from a fabulous week at Viva Menorca - if you are thinking of booking here, then do it - it's fantastic!
Food is absolutely amazing, something for everyone, so much choice, kids always happy. Chefs cook certain dishes to order.
Lots of great pool entertainment, Bastian and the entertainment team were brilliant!
Rooms were perfectly fine, we were in Block 2, ground floor, nice and quiet, though still a short walk to the pool.
Pirate pool was great for the small children, though it says suitable for up to 12
Always sunbeds available - they have a system whereby if you leave sunbeds saved but not used for over an hour then they remove your towels - fab system.
Only downside for us was the evening entertainment we thought was quite poor, we had 2 karaoke nights, Spanish dancing, a double singing act, a mowtown group, so mostly singers, would've been good to have had a magician or something more for children who aren't into the mini disco. I really think that kids 7 and over need something more to entertain them in the evenings - our two made friends and so played with them, but would've been good to have some air hockey tables or similar near the bar area for them.
Walk to the marina was easy and it is lovely there, we went to the Goody Goody quite a few time (bouncy castles, amusements, little electric bikes etc)

So to summarise, fabulous hotel, fabulous friendly helpful staff, fab food, just need to improve on evening entertainment for older children. We are looking to book again next year!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We arrived back yesterday and this morning my cereals were a major let down in comparison to my 3 course viva breakfast of pancakes to start then the full all mighty English (with real British sausages) followed by fruit and a lovely big cappachino. We are a family of 4 and the all inclusive was brilliant - a whole buffet dedicated to a cheese board and deserts to die for, show cooking, steaks, paella blah blah - Chinese buffet night which still had usual stuff for non Chinese eating people - totally could not fault the meals, the service and the whole thing really. We travelled with jet2 on a package because they were cheapest but while we were there we never saw the jet2 rep (does she actually exist) but the first choice lady Ashley was more than happy to assist anyone - she deserves special mention she really was an ambassador for first choice so much so I am currently looking at first choice hols. The pirate pool was great as was the main pool, the whole place was immaculate and you never had a problem getting a sunbed and if you dared to sunbed reserve you got a little note on your bed and if you didn't return in an hour they removed your towels - I never saw this happen mind. The rooms were fine in size - our children are 7 and 11 so I guess if you had all the small child equipment you might find your room more busy but we literally only slept in it. The location is about a 10 min stroll to the marina and beach and close to the light house end of the resort. If you come out of the hotel and turn right you can be at the coast where a few few congregate at sundown to watch the sun dip below the horizon - a very moving experience. If your thinking of booking here just do it - it was worth every penny to see my family smiling for 11 days. There is a bus stop just round the corner into the main town citrodella or something (I cant spell it) which was lovely also but other than that we didn't go far out of the resort as calan bosch Is all on its own really. The manager of the hotel was always seen wandering around chatting and laughing with guests and if you had a problem I have no doubt he would sort it in a nano second. It was a nice hotel full of nice families having a nice time. All of the staff are lovely.

The night entertainment was a bit meh, singers, Spanish dancers, some dodgey but rather funny man doing a bubble show and other bargain basement acts which basically got better the more mojitos you had - oh yes the drinks were all premium - baileys, southern comfort etc... and the cocktails were all in too. My other half was over the moon he hardly spent a penny all holiday! I think that's all I have to say - viva should definitely open another hotel on menorca as its totally a family place and lots of families we spoke to will now look to go to other vivas but are put of slightly going to majora and getting on a plane with the magaluf crowd, nfortunatly this is where the other viva hotels are so Mr Viva please open one in son bou just for me? Awesome hol enjoy it if you go. Oh and the A/c is fine - does the job.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Amazeballs444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We went to Viva Menorca for 10 days in June. Our 2nd stay at this hotel and our 4th at a Viva hotel. We could not fault it. Probably the best family holiday we have had.

Top tip - go all-inclusive. You won't regret it.
Highlights - the entertainments team - they are superb! We've stayed at Viva hotels 3 times before so we knew what to expect, but we can honestly say these guys are the best we've met and really helped make the holiday. Plenty of activities for the kids - and adults too. The family games day is a great laugh!
Downside - the only criticism, and this is being picky, is that the rooms are starting to look a bit dated.

Service - excellent all round. All of the staff are very friendly and helpful.
Value - we felt we got good value for money.
Sleep quality - this was good. We had a room at the 'far end' of the complex, away from the pool and bar/entertainments area and it was quiet. Beds are fine.
Cleanliness - the whole complex was clean, with rooms being cleaned and towels changed regularly.
Location - the hotel is to the west of the town centre, an easy 10 minute walk from the marina. Maybe a challenge with young children (ours managed at 7 and 4) but never a problem for us. If you take the coastal road you can take in the views of the rugged coast and the lighthouse.
Rooms - big enough, clean and in good condition. As noted above, the only criticism we could have is that the decor is starting to look dated. But in reality, how much time do you actually spend in it?
Spa - located on the lower floor beneath the reception area with a jacuzzi and indoor pool. This seemed not to be too busy when we were there. There is also a small gym with step machine, treadmill and weights machine. All free to residents.
Breakfast - fantastic! As are all of the meals. We could not fault the food at the hotel. There is a huge choice for all meals and the quality is excellent. We used the main restaurant for breakfast and evening meals which works on a self-service buffet basis, and the poolside bar for lunches, which has a good menu selection.

Would definitely recommend this hotel without hesitation to anyone looking for a family-oriented resort. We will be going back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PStephenson72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Just returned from a fabulous holiday at the Viva Menorca.(There were 9 of us, including children and grandchildren). We couldn't fault anything! All the staff were amazing and so friendly. The food was superb with so much choice at each meal. The pool was great with no problem getting a sunbed! The rooms were spotless and beds comfortable. A fantastic time was had by all!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank astonSuttonColdfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My boys and I have just come back from a week at Viva. We have had a wonderful time. Hotel is really nice and clean and the staff could not be more helpful or more friendly. Pool was fab! We went all inclusive and it worked really well for us. Lovely food and drink from both the bar and restaurant. We will go back and cannot wait.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala'n Bosch
0.4 mi away
Aparthotel Paradise Club & Spa
7.2 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,016 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sol Falco All Inclusive
Sol Falco All Inclusive
#5 of 13 in Cala'n Bosch
1,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Prinsotel La Caleta
Prinsotel La Caleta
#1 of 2 in Cala Santandria
1,115 reviews
11.2 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#1 of 5 in Santo Tomas
1,190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casas del Lago Hotel, Spa & Beach Club - Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zafiro Menorca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zafiro Menorca

Property: Zafiro Menorca
Address: C/Llevant, s/n, 07760 Cala'n Bosch, Minorca, Spain (Formerly Viva Menorca)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Cala'n Bosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cala'n Bosch
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cala'n Bosch
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cala'n Bosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Zafiro Menorca 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zafiro Menorca hotel is an apartment resort located within 15 min. walking from the heavenly beach of Calan Bosch. Fully-equipped apartments, impressive swimming pools, funny leisure programme, sport offer and delicious gastronomy make this 4-star hotel the ideal accommodation for some unforgettable family holidays in Menorca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Zafiro Menorca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Menorca Hotel Cala`n Bosch
Viva Menorca Cala n Bosch
Viva Menorca Apartments
Zafiro Menorca Minorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing