We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent holiday!”
Review of Zafiro Menorca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Zafiro Menorca
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Cala'n Bosch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Stayed in Viva Menorca in July/August 2010 - me, my husband and our 3 daughters (13 years, 9 years and 4 years)

The rooms were of an exceptional standard. Always kept spotlessly clean by maids who visited 5 days a week. Nothing broken except a wardrobe door (which we alerted the reception about and they sent someone to mend within 20 minutes). Bathroom was excellent, beds were comfortable. Only downside about the bedrooms were the lack of air conditioning. This amenity is described when booking and there is a small vent in the bedroom however they don't work, at all. Many families had this problem while we stayed here and the rooms became insufferable with the heat sometimes.

The swimming pool also couldn't be faulted. Always spotless - every single night when we were going to tea we saw an employee using a large machine to clean all the pool and the lifeguard spent at least an hour a day fishing out small leaves, bottle caps etc to keep the pool clean. Plenty of space to swim around and for the kids to play. Just a warning, there is generally a large amount of inflatables (lilos, boats, balls etc) in the pool so not particularly relaxing.

The restaurant - again faultless. Always plenty of tables and the staff were lovely and plenty of them. Very efficient in cleaning up used cutlery but still without making you feel rushed like in some places. The food was beautiful. The regular pizza, pasta etc that you get all inclusive but also on site chef's that cook dishes such as paella, muscles in front of you to order. Theme nights regularly such as Chinese, Mexican and Spanish. Desserts were gorgeous - a very popular one was the large chocolate fountain they produced a few days a week. Also, excellent choice for the younger picky eaters - fish fingers, sausages etc. Food was always properly cooked and still hot when consumed. The poolside bar that was open 11am until 6pm also served a large variety of snack food - pizza, burgers, hot dogs, hot and cold sandwiches and salads again all to a very high standard and much easier. The bar in the main building is a bit of a funny one. The all inclusive lasted most nights until only around 10.30pm, sometimes 11. After the restaurant closed at 8pm, the only food you could get in this 'all inclusive' hotel was a few soggy sandwiches from this bar hence many trips to the supermarket across the road for crisps, breadsticks etc.

The entertainment team were absolute gems. Molly, the head of entertainment was never sat down. She had everyone from toddlers right up to adults smiling, singing and dancing. The children's kids club was well run and kept the little ones entertained with a huge range of activities. Bufo and sidekicks, the hotel's mascots were amazing. Our youngest daughter absolutely loved the mini disco every night. Bit of a problem with entertainment for older children though. Towards the end of the holiday they and the friends they had made got particularly bored. Not really much for them to do other than splash around in the pool.

Would definitely recommend a visit to the harbour, which is about a 10 minute walk away from the hotel and definitely worth the visit. A huge amount of beautiful restaurants, entertainment complexes and souvenir shops. Lovely when you just want to get away from the hotel for a while. Also home to the 'Goody Goody Park' which was really cheap to get into and a massive hit especially with our youngest daughter. The best visit was to the bar across the road from the hotel with the large blow up slide. You buy one drink and get access to the blow up waterslide, trampolines, internet access and arcade games.

One big point I'd have to make to avoid was the hotel 'spa' (an ice cold 5m swimming pool, a jacuzzi and a sauna). The swimming pool was unhealthily cold even though advertised to be heated. The jacuzzi was also freezing and funny smelling, which we regretted entering when 50% of the hotel was on antibiotics and ear drops due to the ear infection they had gained from this. The sauna was a peculiarly smelling little hut that, if you weren't careful, locked you in. A lovely experience.

Excluding the receptionist women who were rude, unhelpful and down right miserable, all the staff were a pleasure to be associated with. Always smiling, very good standards of English and could never do enough to help you.

I'd strongly recommend this holiday to young families who want a nice easy, relaxing holiday. Even though there isn't much to do for teenagers, the fact that the hotel is 99% populated by English people means they make loads of friends and usually find something to do for themselves. Cala'n Bosch itself is a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank manchestergirl95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moises_Barbero, Commercial Department at Zafiro Menorca, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2011

Thank you very much for your Review.
We hope to see you soon at Viva Menorca.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

916 - 922 of 1,227 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2010

I went to The Viva Menorca for 14 days with my husband and 2 small children ( 21 months and 4) and I have to say that we all thought the hotel was great, we booked in January when all reviews were really good then as the summer progressed there were some negative comments so we were a little concerned about what we would get but it was really good.
The rooms are exactly as would would expect a spanish 4 star hotel, yes they are a bit tired (nothing a lick of paint could'nt solve) but they are clean and sheets and towels are changed regularly are all lovely and white.
We did not have any trouble getting a sunbed but then hotel was not full.
Food was really good, excellent choice and of a really good quality. Yes it did become a bit "samey" but if you eat in the same restaraunt for 14 days then it will!!!
Entertainment was great for my age kids and they loved Bufo and the gang, Molly and the team work really hard to give all kids a great time.
Aircon worked fine and if you leave a card (like boots card) in slot while you are out it works even better.
Staff could not be better nothing is to much trouble, we did have a few ants and on 1 day we had a few more but within 10 min of letting reception know they were there to sort it out.
Marina is only 10 min away and is well worth a visit so is the water park and plenty for little ones to do.
Overall a great hotel, but thats in September not sure I would have liked it in July when its full.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nessa70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

This was our first stay at Viva Menorca and our second visit to Menorca. Last year we stayed in the Hotel Princesa Playa in Son Xoriguer (HB) and found it good but this year decided to try the Viva Menorca (All inc) as we had previously stayed in Viva Blue in Majorca, which was good.

We booked at the begining of the year for 10 days and at the time all the reviews were very positive, then we checked again a few weeks before we went and was suprised at the negative comments mainly guests saying it had gone downhill since going all inclusive, so we were unsure what to expect.

I can honestly say if you are planning to go please ignore the negative comments!

We think this hotel had the edge on the Hotel Princesa Playa where we stayed last year which was also a 4 star and at the same standard as the Viva Menorca. I have stayed in allot of hotels around Europe and this hotel is no different to any other 4 star hotel I have stayed in and in my opion this is classed at the right level!

As suggested on here blocks 1 and 2 are just accoss the road (that is not busy) and slightly away from the noise of the outside entertainment in the evening. We E-mailed the hotel requesting block 1 and 2 but they could not promised anything, however on arrival we were allocated block 1. Yes there were some ants in the room but only by the sink so we could live with that. We had the same problem last year at Hotel Princesa Playa, so I think its a local problem? We never complained but guess the cleaner spotted them as after a few days only saw the odd one or 2. The Air Con worked fine if you keep the Balcony door closed. Bed were fine too with no back ache in the morning.

Food wise it was good, after a few days there was variety and plenty of it, and none of our family had any upset tummys. We thought into the second week it would be the same as the first week but it was still different.

Entertainment was good for younger kids and our 4 year old loved it. We also have a 13 year old teenager and agree there is not so much for them to do. Ours stayed with us most of the time, but allot of teenagers seemed to do there own thing in reception and hang around on the computers playing games or on facebook. Oh yes agree with one point one computer did seem to be always out of order.

Onto the Sunbeds yes, people did set out early to get sunbeds but this was to get the ones that were in the sun all day to the left of the bar. I went down one morning at 8am and still got 3 sunbeds and later in the week went at 9am and still got 4 sunbeds. I did notice towards the end of August each day got quiter by the pool so that did help.

Marina is only a 10 minute walk and Beach is a further 5 minutes on over the bridge.

In summary we paid the same money to stay at Viva Menorca All inc. as we we did at Hotel Princesa Playa last Half Board, and it was slightly better and we had Lunch and drinks included too, so feel it was better value for money at the same standard.

We would stay here again and recommond it to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_Mrs_Fear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

Stayed at viva menorca allinclusive from 19th june to 3rd july 2010 with our two children 11 and 7.
the accomadation was very spacious and came with tv,cooker,fridge,microwave,hairdryer and table and chairs and a balcony.It was very clean and cleaned 5 times a week.
ALL the staff were very friendly and worked very hard.
The restaurant was spacious and very clean and there was a variety of food to choose from even for fussy eaters.The food quality was excellent.
The pool area had plenty of sunbeds and had no problem getting one.The swimming pool was of a good size but the baby pool was very small.The snack bar served food and drinks from 10:30 till 5:30 were you could get burgers,chips,pizza,sandwiches, soft and alcoholic drinks.There was unlimited ice cream which was great for the kids.
The entertainment team were brilliant sophie,claudia and ray.There is a mini disco on every night at 8:oopm till 9:00pm which my daughter loved. There wasnt much going on for my 11 year old son but he was quite happy playing pool every night.The adult entertaiment started at 9 and finished by 10:30pm with nothing afterwards could of done with a disco.
The marina is about 15 min walk away where there is plenty of shops and restaurants.
We did have one problem we had a 'rat' in our room one night which jumped on my husband as he was sleeping and ran onto the balcony. the rat came back the next to nights tapping on our balcony door. First choice didnt seem to beleive us untill we took photos. the manager assured me this was a one off and got pest control in and we moved rooms.
Overall we had a fantastic holiday and would go back again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwyn45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

We stayed at Viva Menorca for 2 weeks with 2 daughters aged 15 and 12 at end of August, 2010 and after reading the negative recent reviews was more than worried before we got there.
Firstly, we did do as recommended and email hotel before hand asking for a pool view on first floor with fully working air conditioning which the hotel did acknowledge before our visit and we got Block 2 overlooking garden (could see Pool but was across road) and was on first floor. The air conditioning was adequate in Lounge area but did get a fan in the bedroom after few hot nights although they were a little reluctant to give one before they had checked air conditioning was working!
The ants mentioned in many reviews were visible on the ground floor but every day you could see they were trying their best to get rid and by the end of our stay the staff seemed to have succeeded.
Thats all the negative I can mention as everything else was great. Didnt see too much of First Choice reps only at welcome meeting and when we booked our trips - didnt even have a rep on our bus going back to airport but driver was fine on his own.
However the staff of Viva from Reception to Bar to Entertainment (they work very long hours and are always keen and energetic) but I have to give the biggest credit to the Restaurant staff - they are amazing! Happy, Friendly, Helpful, Courteous and very particular in keeping people seated with the least wait time and clearing plates away quickly and efficiently!
Entertainment was on offer morning noon and night - very much geared round the younger children (wish I had found this hotel a few years ago) but was never intrusive and we all loved the Moogs song even buying the CD before we came home.
The hotel is within easy walking distance of the Port, the Beach and the Water Park and also easy reach of a number of shops, bars and restaurants.
So my advice to all people that are worried that have booked and now reading negative reports on here get there and enjoy it - apart from having to get up early (as early as 6.30am and still finding many people had beaten you to their regular beds by the pool that they sat on day in day out) for towels on sun beds (dont you have to do that everywhere these days?) and the life guard not really paying much attention to the pool more attention to his mobile or magazine or chatting to guests around the pool or even playing water polo its a great place to holiday and I would have no doubts in booking to go again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shopaholicsister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

We stayed here for the last 2 weeks of August with our 2 children (7 and 10).

First impressions when we walked in were, yeah not bad! Lobby was clean, receptionist lovely. We had emailed ahead to request a pool view room on the upper floor and she referred to our email and our request was granted.

We got to our room, which was a nice size with plenty of storage space, a fully stocked kitchenette complete with kettle toaster and microwave and fridge. We wanted a couple of extra pillows so requested these from reception and they were promptly brought to our room. A lot of people mention the air conditioning being poor, but as mentioned in previos reviews if you leave a credit card sized card in the slot all day and leave your blackout curtains shut and make sure the patio doors are fully closed your room will stay nice and cool. The negatives are that the furniture is a little shabby and raelly needs updating to maintain 4 star standards.

Sunbeds!!! Well, every single day people were up at the crack of dawn reserving their spot! Some not even occupying them til after lunch. The sunbeds are so cramped together that it is hard to have a conversation without others hearing. But really don't know what they could do to address this without building another pool. The sunbeds are also rather tired and could do with replacing. Also the drains around the pool every now and again have an awful stench.

The food is not bad with plenty of choice. The restaurant does get rather busy but if you hit it at the right time it's ok. They could definately do with an extra juice dispenser at breakfast as it was always running out.

The entertainment wasn't too bad. Especially great for under 8's. The reps work really hard all day and night and my kids loved them. The kids clubs, my two sometimes found quite boring as they were catering for alll ages however I beleive they will be having age appropriate First Choice clubs next summer so that should be better for the older ones.

The staff were all lovely and always smiling and looked very happy in their work.

To get this hotel back up to 4 stars it just needs a bit of money spending on it as it is strarting to look tired. At the moment I would say it's only worthy of 3*.

Cala n Bosc is lovely and great for families.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trollydolly76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

We (mum,dad, 3 children 13, 11 and 7) had a wonderful weeks holiday at this hotel. All inclusive is definitely worth the money here and after speaking with friends works out cheaper overall. Cala N Bosch is a well equipped resort and although the furthest resort from the airport , it didn't seem to take too long to transfer from the airport.
We have only 2 niggles about this hotel.
Firstly the beds were very hard and with thin matresses for adults.
Secondly and by far the worst niggle is the sunbed frenzy!
Every morning, very early I was woken up by people' flip flopping' along with their towels. It wouldnt have been so bad if they had done this quietly! Every single day the sunbeds had more or less all been taken by 8am.
On our last day we had to be up at 5.15 am for our coach home. We couldnt believe our eyes when we opened our apartment door to find people armed with their towels at that time, it was still dark outside!
Throughout our stay we went to the beach everyday and didnt take part in this ritual each morning. I do think had I or my husband been obsessed with getting up every morning to put towels out, it would have spoilt the relaxing idea of a holiday. Not forgetting the feeling of being selfish in doing so.
One afternoon we returned from the beach around 3 o'clock and I managed to find 1 spare bed. After a while I noticed the 4 beds next to me with towels on had not been visited all the time I was there. It was 6 o'clock in the eveving before a woman came along and collected her 4 towels with no intention of using the beds!
To sum up I think in high season this problem needs addressing by the hotel management because at the moment it is a real let down for an otherwise fantastic hotel in a superb location with plenty going on.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rjgktopchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala'n Bosch
0.4 mi away
Aparthotel Paradise Club & Spa
0.9 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,354 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sol Falco by Melia -All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Valentin Son Bou
Valentin Son Bou
#2 of 8 in Son Bou
1,561 reviews
3.7 mi away
Prinsotel La Caleta
Prinsotel La Caleta
#1 of 2 in Cala Santandria
1,253 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Menorca Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zafiro Menorca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zafiro Menorca

Address: C/Llevant, s/n, 07760 Cala'n Bosch, Menorca, Spain (Formerly Viva Menorca)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Menorca > Cala'n Bosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cala'n Bosch
#3 Family Hotel in Cala'n Bosch
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cala'n Bosch
Price Range: $57 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Zafiro Menorca 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zafiro Menorca hotel is an apartment resort located within 15 min. walking from the heavenly beach of Calan Bosch. Fully-equipped apartments, impressive swimming pools, funny leisure programme, sport offer and delicious gastronomy make this 4-star hotel the ideal accommodation for some unforgettable family holidays in Menorca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zafiro Menorca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Menorca Hotel Cala`n Bosch
Viva Menorca Cala n Bosch
Viva Menorca Apartments
Zafiro Menorca Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing