We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad we didn't pay a lot for it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Smartline Cala'n Bosch
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Cala'n Bosch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Went to the hi marina apartments in 2012 my boyfriend had been to menorca before and loved it so we went when we saw everyone getting off at these lovely hotels we were thinking yay hopefully out is as lovely sad to say it looked so run down and we got the shock of out lives when we went in the reception area was so dated only the reception staff spoke English we walked through to the eating area to ask a member of staff when we could check in safe to say she didn't understand a word we said so we waited half hour for someone to come and put our stuff in a luggage room. The one thing I can say was amazing about this hotel was the air con if you go at this time of year you must get the air con leave it on all day when our out but be careful the maids like to turn it off so we ended up hiding the remote but when you come in from a hot day by the pool and you get hit with the lovely blast of cold air from the air con it is amazing.
The rooms were dingy and basic the beds were like wood and uncomfortable but I managed to sleep.
On the first day all we wanted to do was go to the pool but the adult pool was 2.6 meters deep not a very nice feeling knowing you can't touch the bottom. Then when we were relaxing we get harassed for an hour about sun cream by a sun care assistant it's safe to say for the rest of the holiday we didn't use the hotels facilities or eat the food we went to the paradise club which is a lovely hotel we are going back this year but won't go back to the hi marina all I would say is if you do book here then use a different hotels facilities.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauramarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,269)
There are newer reviews for Smartline Cala'n Bosch
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

521 - 527 of 1,269 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2013

This was the first Holiday I had been on with all inclusive, so I was a little scared of paying extra for the holiday is the food was going to turn out bad.

The food was brillint and had loads of choices for my 2 sons 9 and 10 It was very fresh and tastey and we always had something different everyday.

The hotel was a little dates and the pillows arnt the best but it was super clean, staff was more than helpful, they helped me sort out a birthday cake for my son.
The harbour is a stone throw a way, id day this is the best hotel for location with the beach,harobur and shops.
I didn;t hire a car and i'm glad because everything was on the door step. We went on the glass bottom boart which was brilliant, make sure you take your snorkles because we went cave diving and really enjoyed it.
Entertainment wasn't amazing but the kids loved it and it kept them entertained when we sat and chilled and drunk sangria.

Would I stay there again? YES!!

Room Tip: Ask for a high room with a sea view, it's outstanding. They do kiddy cocktails called san frans...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CharlieDoe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This was our second visit to this hotel, the last time was 2007 & we were hopeing to meet some of the people that were there last time as we had two weeks of fun & games, Alas there was no one there from last time but we met even more nice couples & families. The entertainment was low key but they did there best as there was only one show the whole two weeks & they were dancers. Had plenty of sunshine apart from a couple of days with a bit of drizzle. There were some nice walks around the coast & two days after we arrived home we found out that my brother & his wife were staying at the apartments opposite for the first three days we were there. (no we dont tend to keep in touch we are always jetting off somewhere) The bottom line is we had good value for money but we are off to other destinations next year, Thanks again for the hotel staff, entertainment team & all the other guest for making our stay at the Calan Bosch an enjoyable one. Kind regards Col & Bet XXXX PS there is no spell checker on this page

Room Tip: high floor sea view
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank COL&BET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed here from 12th to 19th October, which was the last week the hotel was open before the winter close down.There wasvery much an end-of season feel to both the hotel and resort, some of the shops and bars were already closed, although this didn`t affect us much as we were all-inclusive. The location is excellent, next to a small beach and very close to the marina, but while we were there there was a lot of seaweed on the beach and in the sea next to the beach which spoilt the experience. The weather was not kind, with rain on the first four days of our holiday which meant we had to stay in the hotel a lot. The hotel was ok the rooms were fairly standard and in fairly good condition(part of the bathroom door casing was damaged) with air conditioning and tv at no extra charge, but on our last night the aircon for the whole hotel appeared to be switched off, and this was on the hottest day we had!Food was ok but not as good we have had all inclusive elsewhere.The bar was small and I dont know how they cope in high season. The same applies to the two small lifts which were adequate with the low occupancy of the last week, but I think there will be long waits when the hotel is full.The entertainment/animacion team did there best, but there were no visiting entertainers while we were there.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SEAGULL_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

As the title suggests, the best thing about this hotel is it's location. A short, level walk to both the beach and the marina. The hotel is very clean as are the rooms, but is a little dated. The staff are all very friendly and dedicated. My husband and myself stayed in this hotel from 12/10/2012 to 19/10/2012. Unfortunately, this was the final week of the hotel opening, and on our last day everything was being packed up around us! We were beginning to think that we were going to be handed the keys and told to lock up as we left!! There was always plenty of food available at mealtimes, although most of it was lukewarm. Many guests were using the small microwave that was in the restaurant to heat up their food. Snacks consisted of cold ham and cheese. Arrive after 9pm and all there is to eat is a sandwich. The entertainment was of a "Hi-de-Hi" nature, but we got around that by spending our evenings in the Valentin Star hotel, just across the road.Would like to return to explore the area a little more.

Room Tip: Choose floors 4 or 5 facing the beach and marina for afternoon/evening sun from your balcony. Take y...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ryanslass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Marina has brilliant location.rooms were spotless ,lovely pool area plenty of beds . reception staff not at all friendlynot at all welcoming to guests exept the lovely chambermaid we stayed in room 112 and could not fault it will definitely go back

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rusties2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We have just returned from a week all inclusive at the Cala N Bosch hotel. Whilst the hotel was kept clean and maids tidied your room every day, this was the only positive thing we can say about the hotel. The food was beyond appalling - the same bowls of salad and vegatables were brought out everyday, the choice was very limited ( pork and fish everyday), the chip fat that the chips were cooked in clearly had not been changed for some months, on the last day I even saw a mouldy tomatoe on the breakfast counter that had been cooked with the others - clearly they had not even been washed before cooking!!
We had to go and eat at some restuarants down at the Marina, where the food was hot and tasty - not what we were used to at the Cala N Bosch !! The owners of these restaurants were familiar with guests from the Cala N Bosch hotel having to eat out as the food was inedible, and they say this had been happening all season, not just the last few weeks when the season had died down.
Whilst the entertainment staff did provide some daily activities, they only had 1 show on the week we were there, the rest of the evenings consisted of karaoke, which the guests were expected to entertain fellow guests. The entertainment staff did treat and speak to everyone as if they were 5 year old, despite there being very few children staying in the hotel.
If you have booked this for your holiday next year - my advice is to change, or at least stay in the nearby apartments and go self catering !!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala'n Bosch
0.5 mi away
Sol Falco All Inclusive
Sol Falco All Inclusive
#5 of 11 in Cala'n Bosch
2,169 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aparthotel Paradise Club & Spa
0.4 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casas del Lago Hotel, Spa & Beach Club - Adults Only
0.4 mi away
Zafiro Menorca
Zafiro Menorca
#2 of 11 in Cala'n Bosch
1,190 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Roc Lago Park
Apartamentos Roc Lago Park
#9 of 11 in Cala'n Bosch
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smartline Cala'n Bosch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smartline Cala'n Bosch

Address: Final de la Via de Circunvalacion, 07769 Cala'n Bosch, Menorca, Spain (Formerly Hi! Cala'n Bosch Hotel)
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Menorca > Cala'n Bosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Cala'n Bosch
Price Range: $110 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Smartline Cala'n Bosch 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THIS HOTEL HAS BEEN REFURBISHED DURING WINTER 2014/2015. Beautiful natural landscapes bathed in crystal clear blue waters, unique and unforgettable beauty of the Balearics - these are the experiences we would like to share with you in smartline Cala'n Bosch*** situated in Calan Bosch, Cap d'Artrutx, on the island of Menorca. A magnificent location of the hotel, sports and leisure facilities combined with peace and quiet atmosphere, so peculiar to the island of Menorca, will make your holiday with family, partner or friends an experience you would like to repeat again and again. The smartline Cala'n Bosch*** is located right on the beach of Calan Bosch in Cap D'Artrutx and 11 km from Ciutadella, former capital of Menorca. The hotel offers 188 rooms with balcony, air-conditioning, SAT TV, safe rental, bath, shower, toilet. The hotel is equipped with 1 adults' y 1 children's swimming pool, pool bar, snack bar, and is provided with direct access to the beach. The hotel offers gastronomic evenings and an enjoyable entertainment program with activities for all ages. Just 150 m away from the hotel you will find the marina of Calan Bosch where you will be able to enjoy water sports. Horse riding and cycling facilities as well as possibilities for cultural visits are also in the immediate neighbourhood of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Smartline Cala'n Bosch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi Cala n Bosch Hotel
Cala Bosch Hotel
Hi Cala n Bosch Ciudadela
Hotel Cala n Bosch
Smartline Cala'n Bosch Menorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing