We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sol Falco All Inclusive
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Cala'n Bosch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good hotel.”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We arrived 19th Sept, 2012, travelling with First Choice. The air stewards were too busy chatting to each other to give a proper service. There were lots of toddlers on the plane but thankfully not too many in our hotel at that time of year. Hotel reception staff were helpful. There are scales to weigh suitcases and computer terminals. No free wifi. Beach towels - €15 deposit per towel plus €1 per towel per day. No charge for safe. We had emailed to ask for a quiet room on a low floor and that had been arranged for us – ground floor, Mansion block. The hotel is set out like a village with small 2 or 3 storey blocks with no lifts. On arrival it was a bit of a maze but once we had found our room it became a lot easier. If you are on the ground floor I do not think there are any steps to negotiate, but there is less privacy. The grounds are very pretty with lots of flowers, trees, pools and sports areas.
The room was typical for Sol, with fridge, air-con and ceiling fan, tv, safe, (no kettle), 2 soap/ shampoo dispensers in the bathroom. Air-con has one control beside bed and another beside bathroom door. It was quiet and efficient which was good as the weather was warmer than we had expected. The shower always seemed to flood the floor.
We were apprehensive about this being a 3 star hotel and being All Inclusive but by the time we had seen the dinner buffet our fears were dispelled. The choice included a large salad bar, various pasta and sauces, pizza, chips, a large roasted joint of meat, rice dishes and paellas, vegetables, fish and meat, both plain and in sauces. We enjoyed trying some new things and lots of fish as well as the less adventurous dishes. I was a little wary of the bread because guests (mainly English speaking) were lifting baguettes in their bare hands to cut it although a cloth napkin was provided to hold it, as well as little bread baskets and paper napkins to line them. The puddings included fresh melon, watermelon and pineapple, other fresh fruit, quince jelly – try it with cheese, ice cream cartons and yogurts, baked apples, mousse, and a wonderful chocolate cake plus more. To get a drink you go to the bar in the corner of the dining room where you can get a glass or carafe of fizzy drinks, wine, beer, fruit juice or a bottle of water. There is a machine which dispenses chilled, warm or hot water. There is also a wine menu but for other drinks you must go to the bar.
The lunch buffet had a similar selection, plus the choice in the snack bar.
The hotel closes for the winter so there was not a lot of new customers arriving.
From the back gate it is a short walk to Son Xoriguer beach, passing supermarkets and bars. This beach has some stones in the sand. You can follow a path just above the sand round to Cala’n Bosch beach which has nicer sand. From the front or back hotel entrances you can walk to the Cala’n Bosch marina and beach in 15 – 20 mins passing more small supermarkets. There is a ramp down into the marina at the point where the white wall is painted with a menu. There are lots of restaurants and a few shops, most of which are in one cluster.
Mini train – no commentary, sell tickets for half or full route, not hop on/off but you can get off at any stop and walk back.
Lots of places hire bicycles.
We were unable to go on the trip we liked because of our flight dates. The island is small and probably a good place to hire a car. From Cala'n Bosch you seem to need to go to Ciutadella to get a bus onward to other destinations.
Bus to Ciutadella - €1.80 per adult single – from front door or back entrance of hotel grounds, takes about 30 mins. There is tourist information in the building bearing the Spanish flags, in the corner of the square with the tall obelisk. This square is where the market is held. The obelisk is visible from the bus stop. There are public toilets and a bus ticket kiosk at the bus stop. We thought this was a lovely place to explore.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank collingwood39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    852
    840
    211
    64
    32
See reviews for
1,301
421
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

My family & I have stayed at the sol falco for the past 3 years & are booked again for June 2013, something I should make very clear is before having kids I would never holiday at the same destination twice, but as anyone who has young children knows your holiday needs change & what you really want is a place that suits you all as a family, the sol falco is perfect for us, location to the beach is great, a 200metre walk down a path that is surfaced & therefore good for buggies & not too far to get the kids to/from, the low rise buildings in the large grounds stop a feeling of being overcrowded & there are 7 pools dotted around the complex, some for everyone & some for adults only which are nice & quiet, if going for 2 weeks the evening entertainment does repeat itself but that is no reflection on the extremely hard working friendly staff, who are always on hand to help make sure you have a great holiday, also its just a short walk to cala n bosch harbour with a large choice of bars & variety of restaurants & often live entertainment & street stalls selling handmade crafts.back to the hotel & I have to admit the kids club is slightly focused towards their Spanish guests but thats not to say that british kids are not made welcome, as I said before the staff work very hard, also a big plus for me personally is the local scuba dive centre Blue Water Scuba where I have completed a couple of courses & plenty of dives with them , they are very friendly with excellent knowledge of the islands dive sites & good quality equipment to rent if u don't have you own, oh & of course the hotel food, its one large open plan restaurant with buffet style dining, a nice mix of food from paella to freshly cooked pasta or pizza & chips if you want it, like the entertainment it can get a little repetitive if your there for 2 weeks but we like to have a few meals out in the evenings anyway.the rooms are clean with reasonable space, a TV (if you want it) & a fridge.
My family & I really enjoy our holidays there, we have 2 kids aged 4 & 1, when you save for a holiday all year long the last thing you want is to be disapointed in the hotel you have chosen, something we never have been at the sol falco.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank subaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I have visited the SOL Falco twice two years on the trot and have to say it is probably up to date one of my most favourite hotels. I was recommended this place by the travel agents in 2010 for a surprise wedding anniversary gift to my wife and returned the following year with my 2 daughters (11 & 14 @ the time). Everyone of us enjoyed our stay, the food was superb in both quality and choice. Evening entertainment was excellent although it repeats after 8 days (same type of show different performers). The choice of pools and size of the hotel means that you can have either a relaxing or an active holiday depending on how you feel. All of us love the SOL Falco but a hefty price increase of 1.5k on the holiday means we have gone elsewhere next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Spid360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed at the Sol Falco from 21st Sept for 1 week. When we arrived the reception staff were lovely so pleasant and helpful. Our room was lovely right by the pool and fascilities e.g reception restaurant, bar. The 1st couple of days we were there the food was brilliant plenty of selection in all areas snack bar and restaurant but then it just seemed to close We arrived on the Friday and by the Monday they had closed the snack bar and most of the restaurant was closed. The food became repetitive and cold and the Desert table was the same every day lunch and evening meal which was such a shame as there was no variety at all. I think if we had gone sooner it may have been a different review but the hotel was not due to close until middle of October. The staff were lovely both bar and restaurant always pleasant. If you enjoy a drink you can upgrade for 12 euro a day to get all international brands but they are half price anyway if you are all inclusive. It was a nice walk into the town and the Marina where there are some nice restaurants and shops. If you are going i would not recommend going to soon or late in the season. It is a lovely place very relaxing Oh and the flinstones are great. It is also excellent for people with walking difficulties as it is very flat.

Room Tip: Ask to be near the pool if you want to be close to all amenities or have walking difficulties
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anglin26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Just come back [10th October] after 10 days at the Sol Falco and what an amazing hotel/complex and lovely staff!
It was very quiet as its the end of the season but this is what we like. We went all-inclusive and it was great!
6 swimming pools and only 5 minutes from a lovely beach.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Request a pool view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank trevvy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

My husband and I, daughter, son-in-law and 18 month old granddaughter had a wonderful holiday at the Sol Falco. Pleasantly laid out hotel that was set out like a small village. Rooms were fine, food was good and there was always quite a choice. The drinks were pleasant and no queuing. Snacks were fine too - serrano ham, prawns, chips, paella etc.

Staff were friendly and helpful and our granddaughter thoroughly enjoyed the Flintstone theme activities and settings. Would definately recommend this hotel for a great break.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Hazel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Well I was so worried about our stay here after reading some reviews, no worry! We travelled as a couple and had a brilliant time here. We stayed in Mansion, and somedays had the pool adjacernt to ourselves. The Flintstone theme had died down, not many children in, and pools very quiet. The dining room facility outside was excellent although we did get troubled with a few wasps during the day. Loads of choice of food, hot or cold. Cakes, fresh fruit available and was lovely. The cleaners work so hard all the day, and staff very pleasant. Beach a couple of minutes away and was beautiful sand, and crystal clear sea.
The hotel may be different during school holidays, but perfect for couples out of season.
Resort a short walk into, with a lovely marina, would recommend La Marina had a brilliant meal there.
Weather was perfect, for this time of year, would not hesitate to go back in September as a couple. All familys with young children or couples there, do not go for a lively holiday.
All things safe left on the beach, no theft problems that we heard of.
We had al brilliant time, and want to thank the staff for making it a very special holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank julielynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala'n Bosch
0.0 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,112 reviews
12.6 mi away
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
0.5 mi away
Aparthotel Paradise Club & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#2 of 5 in Santo Tomas
1,251 reviews
3.5 mi away
Prinsotel La Caleta
Prinsotel La Caleta
#1 of 2 in Cala Santandria
1,137 reviews
0.9 mi away
Zafiro Menorca
Zafiro Menorca
#4 of 13 in Cala'n Bosch
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Falco All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Falco All Inclusive

Property: Sol Falco All Inclusive
Address: Avda. Son Xoriguer s/n | Cala´n Bosch, 07769 Cala'n Bosch, Minorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Cala'n Bosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cala'n Bosch
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cala'n Bosch
#5 Family Hotel in Cala'n Bosch
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cala'n Bosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Falco All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia presents SOL FALCO All Inclusive hotel, is just 250m fron the beach, 700m from the leisure, shopping and entertainment facilities and the marina. The recently renovated rooms with modern and elegant décor are characterised by their brightness, with light and fresh colours. 7 outdoor swimming pools and one children’s pool. We also have a pool for guests seeking that extra bit of peace and quiet. Buffet offering two show-cooking stations. Lounge Bar & Snack Bar-Restaurant. The Sol Falcó All Inclusive provides, amongst its services and facilities, the Katmandu Adventures, the newest branded children’s resort club experience. Varied evening entertainment programme with musicals by our in-house production team, plus new shows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sol Falco All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Falco Hotel Cala`n Bosch
Sol Melia Ciudadela
Sol Falco Ciudadela
Sol Falco All Inclusive Minorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing