We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely holiday in Cala n' Bosch.”
Review of smartline Marina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
smartline Marina
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely holiday in Cala n' Bosch.”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Second time at these apartments and a lovely holiday again.. On both occasions, found the apartments to be basic but more than adequate for our needs. Complex was clean and apartments were cleaned regularly throughout our stay. staff were friendly and the Thomas Cook rep dealt with our only complaint, some noisy neighbours. we did consider upgrading to all inclusive at the sister hotel as eating out was becoming quite expensive, however having tried the dining room for 1 night we decided against it, finding the food to be poor and the wine undrinkable. Lovely beaches nearby and good selection of restaurants round the marina although many closing down for winter by October.. Also worth the 20 minute bus trip to Cituidella both during the day and in the evening.

Room Tip: Worth requesting sea view, lovely to sit on balcony enjoying the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sam66_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    129
    67
    20
    13
See reviews for
143
116
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perthshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We were very happy with our appartment room 226 which had 3 bedrooms and a good sized balcony. The kitchen was small with fridge, kettle, microwave and 2 cooking rings although we only used the fridge and kettle. There was a dining table with chairs, a sofa, coffee table and tv which had bbc1, stv and cbbc. The pool area was very clean with plenty sun loungers but the pools were very deep and on the first day when my children used them they were excitable and screaming as the water was cold. An older lady covered her ears and said the noise was dreadful and people were leaving the poolside because of them. I was shocked about how rude she was and so after this decided to use the pools at the sister hotel across the road. One of the pools leads you straight onto the main beach which is very nice. This was more suited to our family and also had a small playpark.
The location was excellent with everything within easy walking distance 5 minutes to the beach and restaurants in the marina. Our favouite was El Pescador and the kids loved Baba the big tall guy who was great with them!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erinannice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Returned on 1st October. A great location, very close to the marina, resauraunts and bars. The lovely little beach is literally a matter of four or five minutes away. The apartments are basic but adequate. Over our ten day stay, the room was cleaned five times, however the sheets were changed only once. We stayed in room 308, top floor, the view was lovely.
As others have mentioned, the additional hire charges were frankly ridiculous, in as much as a toaster had to be hired, in a self catering apartment ! We simply did not bother with any of the additional hire items. The cooking facilities consisted of a twin ring hob and a microwave. We only cooked twice during our stay.
A vey nice pool area but with the sea only minutes away, we chose to swim there and so much warmer than the pools ! All of the staff that we encountered were pleasant and friendly and really appreciated the odd Spanish phrase.
As for entertainment. Around the Marina we has drinks at the Valentin Star, local singers and two tribute acts, all of differing quality. Two pints of San Miguel came in at 8.40 Euros. Tom's bar further around the marina, had two local singers on every night, and very nice singers they were, prices for drinks were slightly less than the Valentin Star. We avoided Chaplins, ( Brit pub ), quizes and karaoke, not what we went to Menorca for. This resort is a purely tourist made resort and not the '' Real '' Menorca.
Overall, a lovely little resort, could do with more in the way of evening entertainment though. We did try one night in the sister hotel, just across the way, maybe we hit a bad night because the duo that were on were frankly dreadful ! Two tiny, plastic cups of San Miguel, just under four Euros ! No thank you
Hello to the couple we met from Burton on Trent and the couple from Weymouth..From the Geordie couple, very nice to have met you.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dannyboy686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rugby
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

28.09.12-5.10.12. After reading mixed reveiws we were unsure of what to expect. Myself, husband, and parents stayed in two, one bedroomed apartments. Spacious, clean apartments with lovely pool/sea views, modern bathroom and kitchenette, everything needed for basic self catering, including kettle, two hobs, fridge and a microwave with a grill facility!! After 25 years of self catering mainly in Greece, but also in Spain, can not remember having a toaster more than twice and only in recent years a kettle. Personally have no wish to cook when on holiday, as long as it has a fridge to cool the water, milk, beer and wine and a kettle or hob and pan for a cuppa, thats fine. Didn't need air conditioning as the temperature was lovely if you left the window open, but can imagine you would in high season. Safe was 25 euros (plus refundable 10 euros deposit) for 1 week which is normal, in fact slightly cheaper than our last hol which was 4 star all inclusive!! Remote control for tv required a deposit, but the tv had buttons on it which worked perfectly well, no remote required, just like tv's used to!! We had a minor problem on the balcony after a storm, reported to reception, went for a walk and it was sorted before we returned. The same applied to my parents who reported a fault with their patio door, reported and sorted within 2 hours. If you have a problem, report it and at least give them a chance to put it right!!! Apart from one group of ignorant people in a room on the floor below us who thought it was ok to be noisy at 4am, we had a lovely holiday, luckily they disappeared after 2 nights. For the money paid, the accommodation was very good and the resort was lovely. Would defiantely return. Even though we travelled as a group of adults, the family atmosphere was very pleasant. Cheapest beer found at El Quiote 1.50 euro a pint, excellent meals at Mr. Jaume and es tast de na Silvia.

Room Tip: If you want sunny balcony late afternoon/evening request room overlooking Marina entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank diddsRugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton on Trent
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Have just returned from a week at the Hi Marina in a self catering apartment. We were allocated a room with a sea view which was nice but as soon as we had booked in the first thing we were given was a list of the hire charges for a kettle, toaster, safe etc. We just settled for the safe which was 25 euros plus 10 euros returned when key was given back I think it is one of the most expensive I have ever come across. They wanted 11 euros for a toaster which I felt should have been a normal part of a self catering package so we didn't bother we had a kettle in the room but we were disappointed that the air con in the room was 20 euros and refused to pay and just slept with the door open all night. It just was annoying that these things really should be charged after paying for your holiday. Anyway the hotel was clean all be it a bit run down in areas. The bar area had no atmosphere. We loved the Marina and we found the prices were fair for food and drink we particulary loved Las Tapas and La Fountana both of which offered lovely food.

Room Tip: we had room 220 with a lovely sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sangria56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2012

just got back ,hi marina apartments were ok,nice and clean ,maid service realy good,beds changed twice a week and we always hqd lots of clean towels.we were lucky with our room too.it over looked the pools and we had a sea view as well.staff realy helpful and polite.the apartments are in a great location for everything ,and the beach could not be any nearer.going to go back next year.as for noise we were only disturbed once by a family who were just a bit ignorant at respecting other people who were staying in the apartments as well.

Room Tip: room 124 over looks the pool and seaview.plus its a good size room/
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We have been home 1 week from this fab holiday and still have the blues! We searched for a cheap getaway for days and came across this little package. The hotel is basic OBVIOUSLY but clean and tidy and friendly The location is amazing and we eat out round the Marina every night...every meal was beautiful and I recommend the Sagro Steakhouse. The Marina has everything to offer and is perfect for families particulary. I am 23 and my partner 30 and we wanted a relaxing holiday and thats exactly what we got. The hotel is quiet and not for anyone looking for entertainment. Although you can use the facilities in Hotel Cala N Bosch on the other side of the small road so thats a good option for cabaret shows and a different pool for a day! We also recommend the Glass bottom boat trip around the beaches. Shows you the lovely hidden gem that is Menorca! Ignore bad reviews...these people should spend a bit more if they expect a bit more

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HayleyReading21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala'n Bosch
0.0 mi away
Smartline Cala'n Bosch
Smartline Cala'n Bosch
#7 of 13 in Cala'n Bosch
1,155 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aparthotel Paradise Club & Spa
0.3 mi away
Marinda Garden Aparthotel
Marinda Garden Aparthotel
#6 of 13 in Cala'n Bosch
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Zafiro Menorca
Zafiro Menorca
#3 of 13 in Cala'n Bosch
1,075 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casas del Lago Hotel, Spa & Beach Club - Adults Only
0.5 mi away
Sol Falco All Inclusive
Sol Falco All Inclusive
#5 of 13 in Cala'n Bosch
1,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to smartline Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about smartline Marina

Property: smartline Marina
Address: Final de la Via de Circunvalacion | Urbanizacion Cala'n Bosch, 07769 Cala'n Bosch, Minorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Cala'n Bosch
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Cala'n Bosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — smartline Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE APARTMENTS HAS BEEN REFURBISHED DURING WINTER 2014/2015. The smartline Marina is situated in the area of Cala'n Bosch on the island of Menorca, a dream location to share with your friends, partner or family, where you can enjoy an unforgettable tailor-made holiday. Quiet Mediterranean evenings with opportunities for gastronomic and leisure delights will complement your stay in the hotel. The apartment hotel is located between the beach and the marina of Cala'n Bosch, 11km from Ciutadella, second biggest town of Menorca. The aparthotel disposes of 89 one and two bedroom apartments with balcony, kitchenette with microwave, SAT TV, safe (extra cost), baths, shower, toilet. The smartline Marina is equipped with 3 swimming pools, one of which is for children, and a pool bar. The guests can also use the facilities and enjoy the entertainment program offered by the neigbouring Cala'n Bosch Hotel***. Additional local facilities for water sports lovers, cycling, horse riding, walking are available nearby the aparthotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your smartline Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi! Marina Apartamentos Hotel Cala`n Bosch
Smartline Marina Minorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing