We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely resort, apts adequate.”
Review of smartline Marina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
smartline Marina
Salisbury
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely resort, apts adequate.”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Visited calan Bosch in Aug, the resort is very nice and all bars and restaurants are with in walking distance bout 5 mins. The restaurants in the marina are generally good some were quite expensive especially the seafood bout £15-18 for a main, some of the smaller cafe/restaurants are better value and just as good. alchohol could be bit expensive in some restaurants bout 3/4 euros a pint or glass of wine. Menorca is still as unspoilt as it always was I visited 30 yrs ago and not much has changed visible police presence at 1oclock in the morning when all pubs must turn down their music and lots are closed by 1, not for party animals. apts need a bit of renovation but clean and tidy reception staff matter of fact and not over friendly. good apts fab island would go back to calan bosch!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aggie49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    128
    67
    20
    13
See reviews for
142
115
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed here for a week in July 2012 as a cheap and cheerful getaway to escape an ongoing nightmare building project at home. I was really worried before we went because of some of the reviews but honestly, it was fine and I had no complaints. Yes, the tiles are a tad brown and 70's-esque and the kitchen equipment is rather basic but the apartment was perfectly clean and comfortable. Ok so the door was falling off one of the wardrobes and the power cut out every now and then if the air con was on and too many things plugged in but nothing that caused a major problem when you are paying so little. We had an amazing sea view (see photo) so sitting out on our balcony was lovely. The pools were great for kids and the location of the apartments between the beach and resort could not be beaten with no noise at all at night. The on-site shop was a bonus too. We paid extra for the air con which was well worth it. Can't comment on the food as we didn't eat there. Definitely recommend for a perfectly satisfactory low cost holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vic&andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed at these apartments for 2 weeks in August 2 adults and 2 children age 15 & 12. Yes the apartments do need updating but as we were only sleeping and washing in the apts i could cope with the small kitchen and outdated wooden furniture. Air conditioning isn't a given although I know some rooms do have air con ours didnt. It wasn't a problem as we were on the 3rd floor and left the windows open and as we were overlooking the pool/sea had a lovely breeze which was fine. The apts are spotlessly clean and are cleaned every other day and towels changed also. The pool area opened at 10am and was great and the fact you could NOT reserve sunbeds meant there was NO mad rush. The local shop attached to the apts was very cheap. The Marina which was 5mins walk away was lovely. Lots of great restaurants and bars to choose from and I can say i was pleasantly surprised how reasonable everything was. We did go on the Amigos boat trip to Cala Galdana which was a great afternoon out and fully recommend it. Overall we had a brilliant holiday and would definetly return to Cala N Bosch and the Marina Apts. The location and surrounding area make up for the lack of mod cons

Room Tip: We stayed in room 304 which is an end apt. There is a road nearby which is subject to noise re: pi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LathamFamily644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We have just come back from these apartments and can honestly say they were lovely! By some of the other reviews I would maybe say we were lucky to get a two bedroom one with a sea view that had recently been refurbished! We had a kettle and kitchen facilities and they were clean, spacious and modern. The cleaners came every other day and replaced the bedding and towels. They are basic but no different to any other Spanish apartments we have stayed in.The plates and cups were a bit old fashioned but so what?

The only downside really is that there was a door that linked another apartment to ours - the door was locked but you could hear some noise through the door - we only used the apartment at night so this didn't bother us too much as thankfully we couldn't hear anything at night! Just occasionally the tv in the morning!

Pool Area - Was clean and there were plenty of sun beds to go round - we did prefer the pool at The Calan Bosch hotel as the pool was better for the children and was next to the beach.

Reception - Always clean and the receptionists were always helpful and co -operative. A couple of them seemed a bit abrupt at times but this could just have been the Spanish way - they were never rude or unhelpful.

Calan Bosch Hotel - The Apartments are part of the same 'Hi' group so you can use the facilities - The pool area was fantastic and clean and there were plenty of sun beds. The entertainment team were amazing they had a variety of poolside activities available for adults and children all day. The only thing I would say and this is just a comment not a criticism, is that there were maybe too many activities and people weren't able to just lie and relax without the speaker going calling people up to take part. Saying that my children LOVED it - they couldn't get enough and wanted to take part in everything! The night time disco was fab and this ruled our time in Calan Bosch as we always had to be back to take part. The song of the Summer was the Italian 'Picochio Pio' which my 3 could not get enough of!!!! The entertainment team always had a smile on their faces and basically worked their butts off!!! We never saw the evening show so I cant comment on this. The only downside with this hotel is that because we were self catering and not all inclusive the drinks were expensive - but during the day we took our own round the pool as 180 euros for a childs small drink was ridiculous.

Location - On the beach! What more could you ask for. The sunbeds on the beach were very expensive - 20 euros for 2 sunbeds and a parasol. The beach and sea were gorgeous though but got very busy in the afternoon.

Marina - Fab although too many children's tacky rides for our liking (and ive got 3 children under 9) - It reminded us of Blackpool but some people will probably like it - I however didn't go to Spain for rides! We enjoyed the band at the square and my children loved dancing their and catching the bubbles.

Restaurants - We ate in different restaurants round the Marina and they are all much of a muchness in terms of food and prices - we went to the Fiesta twice but regretted that as it was obvious that everything was frozen and nothing was cooked fresh - however my children liked the play area here.

All in all Calan Bosch is fantastic for families and we really loved our apartment - by the sounds of other reviews it seems to be luck of the draw as to whether you get one thats been refurbished! We were very lucky! Would def go back!!

Room Tip: we had room 216 which was a two bedroom appt that had just been refurbished! This was on the second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisa t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milan
Level Contributor
107 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I looked up a few reviews before booking and I got more or less what I expected.
Location – Fantastic, about 20 yds from the sea, about 200 yds from the very nice beach.
Reception – Fine. Friendly and competent, couldn’t have been better.
Public rooms – Quite nice furniture, very clean.
Bar/Café – Friendly staff.
Pools and Gardens – Always kept very clean.
Maintenance – Had a small problem and it was fixed within an hour of calling.
Room – Nice big room with a lovely view of the pools and sea. (Room 310). Furniture a bit dated but was still easy on the eye. The kitchen part had all you needed to cook a simple meal or eat something you had bought from a take away.
Items for hire – Well, a lot of things are considered extras, (air conditioning, kettle, toaster, hair dryer, room safe, beach towel, etc.) and the hotel is willing to hire them at a price. Personally, I thought the cost was quite high for nearly all the items. I only hired the room safe.
Now for the negative bit. We were two couples in two double rooms. Cleaning is only every two days. We were there 9 nights but our sheets were never changed, not even once. Shampoo etc were there when we arrived but were not left again. The cleaner did not even leave toilet paper after the first time she came and cleaned so we had to go and ask in reception after we ran out. That this happened to our room could have been an honest mistake but the same things happened to my friends in their room. I don’t honestly think I could recommend to friends a hotel which does not change the sheets from when you arrive to when you leave, even when it is more than a week (9 nights!! In summer!!).
We could have complained but should it be necessary? Does one want the stress?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lisaitalyMilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Me and my daughters stayed here from the 24th to the 31st august 2012. While the apartment was not state of the art, it was clean and comfortable. We did not expect air con, but was pleasantly surprised to find our room had it, though at a price. When the air con did not work in the lounge area, it took a couple of days for them to fix it and when I complained about it they gave me the money back for it as well as let me have free use of the air con for the rest of the week.
The location was great, near to the marina where all the restaurants were. The steak house was far the best place to eat as well as chaplains if you wanted a good priced meal. The beaches were beautiful and a short walk away you find another beach which offers lots of water activities at a price.
Aqua rock was free to use with Thomas Cook holidays and even though it was not full of lots of things to do, it was a great way to spend an afternoon.
The boat ride we went on was very reasonable in price at 18 euros and lasted all afternoon. The train ride was fun even though it was a bit over priced. The walk to the lighthouse was quick and easy.
Overall, I would highly recommend this resort and hotel to anyone. You pay for what you get and so if you want a 5 star hotel, book elsewhere. Me and my family was very happy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 2480mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

As previous posts have stated apts are in dire need of a refurb , but having said that they are in a great location , only seconds from the beach and the marina with all it's bars and restaurants . Maid service and pool area are excellent as is the on site shop , if you are willing to put up with a bit of shabbiness for a prime location these apts are very good ..

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank sawks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala'n Bosch
0.0 mi away
Smartline Cala'n Bosch
Smartline Cala'n Bosch
#7 of 13 in Cala'n Bosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
0.4 mi away
Zafiro
Zafiro
#3 of 13 in Cala'n Bosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marinda Garden Aparthotel
Marinda Garden Aparthotel
#6 of 13 in Cala'n Bosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sol Falco All Inclusive
Sol Falco All Inclusive
#5 of 13 in Cala'n Bosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,846 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casas del Lago Hotel, Spa & Beach Club - Adults Only
0.3 mi away
Aparthotel Paradise Club & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to smartline Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about smartline Marina

Property: smartline Marina
Address: Final de la Via de Circunvalacion | Urbanizacion Cala'n Bosch, 07769 Cala'n Bosch, Minorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Cala'n Bosch
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Cala'n Bosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — smartline Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE APARTMENTS HAS BEEN REFURBISHED DURING WINTER 2014/2015. The smartline Marina is situated in the area of Cala'n Bosch on the island of Menorca, a dream location to share with your friends, partner or family, where you can enjoy an unforgettable tailor-made holiday. Quiet Mediterranean evenings with opportunities for gastronomic and leisure delights will complement your stay in the hotel. The apartment hotel is located between the beach and the marina of Cala'n Bosch, 11km from Ciutadella, second biggest town of Menorca. The aparthotel disposes of 89 one and two bedroom apartments with balcony, kitchenette with microwave, SAT TV, safe (extra cost), baths, shower, toilet. The smartline Marina is equipped with 3 swimming pools, one of which is for children, and a pool bar. The guests can also use the facilities and enjoy the entertainment program offered by the neigbouring Cala'n Bosch Hotel***. Additional local facilities for water sports lovers, cycling, horse riding, walking are available nearby the aparthotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your smartline Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi! Marina Apartamentos Hotel Cala`n Bosch
Smartline Marina Minorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing