We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average with Very Poor service!”
Review of Hotel Costa Caleta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Costa Caleta
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Caleta de Fuste
Hertfordshire
1 review
“Average with Very Poor service!”
Reviewed May 8, 2008

Booked here on the basis of the mixed reviews in comparison to other hotels listed, this seemed a great option.

There were several factors for, but sadly, more for agianst.

If you come by taxi from the airport, they will drop you at the main entrance, at which you are faced with a flight of steps to the door of the lobby, further back, there is a ramp which will take you there too! Just FYI.

I had emailed the hotel requesting a double instead of a twin, so when checking in, was given a twin. I enquired about the possibilty of a double and was told "no", despite me mentioning that I had contacted with the request earlier, at no time were we offered the chance to move rooms, later on, despite being there for 11 nights. Some rooms are unavoidable by steps, so be mindful if you have lots of luggage or kids, etc.
The rooms are pleasantly decorated with no frills! TV & Safe is chargeable, AC didn't work, but the room was not cast under sunshine, so stayed quite cool. Maid service was daily; bedsheets infrequently, towels daily, dusting never!
Restaurant, was fairly quiet as not quite in season yet, so not rushed and a variable selection of hot food daily. However, if you have the pleasure to be in the restaurant 5 mins before they close, be warned, lights go out, music stops, food gets taken away, you are made to feel you need to leave.
So you go to the bar, service here is beyond redemption, the wait is approx 15 mins at a time and you can only get 2 drinks. They even ran out of Vodka one day and tried to serve Tequila instead. The same girl serving the Tequila the had the nerve to make herself a shot from topshelf spirits the next day!
The terrace is a great place to relax, as not many up there, but if you fancy a snack from the bar, you have to go downstairs to the pool bar, wait in the "disorderly" queue, then order/wait for the food/drinks and take the lift back up, one of which is out of order, so if the lift is busy, forget it, it took me 30 mins from going down, to getting back up!
Should you want ice after the bar has closed, and have the misfortune of approaching Rajiv, reception manager, forget it, he is far too lazy to walk 15 meters to go behind an open bar and reach into the ice machine! Never have I encountered such a brickwall/lazy attitude!
There are some great staff working here and they will make your stay enjoyable, but there are some that should not be there, you will be able to decide for yourself, who they are!?
Overall, a good place that is let down by service, management and lack of staff, which is a fundamental. If you get a cheap deal here, then you are getting what you pay for, so don't be disappointed!
Check out the Kings Arms Pub for friendly service and the China Restaurante for great chinese (non buffet) food.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank herts2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    1,059
    791
    347
    212
See reviews for
952
1,370
59
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (661)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2008

cwe just came back from staying a at the costa calleta it was very clean rooms we had all inclusive food was okay very strict not alowed to take anything out of dining room manager always telling guests off if they tried no sunbeds free after ten all taken w ith towells now we dont drink alchol but drink coffe cold drinks you can stand at the one small bar where there is one girl eearvigs she is in and out of the kitchen cooking i was so fed up of waiting we bought from supermarket all the guests we spoke to said they could wait up to 45minuites to get searved coffee machine runs out constantly we did tell thomas cook rep and he watched and agreed somthing needs to be done as it is not the busy season yet so god help any guests then i love the island of fuert and will be going back we always stay all inc every h oliday but have never experianced anything like the costa calleta if you enjoy a drink god help all

  • Liked — our rooms were spotless maids every day
  • Disliked — the constant guests moaning about the service day and night at bar
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathrynWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Caleta de Fuste hotels

Montrose, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2008

hotel is spotless and cosmetically a lovely place to relax, the pool area is lovely and not too busy, we always got a sunbed.
however.......... the food was average - good, ( had worse ), but the service for refreshments was absolutely diabolical !!! not the staffs fault, the manager has one girl running around serving drink and having to cook as well, during the day, for the whole hotel !!! One girl even broke down crying with all the pressure and guests shouting at her, it was a shame.
For this reason, I would not recommend the hotel. it defeats the purpose of going all inclusive when you cant even get served in the first place.
Entertainment at night was virtually non existant and the background music was crap.
Theres not much around and about, a few bars and shops , the usual, once you'd been once that was it.....
The day out at oasis park on the island is highly recommended, it was fab ! however I recommend hiring a car to go with friends or as a family, because the tour operators are charging a fortune to get in etc, We spent the whole day there and the restaurants were very reasonable for food n drink.

  • Liked — cleanliness of rooms and lovely pool area
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank koalabearbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east mids
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2008

I stayed in the hotel end of march for 7 days.
The hotel is only 7 miles from the airport (one way taxi £12) and very close to the flight path (you can read the names on the plane's)
Hotel is located 10 min walk from sandy beach , 2 mins from rocky coast and very close to restaurants and shops.
Hotel - is very clean and has a modern feel to it.
Reception - staff are very pleasant and english speaking also 24hr.
Rooms - very clean and bright with tv (charged daily) sheets changed once in the week and towels changed daliy .
The pool bar - is slow one person serving between two bars also doing food so you do have to wait (no wonder the girl serving looks un happy with all that work)
The night bar - service is good but can be busy just before and after the kids mini disco,entertainment ls poor.
Restaurant - is clean with all inclusive at back and buffet service HB at front with table service.
Food - breakfast is good but lunch and evening meals cold and not great choice (Pizza is good ) would recomend going B&B.
Pools- one heated one cold very clean but small amount of sunbeds but they do have mats and the sunbeds by 9am have been reserved with towels (sorry to say the Brits being the worst for this)
Roof top - roof top has sunbeds with mats, 2 jacuzzi's, small pool , kids pool and bar (but it was closed) can be very windy up there also has crazy golf
overall enjoyed my stay here Costa caleta its self I found a very quiet place so if your after a chilled holiday its ideal.

  • Liked — cleanliness and pools
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bad_don
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2008

Just returned from a really relaxing stay at the Costa Caleta Hotel. We booked on a B & B basis & found the breakfasts to be of an acceptable standard & had a good choice from cereals, cold meats & cheeses to traditional style cooked. I cant say we had any problems with the cooked food being too cold.
Staff on reception were courteous & helpful.
The hotel was very clean at all times.
As we dont really enjoy the cattle market style of sunbathing - ie all the beds practically touching next to each other, to be able to use the rooftop sunbathing area was great as it was quiet, spacious & never busy. (To cool off there are 2 jacuzzis & a small pool on the roof, although the water in them is pretty cold!)
There did appear to be nightly entertainment in the hotel but this was geared towards families with children or older couples. We are a couple in our 30s, so it wasnt to our taste, however we went to restaurants each night & spent lazy evenings lingering over good food & drink.
There a a few decent restaurants that arent "too English" although if thats your thing, there are plenty of English style bars serving Steak pie & chips, Roast Dinners etc.
The restaurants we would recommend are Nestors which is at the side of the Hotel Caleta Gardens - its got a slightly Caribbean feel to it, & the chefs recommendations are spot on. Fado Rock do good steaks as does La Fuente, & El Patio has a good selection of pretty much everything, Styraki is a small Greek restaurant also in the same area & food was very nice there - all the restaurants are within about 600 yards of each other aswell!
The resort itself is very clean & quite compact & easy to get around.
Feeding the chipmunks on the cliffs on the coastal road was good fun aswell - they seem to prefer pistachio nuts to anything else - ie peanuts or biscuits !
The only very slight negative - & we think this may be more of a problem during the summer months when it gets busier, are the annoying people trying to sell timeshare - but in a very underhand way! They give you a couple of scratchcards - one of which will reveal you have won a teeshirt, whilst surprise surprise with the other you have won the star prize of either €600, a camcorder or a holiday ! They then try to say that if you go with them "to a nearby hotel to claim your prize" that they have also won a €100 bonus - thats just them trying to make you feel guilty when you say you dont want to go with them to a hotel for "a 90 minute chat"!! Oh & they mention thaht you need a Visa card to claim your prize - how dodgy !
Caleta de Fuste is a great place for a relaxing, chilled out holiday.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boris23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hillingdon middx
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2008

The hotel was clean BUt sad to say that was it, IF you like cold food I do mean most of the time bacon allright warm( BUT COLD fried EGGS) no way then its the hotel for you, if you like drinking from PLASTIC cups in the lounge at night then again this is the hotel for you, yes you expect to be served with a plastic cup around the pool, that s if you can get served at all. some times waiting around 10mins to be served, not the girl serving fault, because she had to many jobs to do at the same time in the day. The hotel facitilties on the roof just did not happen hench when you needed a drink you had to go down to the pool bar, so up and down all the time. One plus the front desk staff were very helpful indeed. I have stayed at many AI around the world, this was the worst by far.

  • Liked — he front desk staff
  • Disliked — cold food/plastic cups in the evening
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tandie_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2008

Have just returned from a two week break in the Costa Caleta Hotel. There has been some confusion regarding the name and place of this hotel which we found frustrating before we left. However, since being there, we realise that several names on the island have been changed including the town. Up to about two years ago the place was known as Caleta de Fuste. Apparently "fuste" in Scotland means something like "smelly" and because of this they lost many Scottish clients. Therefore they renamed it Costa Caleta. However, if you are anticipating getting a taxi from the airport to the resort ask for "El Castillo" rather than "Costa Caleta". You will be charged about 8 euros less because the taxi drivers feel that you know more about the area than you actually do! A piece of advice given to us by a tourist operator on the island.

The hotel was spotless, with towels changed every day. A nice touch is that you can hire beach towels for 5 euros a day. This is refundable on the return of the towel. Therefore you can actually have clean towels in your room and on the beach every day without adding to the weight in your case.

We have noted the various comments on the food, which we do not agree, as we found the food excellent. There were meat, fish and vegetarian options at every evening meal. We chose not to go fully inclusive and were pleased because there are a lot of sandwich bars and restaurants in the area which it was nice to try. Unfortunately we found the area rather too English with a lot of hamburger/pizza/fast food outlets. Still if this is your want then you will enjoy it.

The roof top bar was not open during our stay but was due to open this week (the beginning of their summer). We found the service in the bar in the evening variable and most of the staff were unable to charge the same amount for the same drinks on the same evening. You do need to keep an eye on this. I suppose it has something to do with the all inclusive clients who obviously do not have to pay for their drinks.

The staff in the restaurant were polite and helpful. They cleared your tables and laid clean clothes after every client had used them. The pasta chef was helpful and cooked your pasta to order. Obviously providing this service meant that you had to wait a little longer for your food, but it was well worth it. I have read feedback on the chip front. If you do not like thin chips, then I would say avoid having the chips and go for Spanish alternatives which are always on the menu. Yes fish was served every evening, but what more could you expect when Fuerteventura is an island and its main food source is fish. Most of the Spanish restaurants locally also serve fish.

All in all, this was a very good holiday and the hotel was well worth a visit.

  • Liked — The cleanliness
  • Disliked — No windows to open
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Pygmy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caleta de Fuste
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
0.5 mi away
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
#7 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
2,474 reviews
1.1 mi away
Elba Lucia Sport & Suite Hotel
Elba Lucia Sport & Suite Hotel
#9 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Caleta Garden
Caleta Garden
#18 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
1,316 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Elba Carlota
Hotel Elba Carlota
#5 of 27 in Antigua
4,016 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort
Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort
#6 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
4,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costa Caleta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Caleta

Property: Hotel Costa Caleta
Address: Avenida Alcalde Juan Ramon Soto Morales s/n, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua > Caleta de Fuste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Costa Caleta 3*
Number of rooms: 308
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Costa Caleta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Costa Caleta Hotel
Ocean Costa Caleta De Fuste
Hotel Costa Caleta Fuerteventura/Caleta De Fuste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing