We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location and Decent Hotel”
Review of Hotel Costa Caleta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Costa Caleta
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Caleta de Fuste
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good Location and Decent Hotel”
Reviewed January 29, 2012

I travelled in September 2011 with my partner and another couple. We stayed in Caleta four years ago and really liked the resort hence our return.

The Hotel Costa Caleta has a good location being a five minute walk to the resort centre and the ocean front. It was clear how popular this hotel is by the fact that 90% of our coach (which was full) were staying there and this I imagine is largely due to it being reasonably priced for an all inclusive. It is important to begin with the reality that this hotel is 3 star therefore good for those wanting a cheap getaway in the sun, not for those wanting peace and luxury.

In terms of check in we arrived at about 10pm and there was only one staff member to check in hence very lengthy wait times. The quality of the food was good some days and poor others. Breakfast was the nicest meal, dinner at times was very poor hence many choosing to eat out particularly on BBQ night. Its a large buffet so you will probably find something you like most of the time. The quality of drinks was decent my only issue being the all inclusive stopping at 11pm then 'happy hour' commencing where drinks could be purchased but again this stopped at midnight. Most nights we went out in to the resort therefore I cant comment on the quality of the entertainment but we would check what was on each evening and it never appealed to our party.

The sun lounger issue around the main pool was ridiculous I hope this has been sorted; the loungers were unchained around 9.00am and people would almost be fighting over them bearing in mind this wasn't high season I dread to think what those having to go in school holidays would experience. There were hardly any sun umbrellas to go around. The 'adult only' roof terrace was the best place to get some peace and you could generally get a lounger up there at any time. It would have been good if the bar on the roof terrace opened for longer than four hours as the rest of the time you had to go down to the main pool bar for drinks. Our room was nice, felt big and had a modern en-suite. We rarely used our balcony though as it was over the kitchens and a side alley not very nice views. For what we paid this hotel was reasonable and gave us what we wanted a bargain break in the sunshine. On our previous trip we stayed at the Broncemar Beach Hotel and I have to say when we return in the future we are likely to pay that bit extra and stay at the Broncemar as for us it had a nicer feel.

The resort of Caleta is beautiful! Big enough to have a nice atmosphere but small enough to give you that peace and quiet. We went out most nights, there are a dozen or so really good bars that are reasonably priced and all within five minutes distance of each other. We ate out a few times, the restaurants differ in price depending what you fancy but I can say from going self catering on our previous visit the food generally is a good quality in resort. The main beach is man made (not a problem for us) but the sea is amazing you can see lots of fish. Our friends went on a jet-ski in the harbour and loved it. Not sure when but we will definitely be back to the resort of Caleta.

Our Top Tip: Go on a trip to the Water park, its reasonably priced and we had such a fun time!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tykechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    1,023
    765
    331
    204
See reviews for
900
1,323
59
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (644)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Stayed here in June/July of 2011 and having read the reviews travelled with an open mind. We needn't have worried. Upon our arrival we were dealt with quickly and sufficiently and told that there was still food available in the dining room as we were a late arrival (about 9pm). Although the food was slightly disappointing that evening due to the time, we were not deterred. The food was lovely right the way through our stay, always hot and a wide variety of fish and meat, so there is something for everyone.
Our room was clean and spacious with no problems. Although the beds were two singles pushed together we were not bothered as when we booked we book the promo twin room so this was not an issue. Our room also had a third pull out bed that was also a chair which was comfy enough to sit on.
The all inclusive worked well. You were given a wristband upon your arrival but were made aware that all bars operate a 2 drink per person maximum each time. This was fine as measures were as good. The honey rum became our favourite for the holiday. All the staff were friendly and enjoyed it if you attempted to speak Spanish to them. Be prepared to que of an evening though as there is not a lot to do in the area. One bar maid took a particular liking to my OH as he always ordered in Spanish. She really appreciated the effort.
The pools were lovely, if not a little cold! But it was refreshing after lying in the sun. The roof terrace was beautiful, the views were amazing.
The hotel is situated close to local amenities like bars and restaurants and the normal tourist shops. The beach was no more than a 10 minute walk away if you knew which way to go. The scenic route takes much longer but it is so beautiful, it made the holiday!
Overall, it was a bit too quiet for us but I'm sure we could be persuaded to revisit. I would recommend to anyone looking for a relaxing holiday in the sun!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

just returned from a great week at the costa caleta 25/01/12 hotel pools very cold mainly because they are in the shade most of the day. only problem with the hotel none of the rooms had a fridge or cooler but nights where cold so not to bad must be more of an issue in the summer months.the beach and harbour 5 mins walk as well as shops bars and lots of restaurants. the food in the hotel was great good choice for everyone and the best for breakfast i have had in years. if you want to sunbathe the roof top terrace is the best place and because the hotel was full the bar was open up there from 11am to 3pm if you want entertainment its by the pool bar where you can help yourself to beer sangria hot and cold drinks as well as chips burgers hotdogs so no restrictions inside bars two drinks per person. the entertainment team work very hard day and night on there days off hotel provide good shows.would advise people to book 2/3 weeks before to get the best deals.

Room Tip: rooms on the third floor overlooking pools seem best and close to terrace area fourth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank robinevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2012

The hotel staff were polite and friendly upon arrival, however our room was on the dark side of the hotel which never got any sun all day. It was quite cold and we had nowhere to dry off towels etc when kids had been in pool. Did ask 4 times to be moved but was always told come back in an hour then it changed to maybe tomorrow. I gave up in the end and decided to just put up with being cold,did get some extra blankets though thanks for that. Food was not bad enjoyed it for the first few days but seemed to go down hill last part of holiday. There was always a variety of food to choose from and my kids really enjoyed being able to sample different things each meal time. The entertainment area was too small and some selfish people would leave drinks on the table whilst they went off to get dinner meaning you had to scramble to find a table often with us all separated from each other until the older ones went off to bed after the bingo. The entertainment team (Sammi, Keir and Michelle) were brilliant and were so energetic and full of life they really made the night. As already mentioned in other reviews the pool didnt get much sun and by 4pm there was none. The roof top terrace was good but a bit too chilly for the time of year on most days we were there. I did enjoy most of my stay at the costa caleta but I think the room issue was the down fall so if booking this hotel I would request the front of the hotel which had sun all day.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
141 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

I travelled to this hotel from 7 jan - 14 Jan with my partner and another couple. We are aged 25-30. We paid £1100 in total for this week all inclusive for the 4 of us so it was a bargain.

We got a family room which turned out to be two separate rooms with an ajoining door so was ideal.

On landing at the airport it was a 10min transfer to hotel and the whole bus went to the one hotel so no drop offs.

Although a large number of guests checking in, Reception were quick an efficient.

Our rooms 3075 and 3077 were clean and spacious. Bathroom did have a hairdryer but girls still bring your own. There is a TV in the room but you need to pay extra for it!!!! 3euros a day i believe. The balacony had a table but no chairs??

The pool area is quite shaded at this time of year so i recommend the roof top terrace but get up early to get a good spot as can be windy. There is a pool and jacuzzi which are nice but were ice cold.

The hotel has wifi but again you need to pay extra and there is internet computers which cost 10cents a minute.

The food - I am not fussy so i could always find something to eat. I would say lunch and breakfast were best choice and dinner was just ok. The hotel was full so meal times could be a bit hectic which i hate on holiday. There was always pizza and chips if your struggling although i certainly didnt go hungry.

The all inclusive drinks ended and 11pm and there is only one bar in the evening. the queue was never that bad considering amount of guests. the entertainment at night was ok nothing fantastic.

I have to agree with the standards of guests in that we had a problem with our neighbours who were extremely noisy. They were extremely rude when we asked them about it and caused a bit of a scene. They went on to try and spoil our holiday. The hotel were aware to the problems as there had been numerous complaints regarding the family.

All in all for the price of this holiday we had a great cheap week in the sun..if we had wanted luxury we would have paid for it!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

after reading reviews arrived with husband, daughter and 3 year old granddaughter with mixed emotions. greeted by a very friendly receptionist, checked in and found our room, not what we booked (booked interconnecting rooms not 1 family room) so back down to reception, we were given new rooms straight away with no hassle. Rooms very clean and looked as if they had been refurbished. Unfortunately there was a teenager with learning difficulties in the room next to my granddaughter and made an unacceptable amount of noise at all times of the night and early hours of the morning, so after 2 nights we asked to be moved and again cannot fault the hotels reception team, they moved us straight away. Again was very pleased with the standard of the rooms. Hotel pool area does not get a lot of sun this time of year so the scramble for the sunbeds that were in the sun was a daily occurrence.
Food was very repetitive, breakfast was the best meal of the day, lunch acceptable, dinner very hit and miss. Entertainment team were brilliant working very hard making sure people were having a good time. Hotel in a central position, easy to get to shopping areas and beautiful beach, for a cheap break it was ok but you get what you pay for, would return to area but a different hotel

Room Tip: avoid rooms above kitchens can be very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank kaz3105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Positives: Clean and comfy. Beautiful nearby scenery. All staff in hotel polite and charming and good fun. Manager brilliant.

Negatives: THE FOOD WAS AWFUL! Basically, the food tasted like it was recycled from the previous meals. If you liked pasta and salad then you were fine for the week however if not you were reduced to eating jelly and ice cream for all meals. The food and even the drinks were very watered down. Chicken curry? No way! Watered with powdered spice and hunt the chook begin! haha. Entertainment staff of 3 were very good given that their stage had no curtain and was like an upside box, tiny! Lots of childrens enertainment, which was good. But there was not any time for adult type entertainment like a cabarett or show. Drinks are served in a plastic tumbler including cocktails. Felt like children. Oh and take a not slip mat or put a towel down on the inside of your bath because i slid and bruised all of my back, bum, face and arms!

To conclude, finally...this should not be a 3.5 star would say one up from BUTLINS in 1970's.

Was to be an enjoyable break for our 20th anniversary to relax but a bit disappointed to be honest. Cost £1000 but could have taken the royal family on tour of butlins for this! Wont be back or recommended. Sorry...

Room Tip: Be specific on needs. i am disabled and had to request a room to suit me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mojo1133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Caleta de Fuste hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caleta de Fuste hotels
0.5 mi away
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
#7 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
2,418 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
0.4 mi away
Broncemar Beach
Broncemar Beach
#10 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
3,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Caleta Garden
Caleta Garden
#14 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
1,266 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Elba Sara
Hotel Elba Sara
#3 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
3,649 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort
Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort
#6 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
4,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costa Caleta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Caleta

Property: Hotel Costa Caleta
Address: Avda Alcalde Juan Ramon Soto Morales s/n, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua > Caleta de Fuste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Costa Caleta 3*
Number of rooms: 308
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Costa Caleta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Costa Caleta Hotel
Ocean Costa Caleta De Fuste
Hotel Costa Caleta Fuerteventura/Caleta De Fuste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing