We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It won't be your worst holiday... or your best!”
Review of Club Montecastillo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Montecastillo
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Caleta de Fuste
Reviewed July 30, 2006

Was so worried about this holiday after all the negative reviews but have to say it wasn't as bad as I was fearing... wasn't as good as the brochure looked either though...
Pool are was clean and had loads of sun loungers and pool was clean (if a little cold!) Since we spent the majority of our day at the pool I was therefore quite happy! Rooms left a lot to be desired though. We were in H4 which is directly outside the Malibu bar. This means you can't open your windows cos of the greasy smell coming from their kitchen and we were woken at 8am every morning with there music starting. Also not sure whose smart idea it was to put the table tennis table directly below our balcony but it didn't give us much privacy.
There is an ant problem due to the general upkeep of the apartments being quite poor - they come in the holes in walls, gaps around windows etc and cleanliness wasn't great (room only cleaned twice and this just meant making, not changing bed and emtying bin).
Compared to 5 years ago when I was last in Fuerteventura, have to say it is getting very run down and the English so probabl;y won't go back again but had a nice enough holiday and have got a great tan so won't complain too much!!

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank YakYak1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 160 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2006

We just got back from Club Montecastillo and totally enjoyed it! We'd read many reviews beforehand and some were worrying to say the least, but we encountered none of the problems others seem to have had and had a great time! The complex was clean and smart, the staff on reception were very helpful and the facilities were better than expected. We didn't expect five-star, especially for the bargain price we got the apartment (only £106 the week) but it was a pleasant surprise to fine the complex and the apartment itself was of a much higher standard than some nearby complexes we'd stayed in previously in Caleta.
The pool was big and clean, the apartment itself was very clean and well-equiped. Maid service good - three times a week. We had none of the problems with ants or cockroaches that some reviews had mentioned - lucky or the norm?? The Malibu bar on-site was fantastic! The owners went out of their way to make everyone feel welcome - with a two hour happy "hour" each evening and a huge FREE paella on the Sunday. They got to know their customers and did all they could to make them happy - especially those with children.
The complex is a short walk from the montecastillo centre with supermarkets and bars, and only a slightly longer walk to the main town centre with a large choice of restaurants and bars - and the beach of course! There is a mini "train" which takes you to the town centre every half hour or so, or the taxis are very cheap for the short journey down the hill - especially welcome coming back up the hill after an evening out!
Overall i'd totally recommend Club Montecastillo to anyone, and we'lll certainly be going back. As I say, it's not five star, but you get excellent value for the price you pay and the friendliness of the staff certaily makes it a good choice all round.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SteveTutbury88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Merseyside
13
Reviewed June 6, 2006

I was extremely worried about the last minute holiday I had booked to Club Montecastillo after reading the other reviews. I am sorry to say i found most of what they say to be true!
The rooms are tatty and badly in need of renovation. Our balcony was so dirty with bird poo we didnt use it once during the holiday. The ants really are a problem, although I was expecting them after reading other reviews at first they didnt seem too bad as they were smaller than average and seemed bearable for just the week. When I started getting our clothes from the wardrobe and finding them covered (not just ours but my 5 and 1 year olds) in ants I had no option but to clean them and then leave them in our cases for the rest of the holiday.

The Montecastillo pool is ok and the Malibu beach bar is lovely with really nice staff but I am afraid that is the only positive thing I can find to say. The pool at the Elite complex is much nicer than others and we didnt even try the Fuerteventura Beach Club pool because it looked so bad!

I am sorry to say that the accomodation is what lets the complex down everything else was ok. I decided not to complain so it may be my own fault but I was told by another guest that a lot of other rooms had cockroaches as well as ants which made me decide I would try to bare the room we had (H4) for the week! In the 7 days we were there a maid came only twice and both times she did not clean very well just made beds and changed towels.

The resort of Caleta de Fuste is lovely however and we would defineltetely go back but obviously stay somewhere nicer and closer to the beach front where most of the main restaurants and bars are located.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Kent
17
Reviewed March 15, 2006

We booked this holiday on Last Minute in the January. We only wanted a cheap week away which is what we got. We expected the place to be basic, but we didnt expect it to be damp and no cleaners.

When we arrived our names were not on the list for a room, so we had to wait an hour whilst they rang the head office of last minute/med hotels in Tenerife.
We were not the only ones who had to wait, some people had to wait 2 even 3 hours to get their room.

Once we got the room, which was the Monte Castillo side of the complex and at the front near reception, it didnt seem too bad. We even had a new iron and microwave and kettle. All you need really. But as the week went on it got worse.

The bed sheets were only changed once (2 days after arrival), we didnt get clean towels all week. The ones we did have didnt smell to fresh either. The bedroom smelt damp and the pillows and sheets were damp too. There was constant condensation on the windows. The bathroom was clean apart from the ants around the toilet.

There are 3 pools only one of which was in use. The workmen started around 8am every morning on the pool at the rear of our apartment which wasnt too bad but would have been nice without it.

The Staff were mostly on another planet. In fact they didnt seem interested in the place at all.

The Zanzibar Bar was the best part!

In fact we wont be going back to Caleta De Fuste, as we found the town to be run down since 2 years ago and it is far to British, too many Pubs, English Breakfasts and Roast Dinners!!!! Have a word its meant to be Spain, Paella, Sangria and Sun.

In fact if it hadnt been for the fabulous weather it would have been quite a disappointing holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2005

Found the apartments to be ok ( apart from the ants). reception provided us with a spray which got rid of them for a couple of hours but then a new batch arrived. Eventually just learnt to put up with them. Accomodation is basic. 2 out of the 3 pools are ok but the one at the beach club is shabby and run down. Also there is alot of building work going on around the beach club. Staff were friendly but timeshare people can get on your nerves. My advice is get out of your apartment early (before 10am) and you will avoid them. It is meant to be a 3 star resort but I would be reluctant to give it 2. Maid service twice a week but we soon discovered that they just swept everything under the bed. The aircraft noise was awful, especially on the change over days when it started at 7am and through the day till 10/11pm ( no double glazing). We paid £197 each so i suppose you get what you paid for. Feel sorry for the people who do own timeshares there as I would want my money back. Overall the place has gone down hill and has past its point of return. Will not be returning EVER!!!

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank woodwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
hull uk
116
Reviewed August 21, 2005

We stayed in the Club Montecastillo apartments for a week and in that time we never saw a cleaner clean sheets or towels we complained that no cleaner had been and the day they arrived they stole a mobile phone camera and gold bracelet. The staff are very rude and are not interseted in the slightest we paid £160 for 1 week for 3 people do not get caught out with the travel companies even the money we paid was a rip of

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Gli appartamenti più silenziosi sono quelli che non affacciano sulle piscine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Megatappo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caleta de Fuste hotels
0.7 mi away
Villa Florida
Villa Florida
#8 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
537 reviews
1.0 mi away
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
#2 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
784 reviews
0.4 mi away
Broncemar Beach
Broncemar Beach
#12 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
3,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Costa Caleta
Hotel Costa Caleta
#10 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
3,101 reviews
1.3 mi away
Elba Lucia Sport & Suite Hotel
Elba Lucia Sport & Suite Hotel
#9 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
1,417 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Montecastillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Montecastillo

Address: C San Francisco s n 35610 | Calete de Fuste, 35600 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua > Caleta de Fuste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Caleta de Fuste
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Montecastillo 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 1 bedroom bungalows set in sub tropical gardens, close to the poolside, pool bar, Jacuzzi and Gymnasium, will accommodate up to 4 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Club Montecastillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Montecastillo Hotel Caleta De Fuste
Montecastillo Hotel Caleta De Fuste
Club Montecastillo Fuerteventura/Caleta De Fuste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing