We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get what you pay for”
Review of Club Montecastillo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Montecastillo
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Caleta de Fuste
Reviewed July 31, 2013

POSITIVES:
Fairly clean.
Room consisted of: Ceiling fans. Safe. Microwave. Kettle. Toaster. 2 hob cooker. TV. Bath & shower. Fridge freezer - although the freezers door had been ripped off so didn't actually work.
Lots of storage space.
Use of 3 pools - although there was only one baby pool that our 2 year old could stand up in.
Use of Gym and volleyball court.

NEGATIVES:
Very dated - needs modernising.
Sofa bed was disgusting - in terms of stains.
Huge cockroaches.
Outside table collapsed every time we moved it.
Fridge door handle was falling off.
Flushing the toilet whilst draining the bath = major leak!
Arrived Saturday with first change of bed sheets on Tuesday. Bed was then made on Thursday but sheets weren't changed. So basically one change of sheets within 7 days.
Arrived Saturday but wasn't given a hair dryer until Monday, having asked twice.
Sun beds were terrible. All need to be binned and new ones bought.

OTHER:
15 min walk to beach.
Gorgeous breeze.
Supermarket near by.
Pavements within surrounding area were terrible - some of the pavements were just a mixture of gravel and sand, so no good for a pushchair.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Whitters_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 160 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed in a private 2 bed bungalow that was fairly modern just opposite the very friendly Malibu bar. The pool area could do with a revamp and the sunbeds could do with updating but we had no problem getting beds each day. The weather was very hot and the pool cold so we spent a lot of time in the pool. The cooking facilities were basic but we managed a decent meal for 8 people one night. Eating and drinking out on the patio until 11pm each night was brilliant.The Zanzibar across the road from reception is good and friendly and the restaurant below that does decent meals. It is a fair walk to town but easy enough as is the walk to the large supermarket by the beach. The taxi trip back with the shopping is about 3/4 Euros. We are going back again in August to see friends and the kids can't wait. This resort is not to everyone's tastes if you want fully modern and updated, but we had a really good value family holiday and were sad to leave.

Room Tip: Near the pool if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ErnieTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Read all reveiws and agree that it is in need of maintenance.However this is the only place which supply self -catering microwave,kettle,toaster,iron,and even a juice blender...all free in the room.
The pool is clean,and the walk if not disabled only will take 15 mins max to the beach ..
You pay for what you get ..if you dont spend all day being bored in your room then no dramas.!!
A good base and the reception staff very pleasant and helpfull..
Had a small pillow so asked to get another,light bulb not working..all sorted within hours..
Towels changed regular and sheets done once in our week stay..

Room Tip: near the pool ,they look more updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liiinso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

The site is very very tired and does not seem to of hadany maintenance for a very long time .The pathways along the road in to the site are discusting and seem to of never being finished off when the site was originally built. The three pools are all dirty with sediment and leaves floating in them .Around the pool behind the wall at the montecastillo part of the complex there were three sun grass parasols just thrown on the ground and it was obvious they had been there for some time as they all had weeds growing up through them.I reported to the site manager about these things but nothing was done while i stayed there.I was not enformed that the door locks had to be ternedtwice to open them and twice to close which i found frustrating on my first atempt .In my apartment the balcony doors were jamed and a man came to repair them and he had to resess the striker but he did not have a hammer to use with his chisel he had to use the hadle of one of his screwdrivers if that is not a COW BOY i do not know what is! The sofer was as hard as stone and the material was far from clean.When i looked around the apartment a bit more i found cobwebs in all corners and ants in the bath room also there was a split in the bottom of the bath. The final straw was when i put my bar of soap on the holder it slid off on to the floor .The reviews i read before i went must of been of a completely different Montecastillo that i went to .I also read it was up a slight incline 2-300 meters from the sea .I was half way up a mountain and almost as far away from the beech as you could get .My final description of this site is it reminds me of a rundown council estate and the council have not got any money to spend ..

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GIVEMESTREGTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Just returned from a 2 week stay, in one of the 2 bedroom apartments. On arrival we were allocated an apartment the furthest away from the pool, after asking if there was anything closer we were moved the next day. This apartment was better, with a microwave and extra arm chair in in the living room.
The apartments are a good size and well equipped, just need updating. Good size pool and you had the choice of 3. It's a shame the jacuzzi was not working and the air hockey table, it would have been best to have taken it away.
I would advise anyone staying on the island to hire a car, it is so much easier to get about and to see some of the fantastic sights and beaches. Most evenings we drove into town as it was about a 15mib walk back to the apartment up a hill

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank Rumours1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

You get what you pay for and these apartments are basic but clean and great value for money.
My only complaint were the sunbeds around the pools, most were broken with the better ones being around the Elite pool. The patio furniture was old and discoloured but surprisingly comfortable. The apartment was cleaned twice in the week. The Zanzibar was a nice place for a drink. It is about 15 mins walk to town at a slow pace. The staff were all nice and very helpful. Don't arrange transport from airport as a taxi is about £13 euros each way.
The town itself has a lot of lovely places to eat, our favourites were Margarita, Taj, 15 and La Taberna del Capitan.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keef1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Some 40 units have been sold off and are independent of the original Club, and the original Club does not intervene or take action on any faults. These are controlled by a man named Alex. I advise you to NOT deal with this man. He promises everything and delivers next to nothing.
Our apartment was supposed to be one of his "Luxury" apartments, which had been redecorated and new kitchen and bathroom fitments installed. Unfortunately the essentials were missing such as extra bed linen for change over. When we eventually received these they were soiled (including blood stains) and obviously hadn't been washed. A washing machine was promised for the bathroom and NEVER materialised during 2 months. There was no toothbrush holder nor soap dish nor shelf or cabinet for toiletries. (our toilet bags had to lie on the floor) The bathroom had a distinct sewage smell which didn't disappear as the toilet leaked constantly from the bottom. Despite repeated calls for action, Alex did not appear, and this was the story from many other couples on the site. It appeared to be a case of "take the money and run".
There had been no sound proofing done, so we were subjected to all the bathroom sounds from both neighbours.

Room Tip: By all means book with the original club,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donnied010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caleta de Fuste hotels
0.7 mi away
Villa Florida
Villa Florida
#8 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
537 reviews
0.4 mi away
Broncemar Beach
Broncemar Beach
#12 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
3,470 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Costa Caleta
Hotel Costa Caleta
#9 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
3,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
#2 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
798 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Elba Sara
Hotel Elba Sara
#3 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
3,964 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Montecastillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Montecastillo

Address: C San Francisco s n 35610 | Calete de Fuste, 35600 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua > Caleta de Fuste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Caleta de Fuste
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Montecastillo 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 1 bedroom bungalows set in sub tropical gardens, close to the poolside, pool bar, Jacuzzi and Gymnasium, will accommodate up to 4 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Club Montecastillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Montecastillo Hotel Caleta De Fuste
Montecastillo Hotel Caleta De Fuste
Club Montecastillo Fuerteventura/Caleta De Fuste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing