We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better then I expected!”
Review of Club Montecastillo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Montecastillo
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Caleta de Fuste
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Better then I expected!”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

I booked this for a cheap and cheerful break but was a little concerned after reading some reviews. The appt we had was located toward the back of the complex it was basic, a little dated but spotless. My bedding and towels were changed twice in my week stay. Reception staff were very helpful updating me on my transfer and helping with bus timetables etc. The resort was quiet but that is what we were after. There is a downhill to get into the town which didn't cause us a problem it burnt off some of the extra calories. As we were out of peak season the pools were quiet and we always got a sun lounger and the bar did a happy hour at lunch time. We only had a couple of drinks in Zanzibar which were reasonably priced the food menu looked a bit more pricey but we didn't try it. Don't expect too much from the entertainment. I would however go back as it was cheap and suited our needs.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank talk2jode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    46
    40
    21
    21
See reviews for
42
69
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Just back from a week long stay in Club Montecastillo. My first thoughts are, I wouldn't go back. Now, it wasn't terrible--no cockroaches and only a few ants. The cleaning lady came by to change the sheets at least 3 times during the week and my husband and I didn't find the hill to be as obtrusive as some of the other reviewers (possibly because it wasn't all that warm while we were there). There are a lot of cats but I found it more charming than bothersome. I suppose my poor review is more a warning to expect less and hopefully be surprised with more. Our two bedroom self catering apartment was adequate. There was a toaster, kettle, dishes, a few pans, and a microwave. There are two small shops, 2 pool bars, and a few restaurants all within 2 min walking distance of the accommodation, however, be forewarned, this area of the Island (including most places in town) doesn't offer nice food. They offer "ok" food--some places better service than others but overall, very mediocre eatings.The pool was ice cold. The sheraton down the road offers a heated pool and "spa" experience for €20/person which we only were willing to pay for because we were desparate for swimming and bored out of our skulls. We didn't have any problems with break-ins and the people at the front desk were helpful in guiding us to transport to Correlejo and into town. I imagine that staying in a nicer place would have helped the overall experience of Fuerteventura, however, the island itself isn't beautiful, exciting, or even all that relaxing. Apartment was run down and the furniture quite uncomfortable. Also, the bathroom was worn down. Overall, it wasn't the worst place I've ever stayed, but it is far from the best. Save your pennies and go somewhere worth seeing--Hawaii, Mexico, etc.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Laurel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Caleta de Fuste hotels

North Devon
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We spent two very relaxing weeks here at the beginning of February - the accommodation was clean and spacious with a good sized terrace (a lovely suntrap) and there were sufficient kitchen utensils and crockery to make simple meals on the two ring hob. There was a kettle and toaster supplied and on request at reception a microwave was provided (at no extra charge), so we were able to expand our menu to include jacket potatoes, frozen pizza and lasagne! The complex is well laid out with attractive gardens and pleasant pool with plenty of sunbeds available. During our stay it was very quiet with only a few of the apartments in use (single storey terraced bungalow style) - there are only 20 units owned by Elite Club Resorts out of a total of 101 with some of the others being privately owned. Reception was open every day from 8am until midnight and all of the staff were very friendly and helpful. We hired a car from the airport and took the opportunity of visiting most of the island during our stay - Caleta de Fuste is in an ideal position to go in any direction and we would definately stay at Montecastillo again in the future. Parking is in the road alongside the site and we could always park quite close to the main entrance. Just opposite Montecastillo is Fuerteventura Beach Club where there is a supermarket, bar and restaurant, Chez Moi. We had a couple of enjoyable meals there and in the Fiesta Centre adjacent to Beach Club we enjoyed meals at El Nidos and Restaurante Argentino. There is also a supermarket in the Fiesta Centre so no need to go right into the resort for everyday shopping. The beach at Caleta de Fuste is attractive although we tended to go out and about each day and then find a beach for a picnic lunch and some sunbathing. On our last day we had a very pleasant lunch at the Beach Cafe (the opposite side of the seafront to the harbour) and enjoyed the sunshine before heading back to the airport. We booked through 'alpharooms' for about £240 for two weeks - what a bargain - we will definately be back for some more 'winter sun' in the future!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Supergranma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

Okay it's not 5 star Accommodation but you're not paying for 5 star. Sure it's basic (but clean !) and for less than £140.00 for a 2 bed self catering apartment in the winter months (we stayed 14-21 Jan and had sunshine everyday). The staff are perfectly charming, as are the multiple firendly cats !

The complex should be appreciated for what it is rather than what it is not, like so many in the Canaries offering a good service at a good price for us (apparently ?) unappreciating Brits !

Go and enjoy and don't bleat like overgrown schoolgirls about the lack of clubs etc,etc like other reviewers !

Room Tip: relax and enjoy the sun, don't look for problems ! enjoy Lunch/dinner at Miss America (give T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank goldenpendragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

We stayed in the Fuerteventura beach Club which was pretty basic but clean.Beds were only changed once in the week we stayed. Plenty of sunbeds around pool.Good walk into the main town/beach but less than 3 euros for a taxi. Heard that there had been a few break-ins but we had no problems and were very careful with our valuables (as always)

Room Tip: Request a apt which gets the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Retiree_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isle of man
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

on arrival we had to air the apartment as there was a musty smell they are clean basic and needing some maintenence then we had the boiler changed twice due to leeking which flooded our bathroom and the toilet flusher went twiceishame really because they could be great apartments ,the staff were really freindly. and location good .10 min walk to the front i recomend the windmill restaraunt food is great

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank markgrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Stayed in these apartments 8th jan 12, Very tired and dated i.e furniture faded and stained, very little kitchen utensils, doors did not close properly.
On the better side, the apartments are not a bad size, We had a 2 bedroomed apt, good comfortable beds.Clean linen on beds and plenty of towels avail, very hot water every day to shower.
Maid service every other day to clean floors and take rubbish.
There are 3 swimming pools to choose with plenty of sunbeds.
The apartments are a good 10 mins walk down hill to the centre of the resort, (if you are not a walker then these are not for you) a taxi up and down is 3 euros each way,but there is a couple or bars close to the apartments and also 2 supermarkets close by.


We caught the No 3 service bus to and from the airport which cost 1.35 euro each way and runs very regular. If you dont fancy the bus it costs around 15 euros by taxi. The ladies in the reception were very helpfull with any requests that we made.
If you do stay in these apartments you will find no toaster, for some reason you have to ask at reception for one.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dais2sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caleta de Fuste hotels
0.7 mi away
Villa Florida
Villa Florida
#8 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
502 reviews
0.6 mi away
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
#7 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
2,474 reviews
0.2 mi away
VIP Villas
VIP Villas
#17 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
1.0 mi away
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
#2 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
686 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fuerteventura Beach Club
Fuerteventura Beach Club
#15 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Montecastillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Montecastillo

Property: Club Montecastillo
Address: C San Francisco s n 35610 | Calete de Fuste, 35600 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua > Caleta de Fuste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Caleta de Fuste
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Montecastillo 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 1 bedroom bungalows set in sub tropical gardens, close to the poolside, pool bar, Jacuzzi and Gymnasium, will accommodate up to 4 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Club Montecastillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Montecastillo Hotel Caleta De Fuste
Montecastillo Hotel Caleta De Fuste
Club Montecastillo Fuerteventura/Caleta De Fuste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing