We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Room Rubbish Food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Caleta de Fuste
Certificate of Excellence
Linslade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Room Rubbish Food”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Food was utterly disgusting cold overcooked left to get cold had to keep asking for hot food female chef could not give a toss.
Breakfast was just as poor no milk no bread no yoghourts basic ingredients for breakfast but was always running out & yet again almost every day had to gee up the staff the very few that were around.
My advise is to go room only .Rooms are very nice good sea views.
But if you have any ideas of eating & being happy at this Hotel then forget it.
After day 5 we complained big time to the manager loads of other guests had already done this.
Pity as the Room Location & sea views are great.
It says it has a Spa 10 euros but nothing was working no steam room no sauna only one power jet working in the very small pool & the lift wasnot working
We went to the local Sheraton spa much better value at least everything was working!
Manager looks & acts like a rabbit caught on full beam appeared unable to manage his chefs & had no plan to improve matters.
AH

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Adge h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    706
    924
    454
    160
    145
See reviews for
611
1,300
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (563)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Just returned back this morning from what i can only describe as a 2* hotel.Arrived here on sunday 10th Feb for a 5 night cheap break with my husband which turned into a expensive one.Checking in was a disaster as the reception lady was constantly on the phone laughing and joking as we waited patiently for over 20 minutes.The room was great ,seperate kitchen which would of been ideal if you were on a self catering holiday,nice bathroom,lounge ,balcony and bedroom ( apart from the hard uncomfortable beds).The food in the hotel is served in the most smallest restaurant i have yet to see in such a huge hotel .The food is disgusting !! we dont consider ourselves to be fussy eaters but there was really nothing we would of eaten resulting in us having to eat out every day and night which cost a fortune.There is a chef who will cook you fresh fish or meat but when you cut into its raw !! The pool bar is the same if theres anyone there to serve you that is .Dont expect to get anything decent here either we got served a rock hard cheeseburger in between 2 slices of bread with the greasy chips no bigger than a finger nail.The entertainment is non existant here ,1 karaoke and thats your lot !! Overall we enjoyed our expensive break but thats because we found our own entertainment and places to eat out .How this hotel is rated 4* is beyond me as it doesnt deserve a 2* rating as far as im concerned .There is much nicer hotels on the island where im sure you will get what you paid for as for us we will never return to Geranios Suites .

Room Tip: room 302 had sun most of the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shell j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Just arrived back this evening, and felt I had to add something on here before all the other people moaning did!

The hotel has been recently downgraded to a 4 star, and it should be really, although we had a nice time, you do expect that little bit more from 5 stars! Most of the rooms are Junior suites, and we went all inclusive at a very good price. The rooms were very nice, the usual stuff was included but also a kitchen with a kettle, microwave, fridge, TV in the bedroom and phone in the toilet?? And the free safe was a good bonus, and we didn't have to leave a deposit for the remote for the TV either! I think the only thing you have to leave a deposit for is if you are using the towels for the pool, that is 10 euros for the week, but we had brought our own so we didn't need to.

If you want a very quiet holiday in February - come here!! It was so quiet, had the pool area to ourselves for the first 4 days of our stay (weather was a bit over cast though), but even when the sun came out, the hotel was very quiet (i would say probably 50% occupancy), the staff were all very friendly, Alexandra and Teresa in the bars did the best they could, jugglng jobs between, pool bar, lounge and restaurant, and even then it was only a 10-15 minute wait to be served. In fact all the staff deserve a medal as they were so understaffed when we were there.

The food is the same as any other all inclusive I have stayed at, buffet style - all the guests were moaning about the food, but we always had a nice meal, they served everything from paella, pancakes, pizza, pasta dishes, pork, beef, veal, chicken, guess we are just not fussy eaters! and there is a microwave to hand if the food isn't quite hot enough. The deserts were mainly gataux and ice cream, but very nice! The chef cooks something every night and the steak was cooked perfectly. (chips are always available)

There are small shops, bars and restaurants nearby, but they are a good 10 mins walk in the wind! And my gosh it was windy when we went - up to 40km per hour winds, so take a cardigan for the evening!

If you want a shopping trip head for puerto del rosario- about 1.40 euros, about 10 mins bus ride.

All in all we had a good holiday - a holiday is what you make it, I wouldn't recommend it to young couples though, because one night a week entertainment... you expect a little bit more for all inclusive 5 star (4 star), but otherwise a nice quiet hotel.

Room Tip: We had a southfacing room with a sea & pool view, had sun all day from 10am until sundown, rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kazspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Huge hotel and hardly occupied ,quiet relaxing week with no out out of control kids and no drunken Brits or any other drunken nationalities.Great beds very comfortable and as many pillpws as you could ask for.Forget the description on Travel Republics website where it states "private beach" because there is nothing private about it .The "private beach" is just the beach across the prom outside the hotel and is open to anyone and is mainly boulders and rough sand unlike the rest of the bay.
If you want a "warm" meal then you MUSTget to the dining room at opening times because it dont stay warm for long.However there is a microwave and there are chefs that will cook food for you even though they find it hard to cook a fried egg ,an omelette or pancake without it sticking and breaking up on the hotplate.
One "hot" drinks machine that overfills your "TINY" cup splashing water everywhere and is only "warm" and another that works much better but can be too"hot".That is IF you can find a normal tea bag.
NO CHARGE FOR THE SAFE IN YOUR ROOM.
Couldnt believe that as we have always been ripped off for a safe in other hotels from 2 star to 5 star.
ALL the staff will go out of their way to help you and cater for all your needs and nothing was a problem for them.The most mentionable member of staff was Aleksandra who put everything into her job making your night in the bar very enjoyable and through the day she also worked in the dining room and pool bar . In fact all the staff seemed to be running about from one area to another to keep everyone happy.
We ended up paying extra to get a "superior" room overlooking the harbour.The only thing "superior" about it was that we had sunshine until about 4 Oclock along with a flat screen TV ,a rusted towel hanger on the balcony that wouldnt even extend and a telephone in the toilet that was in the most stupid place and was hanging off the wall because you caught it every time you went in.
The cleaners carried out a fine job as well every day and always spoke when they saw you.
There was more sunbeds than guests which I think is because this near empty hotel despite the fact it is only a few years old has been built like a 1960s British concrete jungle covered in tiles and is quite dark and empty and it shows in the photographs which is putting people off.
Entertainment???.....Well the BEST night was the KARAOKE night .The other night was a couple of birds flying around with people being told at the end that the people who brought the birds were the only ones allowed to take photographs followed by a guy doing a form of "karaoke" on his own with about six people brave enough to stay through it.
Great nights in the bar with some nice people and good staff.
I must say that we have both had upset stomachs for a week since getting home and am wondering if it was from the carrot soup that was on for three meals in a row.

Room Tip: Third floor facing the harbour gives a nice view with good sunrises and full sun until about 4pm .Bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gumblejum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kongsberg, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Nice rooms, to bad we had some bugs in our kitchen, but not to many. The breakfast opens at 8, but did never open before 8.15 or later the week we were there. To bad, since we had kids and were on our way to do other things...so 2 days we had to skip breakfast:-( Reception people are nice, and helpful. Not to far from the centrum, but not in the middle of it. It is a big hotel, and you can sometimes feel a little alone, espesially during winter I guess. Nice cleaning of room every day. If you gonna stay here, be sure to check out the beach on the south side, it is much nicer than the one you see on the north side, so walk the 3-400 meters over to the next "village" and use the beach there instead. Playroom for the children, not too big, but enough for our 3 year kid to spend an hour or so between activities. No warmed up pools outside, did not pay to get to the spa.

Room Tip: I think the room looks the same, close to the reception and you want have to walk in a lot of empty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timon78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Returned last night spent 4 days AI. We were given a room on the 3rd floor but realised we wouldnt get any sun on the balcony, we moved room had to pay 10 euro's per night suppliment but well worth it fantastic views to the sea. Room junior suite very clean no complaints with standard of accomdation. Food was ok with a good selection always something that you could eat,also freshly cooked selection in the evening. Bar staff/waiting staff all very helpful and friendly, special award should go to Alexandria she could'nt help guests enough and despite the long hrs always was smiling and making sure you were well supplied with drinks/snacks well done!!!. We always go away this time off year for a short break to get away from the cramp in UK would stay again and recommend. there was no entertainment but just walked into town. sunbathing no problem plenty of sun beds and area's to go had to leave a deposit for towels, room safe free, fridge in room with micro wave if youwant to do your own thing.

Room Tip: rooms on the third floor but not facing the pool as they tend not to get the sun as much. we were in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jrem2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

My name is Jamie and my wife Anne and I stayed here for the week 23/30th January in a Junior Suite with a magnificent pool and seaview,
We met the nicest people every age group, there are no idiots or lager louts to spoil your time.
The bar closes at 11.00 which is great because the Police come into check ensuring no out of order behavior by drunks or neds.

We were all inclusive and we paid approx £320 p.p. for full 8 day holiday.
Flights/ Hotel/Food/Drinks/Accommodation

The Hotel was at one time 5 Star but now in my opinion is well fairly rated at 4 star.
Under new management it will rise again to 5 star status.

The Hotel is quiet and very relaxing which everyone in the Hotel said was great, if you want action it can be provided less than a few minutes away.

The accommodation varies between junior suites which are great, to executive suites which are sometimes given at no extra charge, the place is spotless and the maids come 7 days a week.
Suites are very spacious with patio doors from both lounge and bedroom leading out onto an extensive balcony.

I read up before the holiday that the food and bar staff were non existent,absolutely untrue, there are times when the staff go into the back kitchen area but there is never a point where there are no staff.

Turning to the staff in particular Alexandria, Rocia, and the male waiter with fair hair all brilliant people who make your Holiday something special.
Alexandria used to do the hand up pump up the action dance with me and we had a great time.
Rocia is also very good and one night she would not give a drink to a man who quite clearly had enough to drink,small pocket of dynamite is Rocia.

The food is fine and anyone who says its not is just being awkward. People say that sometime the food is not very warm but there is a microwave if you want your food piping hot, personally as long as its properly cooked I prefer mine to be on the cool side.
There is always something you are able to eat, you can go to the grill and watch the chef cook whatever you order. Steak, Pork, Lamb, Beef, Fish,

Entertainment twice a week, guy comes in and sings live 50/60/70/80/90 to charts. he is good.
Karoake is also great fun. Again bar closes at 11.00 and plenty of entertainment outwith Hotel.

Outside you can walk promenade to town centre in 40 mins, but if you want short walk go first left then next left across car park and walk straight on and you are in town in 5 mins,

So go here and enjoy it ,dont be worried as this is a great hotel with great staff and accomodation and food and drink, some people look down on others and just want to complain.

Have their coctails they will take you to another planet.
My Favourite drink Amerretto and Coke with ice its awesome.



I Have no complaints and would go back tomorrow if I could.

Thanks to all management and staff Alexandria /Rocia at the Generaios Suites.

Mucho Gracias, Por favor.

Room Tip: Request Pool/Seaview in non smoking floor on floor 3, I was in room 322.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank james m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caleta de Fuste
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Elba Sara
Hotel Elba Sara
#3 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,587 reviews
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
#2 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Elba Carlota
Hotel Elba Carlota
#5 of 26 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,843 reviews
0.3 mi away
Broncemar Beach
Broncemar Beach
#11 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,190 reviews
36.8 mi away
Occidental Jandia Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel

Property: Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
Address: Paseo Maritimo s/n, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua > Caleta de Fuste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#5 Family Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#5 Romantic Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#7 Luxury Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Geranios Suites & Spa is an ideal place where you can have a vacation with your couple to relax with our sea views in a privileged and quiet environment. We have a spacious suites that include living room, kitchen, bathroom, bedroom and terrace/balcony. If you just want to remember a pleasant rest come to our SPA and Wellness area. But if you want to come with the hole family you will enjoy in all our spacious common areas like our swimming pools, tennis corner, squash, fitness area, kids club with 5 playrooms, animation and a lot of activities near the hotel (camel riding, surfing, quad biking, golf and many other family activities just 100m from the hotel). We are waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solvasa Geranios Suites And Spa
Solvasa Geranios Hotel Caleta De Fuste
Hotel Solvasa Geranios
Geranios Suites Fuerteventura
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel Fuerteventura/Caleta De Fuste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing