We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Elba Sara
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Costa Caleta(Caleta de Fuste)
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Eurostars Las Salinas(Caleta de Fuste)
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$119
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$185
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$140
$136
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Elba Palace Golf(Caleta de Fuste)
$208
$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$168
$159
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Broncemar Beach(Caleta de Fuste)
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Villa Florida(Caleta de Fuste)(Great Value!)
$68
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
VIP Villas(Caleta de Fuste)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (4,196)
Filter reviews
4,196 results
Traveler rating
2,194
1,339
466
130
67
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,194
1,339
466
130
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbroadway barshopping centre next doortucan baritalian nightanimation teamupstairs barfoam partylovely hotelsea viewpool areaplenty of choiceplenty of sunbedsfidelity cardhalf boardgreat holidaykids clubreception staff
Filter
Updating list...
2,631 - 2,636 of 4,196 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Just got back from a relaxing week at the Elba Sara Hotel. We found our room to be very clean and the views from our balcony across the hotel grounds to the sea were great. I don't understand why the reviews are so poor about the food. We stayed all inclusive and enjoyed every meal. There is so much choice at every meal time, from breakfast to dinner - fresh omlettes are made to order with smoothies, pancakes and cereals also available. There is lots of breads/jams etc and fresh fruits plus yoghurts, continental meats and cheeses - and thats just some of the breakfast choices.

The staff are very friendly and helpful and the hotel is kept very clean. Nothing is too much trouble, it was my husbands birthday while we were out there. On our return from our day out there was a bottle of bubbly and a birthday card from the staff left in our room.

The pool is on the cool side, but refreshing after the hot sun. My only slightly negative comment would be that there werent enough areas of shade around the pool areas, but other than that we had a fantastic time, and would definately recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a relaxed holiday.

Room Tip: we were on the 4th floor, with a balcony and sea view - a great choice
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happyladyBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBASARA2, Director General at Hotel Elba Sara, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear happyladyBerkshire

Thank you very much for your positive report about your stay at the Hotel Elba Sara.

We are very happy to read that we have fulfilled your expectations and that you appreciate the choice at every meal time.We would also like to thank you for the kind words about our staff and we hope to see you soon with us again.

Best regards from all the Elba Sara staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We had a family holiday last week and all in all the experience was ok. We usually stay in 5 star hotels but booked the Elba Sara as we confused this with the ratings for the Elba Sara Golf Resort.

Due to delays in our flight and transfer we arrived late 9.45pm after a long journey only to find that that the restaurant closed at 10pm. Whilst the reception staff were very helpful in offering a cold buffet that was laid on at 10.30pm this was not very appealing with staff around you cleaning the restaurant and flys buzzing around the food, so o our first night tired and hungry we went to bed with nothing to eat as there was no other option that the hotel catered for. Bar food would have been an expected option.

We booked a double room for a family of 4 which was quite cramped with the child bed and travel cot. The room was clean so no complaints here, however he service was not up to the standard you would expect from a 4 star hotel. Whilst it was cleaned daily, the bedding was only changed after 3 days and that was after my wife complained.

The hotel reception staff where great, very friendly and helpful.

The food was of a good standard although it did become repetitive after several days, however the daily choice was good. The restaurant manager was great along with most the staff, again very polite, friendly and attentive.

The pool area very clean, good with no problems, just the usual early riser sunned hogs, although the hotel does have a policy to remove unattended towels after 1 hour.

The entertainment was poor standard but for us was expected.

We were on the fourth floor and having a baby our biggest complaint would be he nearest lifts both out of order during our entire 8 day stay, this was compounded by other nearby lifts also being out of order.

The kids club was great for our 6 year old as this kept him busy, the rep for the english kids was absolutely brilliant, however the other reps could do with a good lessons in customer service.

Room Tip: We were on the fourth floor end with sea view this was very quite and pleasant
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donovan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBASARA2, Director General at Hotel Elba Sara, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Donovan M

Thank you for writing your comments about your stay at the Hotel Elba Sara and thank you for the kind words about our staff.

We hope that you understand that with a fully booked hotel and with the check out time at 12 o’clock, we gave you the room as quick as possible.The bedding usually gets changed every 3 days.The malfunctioning of the lifts during your stay was unfortunately beyond our control as the maintenance is done by an exterior company and we would like to apologize for the inconvenience it may have caused you.

Our reception staff offered you to change to the hotel you mentioned , Elba Palace Golf , paying the extra cost for it , and you refused so we thought you were happy among us. (wrong impression)

We hope to see you again in the nearby future.

Best regards from all the Elba Sara staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

My husband, myself and two friends have just returned from a 12 day holiday at this hotel. I have to say that although we had a good holiday we were unhappy with a few things. Firstly, our room was not cleaned to the standard expected of a 4 star hotel, at one point the bathroom was not cleaned for at least 3-4 days my husband had squashed 2 insects on the bathroom floor and they were still there 5 days later! and fresh bath towels were not provided until we complained. On the subject of towels, we were informed that you could change the pool towels every 3 days-we tried to change the towels but were told to call back as they had none, it took another 2 days before we could change them (5 days in total). Although food is plentiful, it can be very repetitive, bland and boring - we gave up on the last 2 evenings and ate out. We were on the 5th floor and our nearest lifts were out of action for 5 days, when we queried how long it would be before they were fixed (as my husband has heart complaint) we were told the engineers did not work over weekends. The lifts broke on the Thursday and were not fixed until the following Wednesday. Until they were fixed we had to walk to the middle of the hotel to find the only working lifts. The water in the pools was cold until the end of our holiday when the heating was finally put on and you had to get up at the crack of dawn if you wanted a sun bed for the day. Finally, (although I could go on!) on the last day I was told I could book half an hour in a courtesy room - I booked half an hour for us and another half hour for our friends. When we went to get the key we were told we had to use the gym but there was already someone in. At 10 past the hour, we decided to go to the gym where we found the other people still in the shower. My friend and I had to use the mens showers whilst our husbands stood guard in case any gym members were to come in!, one shower was stone cold and the other was just a trickle of water, they were filthy and flooded. At half past the hour the next people came to use the showers - it was completley unacceptable and the Manager did not appear to be aware of the double bookings. We were not the only people complaining about this situation and could hear another customer ranting at the manager about the same problem. We have stayed in Caleta de Fuste 7 times now all at different hotels - but are sorry to say we have been put off going back to Elba Sara - some of the staff need a shake up and the lack of communication between staff and managers needs addressing too.
Having got the worst out of the way....
A couple of members of staff who deserve a mention are; Judith from the restuarant who was extremely pleasant, always smiling and had time for a chat and the barman in the cocktail bar who was super efficient and also very pleasant.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZooneyLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBASARA2, Director General at Hotel Elba Sara, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear ZooneyLancashire

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your report about your stay at the Hotel Elba Sara.First of all we are glad to read that you had a good holiday and sorry for those things that made you unhappy.

We are sorry for not being able to offer you a courtesy room to take a shower on your last day due to being totally full but we have our contracts with your travel companies which state that check out time is at 12:00 and we have to give the rooms before 15:00h. to our next arrivals.
If we would have a free room we would have been very happy to offer it as a courtesy room as we usually do , and avoid those situations. Unfortunately we couldn’t on the day you left and we apologize for that. On the other side , checking the bookings of the shower room that day, there does not appear to be a double booking.

We apologize again for if the holiday did not turn out as good as you had expected and we hope to get another chance in the future.

Best regards of all the Elba Sara staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Went with partner and son age 6. Hotel big and 4* appearence. Room nice but felt it could of been kept cleaner. Pool was freezing until our last few days were it was heated. 30 min walk or approx 4 euros to centre. Went allinclusive however we ended up eating out for majority of hol due to the hotel food. Yes theres variety however we found the food tasteless, tough meat and some foods not always cooked properly. We. Was bitterly disappointed with the food. After speaking to others at the hotel we were not the only ones to think this. Def not. 4*food

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank murgy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBASARA2, Director General at Hotel Elba Sara, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear murgy1

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments about your stay at the Hotel Elba Sara.
We know that the food is a delicate point for most travellers and we must apologize for if the quality of the food was not what you expected.We try very hard to have enough variety and to please every customer that visits our restaurant, but we understand that tastes are different and we won’t discuss that.

The pool should only be heated from the 1st of November, that’s when the winter season starts for us and your travel companies.Seeing the weather you’ve had during your last few days we decided out of goodwill to switch on the acclimatization one week earlier than planned which we hoped you would appreciate.

We hope to see you again in the future.
Best regards from all the Elba Sara staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

What a fab hotel, the staff are friendly and very helpful, the hotel is kept very clean and the ladies keep fit in the pool is fun :) gabby really helps people get involved in day time activities ( even getting my mum to play darts) x Judith became a good friend :) and excellent member of staff x

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBASARA2, Director General at Hotel Elba Sara, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear Angela H

Thank you very much for your short but positive comments about your stay at the Hotel Elba Sara.We are glad to have fulfilled your expectations and we hope to see you again in the nearby future.
I’ll personally send your regards to the both employees you have mentioned and I will thank them for how they have treated you and your family during your well deserved holiday in our establishment.

Best regards from all the Elba Sara staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews