We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best”
Review of Caleta Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Caleta Garden
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Caleta de Fuste
Abergele, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not the best”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

I have been visiting Fuerteventura and have stopped at a few of the hotels. We stayed all inclusive. The room was a studio room which had no sun and a brick wall outside, room however was clean although our mattess got swapped midway through the week or a massive lump appeared !! there is a vent in the bathroom that you can her people on the loo !! The maid did leave our room open twice although thankfully nothing was missing. The food was ok a variety of meals so that was ok i have had worse !! The Entertainment however I thought was very disappointing, it did not seem to get going until around 10.30 !! There was bingo each night and then there was a race night on one night with the smallest TV screen i have ever seen. I got the feeling that alot of people go there for a month so they are used to the set up. The pool was very small and not enough sun beds to go round again it seemed like everyone knew everyone as they came year on year. In fact I felt the whole place was quite unfriendly. Glad it was cheap for a week but think i will give it a miss.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loobiloo122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    384
    356
    159
    191
See reviews for
367
566
46
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
paignton devon
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

the location is very good lots of steps to negotiate so if you have mobility problems you should avoid.
The place needs a good refurb...the maids do their best to keep this place clean though. towels changed daily also beds midweek.
Our apartment overlooked a quiet street at the back of the complex we were unable to use the terrace as there was no sun on there at any part of the day.
We were self catering but we did speak to other all inclusive guests that complained about the food.
No kettle but we did take our own.
Don't bother with paying for the TV you will waste your money ...it does not work.fortunately we only put in 4.50 euros for one day .....the reception staff say that it is nothing to do with them so you may not get your money back
the lighting is very poor in the apartment especially in the kitchen area ...you simply cannot see to cook should you wish to. We eat out as there are numerous places in the resort
this was a cheap holiday for us...you get what you pay for...if you are looking for the Ritz then you should avoid it.

Room Tip: if u want peace and quiet go to the back...but no sun only on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyalone48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

You get what you pay for and a 3* suited me. I didnt find much to eat with the all inclusive meals. But thats because i am limited to what i can eat. It was clean and i would go there again. The staff are friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
3 Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monoborracho2014, Director General at Caleta Garden, responded to this review, June 5, 2015
Dear Sir/Madan,

We are very grateful for your comments, as we motivate much. We try to give the best service to ensure that your stay at our hotel enjoyable.

We take note of them and I assure you that will help us to work harder to keep up with new demands.

Regards,

Himar Silvera
The hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

You have to hire a toaster,and kettle you have to pay for the tv and wii its clean but so so basic would not recommend.was going to go all inclusive but the food looked awful.The good part is it so central for everything.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank geoffx0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Caleta de Fuste hotels

Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I arrived at the hotel around midday, room was ready at 14.30, others waited longer
The hotel has 3 floors, I was allocated a studio on the ground floor, however I was fortunate to have a balcony without a brick wall.
Some of the rooms patios, have high brick walls, on the ground floor
There is steps around the accommodation and some without the use of a hand rails on the ground floor. There is ramp, however it is very steep from reception & bar area to other side of the ground – upper floor level.
Certainly not ideal for using anything more than a buggy and care would have to be taken there. There are lifts to upper floors.
No free Wi-Fi , however there is plenty of places around the town , offering free WIFI
The lighting in the corridors is not good through the day, tiled floors and they can become slippery when it rains, open spaces above, allowing air to circulate and rain to come through.

On an evening the lighting is adequate, as the lights are on.
Rooms are very basic indeed, however they are cleaned every day with towels and sheets changed every two days. Shower over a tiny bath, shower was powerful and always hot water when required. 2 beds facing each other, small kitchenette, microwave, cooker and fridge.
TV, 1 English channel, news 24 free, all the rest you had to pay for.
Good location, clean and the staff are helpful.
All inclusive, food not always hot, but there is a microwave, it’s the same soup on a lunchtime as a evening, however I always found something to eat and drink. Fish, meats, pasta, salad, fruit and very good breakfast. Wine , beer , cider , soft drinks all self-service. You need to show your card every time at the reception as the hotel has self-catering options .
Bar closes bang on or just before 23.00 hrs, and two drinks per person any one time.
A lot of the people come back time after time , year after year.
Basic accommodation, no frills, Cheap ,cheerful and friendly . You get what you pay for…

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monoborracho2014, Director General at Caleta Garden, responded to this review, July 27, 2015
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your comment. We are very pleased that you enjoyed you so much for your holidays in Fuerteventura. We are working to continue to improve as well.

Thank you very much for praising our staff. They will be very happy to hear this.

We have to focus on your expectations. Hope to see you again for Fuerteventura.

Thank you very much,

Himar
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinmel Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Just got back from 1 week stay all inclusive at the caleta gardens, we are a family of 4 with 2 children aged 7 & 5, the hotel was clean but very basic, we had fresh towels and bedding 4 times in the week which i couldnt complain about as the maids did a fantastic job. The food was terrible we lived on rice and chips for the week having to spend money eating out as the children didnt like any of it. the evening entertainment was ok not much more to say. Most of the staff are very freindly and cant do enough for you. The all inclusive snacks were very basic with only toasties and hot dogs available. The location of the hotel is great (central) My only complaint about this hotel was the food.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

It is with regret that I have to say that during our winter vacation in Fuerteventura and after staying in many different hotels on the island, the Caleta Gardens was by far the very worst that we endured.
In fact to make my review a little more to the point I will List the negatives that we experienced below. Our apartment appeared to be a self catering style room.
1) Shabby small apartments with threadbare furniture and kitchen doors that were crooked, warped and hanging off.
2)Rock hard beds and skinny pillows
3)No soundproofing at all and even a hole in bathroom wall that the entered neighbors bathroom. (we could hear them on the loo in every minute detail). Rocking creaking beds all through the night from every angle, as drunken amorous couples did their thing!
4) Drunken revelers abound all over the place, including collapsed on the stairs, falling over in the foyer or just propped up against a wall at 3pm singing Elvis songs with a Scottish Accent.
5) We found Cat faeces in the small flower bed of our balcony along with 30-40 cigarette butts that had obviously never been cleaned in weeks.
6) The walls were so thin that whilst walking to reception along the corridors, we regularly heard couples engaged in either raging verbally abusive domestic disputes, or uncontrollably loud sexual acts. (Not what you would want children to hear).
One domestic dispute sounded so abusive and full of foul language that we had to notify reception as we feared someone would be assaulted but reception just made a note.
7) Security in the room was diabolical as even a 5 year old could open our locked patio doors which backed onto a side street at ground floor level.
8)Vomiting and loud parties could be heard going on for hours in the rooms above that appeared to be occupied by a group of teens.
9) The internet in the lobby costs a whopping 3 euro for just 1 hour. This can work out very expensive if you need to rely on the internet for work as I do. (most other hotels charge between Free & 25 euros a week)

In fact that hotel was so bad that we checked out after two days! As soon as we got to another hotel we immediately had a shower so that we could feel clean again.

Sadly there isn't much that I can say that was good about this venue apart from the fact that most of the people who were all inclusive and propped up by the bar appeared to be having a great time. Everyone else appeared more akin to inmates in a Siberian Hostel where bad things happen.
Trying to be balanced, we were in fact recommended this hotel by a couple who we met in the town. They said the rooms were a bit like those at Pontins but we didn't realise they meant Pontins in 1975. They did however enjoy the Bingo which was held in the bar of an evening.
As for reviewers saying you get what you pay for, I don't agree. We booked another Hotel for the same length of stay and it was leagues ahead of Caleta Gardens in every possible way.

Back to being balanced though, if you enjoy getting wasted cheaply and noise doesn't bother you then this just might be the place for you. The Guarda Civil here are on first names with the door staff and often have to attend the hotel when the festivities get a bit merry. The pool area is very small and arguments do break out about the sunbeds but to be fair the beach is only a 5 minute walk away. All in all great for boozers and Karaoke singers and those with a Bingo fetish, anyone else though and especially those with young children, I strongly advise to give this place a wide birth.

Room Tip: Don't pick a room facing the main road. The Karaoke opposite goes on till the early hours. Hire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank studio500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monoborracho2014, Director General at Caleta Garden, responded to this review, June 9, 2015
Dear madam /sir,

We want to thank you for your comments as your rating helps us to improve our services. We are sorry to read that we have not met your expectations.

We have taken note of your suggestions and see what we can do to improve.

Please get in touch with us through our e-mail.

Kind regards,

Himar Silvera
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caleta de Fuste
0.2 mi away
Broncemar Beach
Broncemar Beach
#11 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
3,223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Costa Caleta
Hotel Costa Caleta
#12 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
2,856 reviews
0.4 mi away
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
#7 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
2,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Florida
Villa Florida
#9 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
486 reviews
0.8 mi away
Globales Costa Tropical
Globales Costa Tropical
#1 of 4 in Costa de Antigua
1,806 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caleta Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caleta Garden

Property: Caleta Garden
Address: Avenida Alcalde Juan Ramon Soto Morales 15, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua > Caleta de Fuste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Caleta de Fuste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Caleta Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caleta Garden offers an outdoor pool, apartments and studios with balconies. This complex is located 200 meters from the beach in Caleta de Fuste and has tennis courts and a whirlpool. Caleta Garden is located 5 minutes walk from shops, bars and coffee shops of Caleta de Fuste downtown. The Fuerteventura Golf Club is just over 1 km from the complex and the Airport is located 15 minutes drive from the complex. At the reception there is a currency exchange service, option to rent safe, fans, kettles, irons and hair dryers. We also have a prepaid self-service laundry. There is WiFi at the reception and communal areas of payment. The Caleta Garden buffet restaurant serves traditional Spanish and international cuisine. They also have a bar service in the resort pool with drinks and snacks. It consists of a tennis court. There are 2 professional shows a week and various activities for adults and children throughout the day. All apartments and studios at Caleta Garden are well equipped and have a livingroom with sofa bed. The kitchen includes a microwave, refrigerator and stove. All accommodations have bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Caleta Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caleta Garden Hotel Caleta De Fuste
Caleta Garden De Fuste
Caleta Garden Fuerteventura/Caleta De Fuste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing