We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, but not great.”
Review of Caleta Dorada

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Caleta Dorada
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Caleta de Fuste
Reviewed May 4, 2014

On arrival the reception was great, sadly we couldn't really say the same for anything else. We stayed here in the beginning of march 2014. Our first thoughts of our apartment was that it was very basic, when we arrived the door was broken so this was not a great start we were also a little annoyed at the lack of channels, we ended up watching the news every night! However you can purchase more channels but we weren't prepared to do that as we weren't planning on spending alot of time inside. It was clean however the shower went cold after 5 minuets. There are cleaners there every 2 days or so which is ok, they change the towels and bedding.

The first few days the weather was poor however this is not the fault of the resort/hotel obviously. The entertainment was more for children, but this could be down to the time of year that we went despite there being alot of people I believe there should have been more variety. It was pretty much the same every night bingo and quiz's. I wouldn't bother doing the quiz because the lady that runs it cheats so even if you do think your answer is correct there will be multiple answers and she will choose the majority.

Onto the good points we spent most of our time at the pool and pool bar which were ok, however we could not go in the water as it was too cold unless you jump in and swim straight back out again. The drinks were good and there were slushies, hot snacks etc served throughout the day for free if your all inclusive. Plenty of sunbeds and toilet facilities.

The resort itself id say was good if your looking for a relaxing holiday like we were but it got a little repetitive so if your someone who likes things to do there are excursions. However if you want to stay on the resort itself there isn't alot to do, the bars were good especially for live sport but the drinks are overpriced. The beach is man-made and very nice also.

Overall I would say it was average but for a budget quick last minute holiday you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,683)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,844 - 1,850 of 2,683 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2014

Just returned from 7 days on AI quite disappointed. The staff were all really nice and worked really hard in all areas, so can't complain about them at all.
The food was ok and what you would expect from this type of holiday. Plenty of choice so could always find something to eat, although the last couple of days the hotel was really quiet and the food was poor with very little choice and not very hot. It was as if they couldn't be bothered for just a few people.
The pool areas were clean but the only pool bar open was at the main kids pool but it wasn't really a problem through the day, pleny of space and sunbeds. Big problem at night, could hardly get a seat, the bar is open to the elements so you sit in a gale, frozen hoping that someone will move and you may get a more sheltered sea. Its actually like sitting in a garden shed with few walls, open wood slats for floor etc. Only entertainment was for children which started about 7 pm and went on all night so there were kids still running about at 11pm. Thjis would not have been a problem if one of the other bars had been open somewhere to get out of the cold and a bit more geared towards adults. There was a lovely lounge bar under the dining room but it never opened, a chinese and a mediterranean restuarant both closed. We did ask if they were to open but were told definately not.
The room was ok and cleaned the day after we got there {sat} but never saw a cleaner again, Had to ask on the Tue to have it done, when we came back all that was done was the towels were changed and the bins emptied. Asked again on Wed if someone would go in and clean it because if not I would have done it myself, reception got on to housekeeping there and then and assured us it would be done and were horrified. The sheets and towels changed nothing else, no floor swept mopped etc. Sheets were damp and we had to dry them ourselves and remake the beds, couldn't be bothered complaining again, don't think it would have helped. We had cockroaches cos bins were overflowing and not cleaned once in 6 days really bad and for that reason I would nor recommend this hotel to anyone and would definately not return.

Room Tip: try to get rooms nearer the pool as they werre cleaned every other day. Rooms near the reception we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 217disappointed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We were pretty worried about staying here after reading all of the reviews, but were pleasantly surprised when we arrived! The little bungalows are clean, spacious and have everything you need. The noise from the planes flying over is quite loud, and starts fairly early however we managed to sleep through it most days.

Location is good- a 5/10 minute walk to the beach, but it is up a gradual hill so may not be ideal for people with walking difficulties.

We only ate lunch and breakfast there, but both meals had good selections. Breakfast was brilliant- fresh pancakes and omelettes were on offer amongst many other things, and this is probably one of the best hotel breakfasts I've ever had (including in 4/5 star hotels.) Lunch wasn't exactly gourmet but for what we paid for the hotel on an all inclusive basis, we really couldn't complain.

We went over Easter and only one bar was open, but I'm guessing that more bars open in summer. Overall, we found this place to be excellent value for money-it's far from a luxury hotel burst the price we paid, we wouldn't have expected that. We'd definitely return!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Here we go I went with my mum for 16 nights all inclusive both of us are disabled and 2 days later friends were joining us who had stayed 2 years before.

On arrival went to reception was told where our bungalow was on the first level right at the end C block number 148 the room looked clean there were some ants around but we had taken some deathlac with us after hearing about ants (dont like creepies) so we sprayed all the entrances and thought everything would be fine, the ants here are hardy little things we ended up getting the spray off the cleaners and doing a daily spray. so off we went on our scooters to dinner the restaurant was some way away food was fine there was always something you could find did get repetative couple of times we ate out just for something different.

The complex is really large and the resturant is no where near large enough to accommodate the amount of guests that were there having to stand and wait for a table. (there are 3 blocks of bungalows) each block has a pool the main pool where you got the drinks, snacks and nighttime entertainment for us was up 8 ramps and across 2 roads they say that the other bars open in may but when friends went before they never opened. Found out that there was a change of ownership last year. Considering this was the main easter holiday and indeed the place seemed full would have thought they could have opened other bars at the other pools in the daytime at least but no if you used the other pools you had to either have no drinks or take the long trek to the main bar. You could only get 2 drinks at a time at the bar day or night.

Now the staff the reception staff I felt were indifferent the bar staff were rushed as always a queue only 1 or 2 working at any time and as for the resturant staff all of them were downright RUDE pushing apart from 1 her name was Linda she was the only one that had a smile and a hello for everyone lovely lady.

Night time entertainment was a huge disappointment there are only 2 entertainment staff so the entertainment was mainly you doing the entertaining she was great with the kids though, we only went up there twice after seeing what the entertainment was.

Overall ok for a budget if you have mobility problems this is really not the place for you even with our scooters we struggled you can hire scooters there for 100 euros a week we always take our own travel ones with us.

There is a market on twice a week just down the hill a bit same stuff all the time Town is not far the China shop is great for bargains seems to sell everything. plenty of restaurants in the town a great deal at the Aberdeen steak house 9 euros for a 3 course meal ok not massive steaks but big enough for me.

Beach area is lovely and if you go to the right it gets even better lovely hotels up that side lol. great pathways we had a lovely ride on our scooters (almost didnt make it back as batteries started dying)

After the first night I had no sleep as the mattress was no good felt all the springs so day 2 went to tell reception was told there was no other rooms available but they would try to locate me a mattress hm. Could not sleep on the sofa either as when tried to sit on it it sank after me and my mother struggling to pull it out found that the frame was all busted so another trip to reception they sent a maintenance man who said would come next day and fix.

Day 3 went to reception to ask wheres my mattress found the manager who said they were waiting for a "Brand new mattress" for me and it was arriving the next day after asking him what I was supposed to do in the meantime got a shrug. Tried putting the sofa mattrss on top of the mattress but felt like i was rolling off the bed. Friends arrived they were in bungalow 155 first nioght their little girl got bit by ants in the bed.

Day 4 the ever elusive mattress still not here got an apology from the manager but apologies no good to no one when no bed to sleep on and got more shrugs with a maybe tomorrrow Sofa got hammered together. ants back lol

Day 5 yet again was told no mattress had arrived by this time lack of decent sleep I made sure everyone heard me in the reception lo and behold a hour or so later a mattress arrived not a "Brand new one" but at least it was a mattress. Also asked reception to treat the ants. eventually got a couple of cans of spray from the cleaners and did a daily spray ourselves. this was the end of our involvement with the reception staff until we were checking out.

Would I stay there again No only due to the staffs attitude and not being helpful at all and the distance between the restaurant and main bar if your on all inclusive

Room Tip: B block pool is lovely and quiet but if you want the bar then C block is supposedly the newest block
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tartanlady02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We were a but sceptical about staying at this hotel after reading some of the reviews, but all I can conclude is that some people just like to moan! The rooms were lovely and cleaned 4 times in the 7 days we were there.

The food was nice and there was always lots of choice. Its not the most exciting food in the world, but we always left feeling full and happy. There was wine and beer at lunch and dinner time and the service was excellent.

The pools were nice with plenty of loungers, but we went out of season, so this may be different at a different time of year.The pool bar was good and the drinks were nice. The other 2 pool bars weren't open when we went, but this wasn't a problem for us. The evening entertainment was average, but I imagine it picks up later in the season.

The beach was a 10-15 minute walk away, but it was a good route and nice to stroll. There is a lovely beach side path that goes for miles, and its brilliant to walk along.

Overall, we had a great time and it was excellent value for money. Don't read the bad reviews. If you want 5 star luxury, then you need to pay for it. But for the money we paid, I can't fault it!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

As a general overall view, this hotel is ok if you are on a budget and with a young family. However, we felt let down as the original advertisement advised numerous pool bars, bars and places to eat. The reality is there is one bar a pool bar that transforms into the main and only place for evening entertainment. There is only one food hall where food is ok I suppose. Breakfast was ok, lunch reasonable and evening meal id pass. Food is available from the pool bar during the day however that is just hot dogs and cheese and ham toasties. Hotel was clean, kids entertainment was a struggle and not the best. Will not be revisiting.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed here all inclusive for 2 weeks. This complex is huge so if you like walking this is the place to go, the restaurant is located next to reception which is quite a walk from the main pool area, the adult pool is located in front of the restaurant and has no bar so it's quite a walk to get drink when the restaurant is closed.

The staff work really hard but they don't have the facilities to provide a really good service. The restaurant regularly runs out of the most basic food, chips/salad so you either wait for it and your other food gets cold or do without.

The snack bar runs out of snacks and sandwiches most days too. There just doesn't seem to be enough food for the capacity of the complex. Drinks are fine, the local beer is good but the bar shuts at 11pm which is far to early. The bar is the main pool bar, it's only half enclosed so on a night if you don't get up there early for a seat at the front you freeze. I would hate to see this place during the summer at full capacity as there are not enough sun loungers out of season unless you get up early, the lifeguard does watch how long towels are left and if it's more than 2 hours he moves them for other people, which I think is really good.

There is no adult entertainment except bingo every few nights and the occasional jazz performer, the rest of the time it is children's entertainment followed by karaoke which is more children's entertainment with the odd adult getting up to sing.

The first two days I woke up with ants on my pillow, then the cleaner seemed to sort it out, the beds were made and clean towels every other day. The bath had a few rust marks on it and every toilet roll holder on the complex seems to be broken.

Renting any items i.e. hairdryer, safety deposit box is a rip off and there are no free wifi areas. There is a little bar located inside the red shopping center called the Bell pub which has free wifi if you buy a drink, drinks are cheap there and it's nice to get away from the children's entertainment. The local bars and shops are quite a walk if you want a night out.

If you want a cheap deal and aren't to fussy then this place is good value for money but I won't be returning or recommending it to anyone. This place has a lot of potential to be much better but at the moment I would say it is a decent 2* at best. Pay the little bit extra and go to a hotel more centrally located near the beach or go to the El Trebol in Lanzarote and give this a miss.

Room Tip: No tips as no matter where you are you're either to far from the pool or restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sam08097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caleta de Fuste hotels
0.3 mi away
Broncemar Beach
Broncemar Beach
#12 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
3,472 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caleta Garden
Caleta Garden
#20 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
1,431 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Florida
Villa Florida
#8 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Costa Caleta
Hotel Costa Caleta
#9 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
3,137 reviews
0.4 mi away
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
#7 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
2,622 reviews
0.5 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caleta Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caleta Dorada

Address: C/ Barrilla, s/n, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua > Caleta de Fuste
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
Price Range: $90 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Caleta Dorada 3*
Number of rooms: 295
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Otel, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Caleta Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Caleta Dorada Hotel Caleta De Fuste
Hotel Caleta Dorada
Caleta Dorada Hotel
Caleta Dorada Fuerteventura/Caleta De Fuste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing