We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Elba Castillo San Jorge & Antigua Suite Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$125
$118
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Eurostars Las Salinas(Caleta de Fuste)
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Elba Sara(Caleta de Fuste)
$139
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Elba Palace Golf(Caleta de Fuste)
$164
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$166
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$135
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Broncemar Beach(Caleta de Fuste)
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Villa Florida(Caleta de Fuste)(Great Value!)
$66
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
VIP Villas(Caleta de Fuste)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,268)
Filter reviews
3,268 results
Traveler rating
1,363
1,189
461
151
104
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,363
1,189
461
151
104
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewdog and duck pubself cateringsnack barenglish pubsea frontgreat holidaybedroomed apartmentno air confidelity cardon the rocksthomas cookplenty of choicerestaurant staffevening entertainmentreception staffcooked fresh
Filter
Updating list...
2,698 - 2,703 of 3,268 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2007

Booked this Holiday in January 2007 as the family holiday for me and the mrs plus our two children, one age 3 1/2 yrs, the other 10 months. Two weeks later me and the girlfriend decided to get married and decided to use the holiday as our honeymoon.
We went all inclusive as we thought it best for our family and opted for this aparthotel specifically as we got a full kitchen, unusual on anything other than self catering. We had requested a one bed apart but was actually given a two bed which was great as we then didnt have to tiptoe around the kids once they were asleep. The room was very modern, clean and well maintained and was cleaned 5 out of the seven days we were there so couldnt be faulted in that dept.
The complex was quiet but it was very large which i wasnt expecting as id of prefered something smaller but thats not a fault of the hotel. The pools were excellent and we spent 5 of the days around the pool of the San Jorge complex which was sheltered from the wind, not overly busy and had a great snack bar selling burgers, chips and plenty of cold beer which were all included in the AI option of course. The buffet style breakfast had many choices from english(well sort of) to contintental to cold meats and cheeses. The evening meal offered great choice including excellent salad but the main food was a bit bland but hey it wasnt an a la carte restaurant! Not sure its the best place for a honeymoon but great for a family holiday if you've got young kids.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank sebasteeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2007

it was a lovely hotel very clean, apartment was very good lots of room a lovely view from the apartment of the sea crashing against the rocks. food in the restaurant was very good , one of the snack bars wasnt very good as food was not up to standard.
the beach was very clean and the water was beautiful even the harbour was lovely. the beach was a 10 minute walk from the hotel walking along the coastal path where you could see wild chipmunks on the rocks and you can feed them and they would right up close to you. the childrens entertainment was excellent but the evening entertainment wasnt to bad some were a bit boring and some were excellent the african footprints were brilaint doing all there acrobats. the pools were excellent lots of sunbeds but you had to get them early. lots of shops and restaurants not far from hotel about 5mins away.a fantastic week would go back again. we went from 13th june to the 20th june 2007

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank ammers20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2007

The apartments were fantastic, clean, spacious (SEA VIEW is a must) reception were very helpful and nothing was to much trouble.
The apartments lacked airconditioning and there were no shutters so you could not leave windows open - it heated up very quickly and got quite stuffy overnight.
We were really close to the airport - so it is cheaper and quicker to get a taxi outside (about 10euros) than to arrange transfers.
There was an odd plane over the Hotel but we were not in the main flight path and the last flight came in before 11pm.
However I have to say that was about the best of the resort, the weather was unusually very cloudy for May.
The resort is also very english! So if pints of lager, a full english and roast dinners are your thing then this is the place for you.
We enjoy the winding back streets and little taverners and Caleta de Fusta doesn't have any - it appears to have been purpose built for the english tourists. There was no local cuisine. Food was served with chips or jacket potatoes (and we tried 7 different restaurants) . There is a fantastic walk along the seafront where the waves crashed on the rocks and NOT one bar to sit and watch the sun go down and the world go by, what a watse!! We have visited the island before and had a fantastic time with great food, this resort just wasn't for us..........

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Legsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2007

we have just returned home to birmingham after spending a fortnight at the antigua/san jorge and I must say we had a thoroughly enjoyable
holiday! The hotel is constantly kept clean and tidy, with clean towels supplied to us in our room every two days! We stayed on an all
inclusive basis, but was slightly disappointed with the choice and quality of the food. Breakfast was the best meal of the day, the evening meal the worst! Dinner time meal choices seemed to be an amalgamation of the other two sittings, consequently we chose to eat in the snack bar, near the restaurant during dinner, as it seemed to offer a wider menu! Our only other gripe with the restaurant, was a few days into the holiday a number of Spanish guests arrived and instantly all other guests became second class citizens, not just the majority english guests, but also the few, Italian, French and German ones too! All of a sudden the main body of the restaurant became reserved for their use, with all other guests made to use the side tables! If you managed to sit at a reserved table you were immediately asked to move, but generally you were pounced on by staff
as you set foot in the restaurant and escorted to a side table. The really annoying point about this, is the Spanish guests generally didn't turn up to eat until the other guests had eaten and left, so whilst you sat there eating the main body of the restaurant was empty, bar the tables and reservation cards! Then after four days they were gone and you were allowed again to sit at any table! I had intended to take this up with the rep, well at least I would have done if I had found him! I am however sending e-mails to the tour oprator and the hotel management, though I will be shocked if I recieve a satisfactory reply! Anyway, back to the hotel, facilities are limited, no gym, sauna, etc, but the three pool areas are excellent and well maintained, apart from the odd item of rubbish generally left lying about. This, though is down to the standard of a minority of guests, who are too bone idle to put it in a bin, rather than the standard of staff, who generally work hard and are friendly! It's a little disappointing that the hotel management dosen't train up it's staff to learn the English language, so as communication between staff and guests is improved, after all ninety percent of guests are English, and Caleta is predominately an English
resort! I must give a message of appreciation to the entertainment staff at the hotel, there are only four of them, Nadia, Julia, Oswald
and Alessandro, who always seem to be there seven days a week, trying
to get guests involved, only to be met with a wall of apathy! Most of
the vain ones can't tear themselves away from the sunloungers! Can't say a lot more, though the hotel has a good collection of walkways and elevators, so moving luggage about isn't a chore. It's ideally located for the town and beach, with excellent views of the sea at the rear! Caleta itself is lovely and clean, along with being peaceful. It really is the ideal resort for families, where you can unwind and chill out! The only problem is, you have to eventually return to reality! I would hesitate in returning to the island, resort or hotel, as generally we had an excellent holiday!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank wuggahumtamuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2007

Stayed there for the second time & were not dissapointed. Would agree with the previous ratings (not the best for honeymooners!). Great for small (& not so small) children. Plenty to do for all if you are that way inclined & yet plenty of peace & quiet should you wish. Out & about there is plenty to see & do within easy walking distance.
The complex is self contained and you could possibly spend an enjoyable week there without having to venture out!
AI was great value & good that ice cream available at all times! Unlike other places bottles of water were readily available & the local drinks were also excellent.
Appartments were spotless but the thing that makes it special were the staff who ensure that your stay is enjoyable. From the cleaners, through the restaurants & bars to the management not enough could be done for you.
Already in the process of booking flights to go back in September.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank k1sra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews