We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant hotel and lovely resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Elba Castillo San Jorge & Antigua Suite Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“brilliant hotel and lovely resort”
Reviewed May 21, 2007

We stayed at the san jorge from the 5th may until the 19th may 07.
We had to check into the middle reception being antigua, even though we were staying in the san jorge.
Was a bit disappointed that they had split our family up putting 2 of us on one floor either ends and my mum on the above floor. Was told this is because airtours will only stay in the san-jorge part of the hotel and there isnt a lot of s/c studios.
There is 2 supermarkets onsite one is open from morning till midnight and the other a couple of hrs in the morning then a couple of hrs in the afternoon. There is also a laundrette on site.
There is 3 pools the one in the suites being the quietest out of them all. Each pool has its own snack bar/cafe.
Bedding was only changed once a week and towels changed on mon,wed and friday. there is no cleaner on thursdays and sundays.
The rooms are very clean but do lack storage space , there was a wardrobe with 6 coathangers and 2 bed side lockers with 1 drawer each which was a struggle when there was 3 of us in this room. we had 2 lay one of the suitcases in the bottom of the wardrobe as a glorified drawer and the other suitcase under the dresser as another drawer.
The kitchen part in our room was smaller than the wardrobe the lenght being the size of the sink and drainer with a single hob next to it. There was no cupboard space for any food u purchased. They did have built in microwaves , kettle and toaster.

We found all the staff really helpful and pleasant. especially Francis at reception.

There was a offer on whilst we was there to upgrade to all inclusive for 20 euros each for adults per day. which was a brilliant offer. We got unlimited drinks , including water, also icecream tubs. The breakfast was either the continental, british fryup, there was also cereal, toast and pancakes. Fresh fruit and croissants and danishes.

Dinner u could eat either in the restaurant or at any of the snack bars.
The evening meal was also buffet style in the restaurant and there was always plenty of choice from salads, fish, steaks, pasta, rice, and usually another meat. And of course there was a fridge full of desserts. The drinks were waiter service . Once again in here we found the staff very helpful. especially danni.

There is a couple of bars for the evening . The bufalo bar which had a mini disco for the kids with a caracter called pepe. Then after there was entertainment for the adults. U could use your all inclusive bands in here. There was also another bar called the english bar which also accepted the all inclusive bands. This was a bit quieter and had pool tables in and did cocktails.

The other bar was called the kings arms and u couldnt use the bands in here, but it did a nice pint of beer.

There was a small selection of eating out places with this bein a small resort. But the faldo is well worth a visit.

The beach is about a 5 min walk away but we found that the sea was unsuitable there as the shore was full of rocks and my children couldnt get over them.

But we did discover that there was another beach 5 mins further on.or u could use the golf courtesy bus the hotel laid on free of charge.. This started at 9.45 in the morn and ran every hour. This took u to there atlantico centre a small shopping centre with spar inside it. U walked though and the beaches were on the other side. they had goregeous sand and not a stone in site. But plenty of fish. The beds u could hire for 9 euros for 2.

We also found that if go all inclusive and put your order in b4 6pm the evening b4 the hotel would do u a picnic. which consisted off 2 sandwiches each, a apple, orange, bottle of water, carton of juice and a yogurt.

We have only been back 48 hrs and have already booked for next year as we really enjoyed this holiday very much.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
12 Thank laydytea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,160
    1,059
    421
    145
    98
See reviews for
1,175
1,206
33
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (948)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
swansea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2007

This was my first holiday abroad for 4 years and it was well worth the wait. We booked through a travel agent to depart from Bristol on 21st May.

Unfortunately, and unbeknownst to me (honesty!!!) it was FA cup final day and was I glad that I had booked the executive lounge at Bristol Airport!! The flight was delayed for several hours because of bad weather and lightening. My boyfriend was less than impressed however when they finally called our flight just as it was going to penalty shots! LOL!

The flight over was good and when we arrived at Fuerteventura the airport was clean and the weather was quite warm.
We travelled with My Travel and the only thing that I will say is that we almost missed our apartment drop off because the rep didn't speak very clearly and us and several other families sitting towards the back of the coach couldn't hear what she was saying.

We stayed in Castillo San Jorge, although we had to check in via the Antigua. They were very helpful and we found our apartment easily.

The apartment was clean and huge considering it was a studio. The kitchen area was an ok size althoguh we didn't eat very much through the day because of the heat and we ate out every night.
The only thing I will say about the hotel is that we were woken up at stupid times in the morning by kids running around the corridor outside and screaming but that is more to do with the parents not being considerate really.
We didn't use the pool very much because we had a balcony which was overlooked by the Antigua and they were doing some renovation work on the aparments opposite so no one was in them which was great! Unfortunately my boyfriend tried to be the tough man and didn't put suncream on the first day (he thought it was quite breezy) and he burnt all on his neck and back, so beware of the sun! It might seem cool but its actually very strong!

Food is reasonable as is alcohol and if your going to eat out, try the restaurant on the corner of the street but on the opposite side of the road (can't remember what it is called) but when we went they had a very nice waiter who looked like the spitting image of Richard Gere back in his pretty woman days! Very pleasing on the eye!!

There is a nice English Pub on the opposite side from the restaurant and I think it is called the Kings Head or something like that. Go and see "Wee Bob" on his karoke nights! Be careful of the cats though, they are very tame and they come up looking for food but I think they might be full of fleas!!

Lots of chipmunks around by the hotel in the rocks and they are fun to feed! Also if you walk along the sea front around to the next beach, there is a ship that has seal shows!

All in all, a very good week away, and a very relaxing break!

  • Liked — The location and amenities around it
  • Disliked — The noise from other hotel users
  • Stayed May 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank dani_cass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbots Langley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2007

We stayed in the San Jorge apartments from 11th to 18th April, we being myself my husband and our five year old twins. We booked through Lastminute.com and got a very reasonable deal, particularly as they allocated us two apartments as apparantly the one bedrooms only sleep 3, however the sofa has a pull out bed underneath so my two slept quite comfortably on this, and we used the other apartment for storage!
The hotel complex is vast, with three lovely pools, although the one at San Jorge is cold as it is in the shade for quite a lot of the day. There were always plenty of sunbeds. We found the hotel very clean,and the two supermarkets well stocked.
Maid service is five times a week, we always had clean towels, bedding was changed once, and they were very helpful when my small daughter was sick one night, and provided us with clean bedding immediately. The apartments themselves were sparsely stocked, and we were self catering, but who wants to eat in on holiday??
The hotel is about a 15 minute walk to the main resort if you take the scenic route, which is lovely - feed the chipmunks on the way. It is only 5 minutes the other way which is handy if youre in a hurry. i recommend the Fado Rock Steakhouse, where you get a massive portion served up on skillets for you to help yourself - this restaurant is always packed full which is a good sign!
It is windy, which can be annoying when you get a mouthful of sand, and cool when the sun goes behind a cloud, which it did quite a lot, although we still came back with great tans! Take a cardi for the evening.
Avoid the Baku waterpark like the plague! It is a total rip off! We got a bus there, which was fun cos we got to see a bit of the island, but the park itself is vastly overpriced. They charge you a huge entrance fee, on top of that you have to pay for tyres, which if you dont buy you cant ride on two of the rides, they also charge you for the sunbeds which is outrageous as theres nowhere else to sit! They then closed all the rides at 4.30 which caused uproar as it wasnt supposed to shut until 5, and I had a blazing Spanglish row with an attendant who turned the changing room lights out at 4.45 whilst we were still getting dressed, and refused to turn them back on!!!
However this didnt spoil our overall holiday. Come to the San Jorge apartments for a nice relaxing break, dont expect amazing nightlife, cos there isnt any, but as a family, we would definately return

  • Liked — Clean, spacious, great location
  • Disliked — Cold pools
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cuddlebunny11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newhaven, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2007

We stayed at these apartments between 28 March & 11 April this year - the weather was fantastic (including the Delta which blew its way through the resort on our last Sunday).

Before we left for Fuerteventura we had read some of the reviews on TA but didn't believe some of them - this wasn't our first visit to Caleta so we had seen the complex before. When we arrived we found out we were in the Antigua and the family we were travelling with were in the San Jorge - which wasn't a huge problem but it would have been better if we had been in the same building. We booked these apartments in particular because we had previously seen the size of the rooms - most of
the studios are huge. However on opening the door to our studio apartment it was actually a glorified hotel room with minimal self catering facilities and nowhere to sit apart from on the bed. The room had only been made up for 2 not 3, so after a few trips to Reception we finally had the full compliment of bed linen, towels and crockery - we even had to ask for a kettle!

There wasn't much room to store clothes - only a wardrobe with no shelves - all our clothes had to be piled up in the bedside tables so we spent 2 weeks in a complete mess.

Cleanliness wasn't top priority either - the maid wasn't in the room very long and we only had two towels each and a bathmat on two occasions. Other towel change days we had to negotiate with the maid to get an extra hand towel or a bath mat so we didn't slip over on the floor! We even tried hiding the towels but she found them and removed them! The communal stairways were never swept and the pool in the San Jorge was only cleaned every other day.

As we were there under self catering basis we didn't experience the food in the hotel. We did use the English Pub on the day before we came home and the bar staff did seem quite friendly - even though we weren't all inclusive he allowed the kids to have free tea and cake.

All in all a great holiday but I don't think we'll go back to these
apartments.

  • Liked — Location - central for eating out
  • Disliked — Cleanliness & size of room
  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Lilbee67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cwmbran
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2007

good points in bullet points:
-very close to the beach.
-the food in the buffet restraunt was lovely.
-the pools were lovely and clean.
-the resort was very quiet

bad points in bullet points:
-there was not enough staff in any of the bars.
-the evening entertainment was not that good.
-the staff would serve non all-inclusive guests first.
-the staff would not serve children in the evenings unless they were accompanied by an adult.

  • Liked — pool
  • Disliked — bar staff
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank fan_liverpool_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2007

We stayed from 28th Mar to 4th Apr and loved it. My 5 yr old is in a wheelchair so access always an issue but this place was excellent. There were ramps or lifts to every part of the hotel so it was a piece of cake to get around. The apartment was clean and tidy, we paid for the sea view which was nice, only complaint was that we had to ask for towels to be changed and the beds werent changed whilst we were there.

We opted for self catering so ate out which was really good as plenty of places to go, i highly recommend El Paco, food was excellent and they really look after you. We also ate in the Al a Carte restaurant under the suites which was really nice but if you want lobster you have to choose it from the tank which i couldnt do!

Only a 4 min walk to the beach, although the beds and parasols are expensive at 9euros for 2. If you walk along the sea front for a further 7 mins there is a beautiful, much quieter beach.

The weather sometimes felt cold because of the wind but if you propped a sunbed up to protect from the wind it was boiling! We all came home with really good tans. You do need something warm for the evenings though as it does get really nippy and forget the hairspray as you tend to get a bit windswept, ha ha

All in all it is one of the best holidays ive been on and would definately recommend it.

  • Liked — Access for the disabled
  • Disliked — Beds werent changed
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ems24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lothian, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2007

We stayed at the Castillo San Jorge on a self-catering basis for the week 28 March to 4 April 2007.

Overall our experience was very positive, and we’d have no qualms about going back. A few specific points:

Airport/Transfer
The airport is small and easy to find your way around. Transfer time from the airport to Caleta de Fuste (Costa Caleta) is no more than 15 minutes. There tend to be a few drop-off points so it may take slightly longer to reach your accommodation. We took the coach provided by the operator (Air Tours), which was fine. It would be just as easy to get a taxi – plentiful and cheap.

Accommodation
The Castillo San Jorge is one of three adjacent aparthotel complexes – the other two are the Castillo de Antigua and the Castillo Suites. Guests of any one of these effectively share the facilities of all three complexes. Check-in for all 3 takes place at the Castillo de Antigua. This was quick and straightforward. We had e-mailed the hotel 10 days or so before departure and requested a sea-view. They responded quickly and confirmed it – we paid the additional charge (€14 per night - €84 for the week) at check-in. In my opinion it was well worth paying the extra to guarantee the sea-view, which was fantastic.

Apartment
We (self, wife and 13 year old son) had a one bedroom apartment on the third floor, with a bed/settee in the living area. It had a spacious balcony (great view) with a table and a couple of chairs and a drying rail for clothes. The kitchenette has a 2 ring electric hob and a microwave (no cooker). There is a kettle, toaster and basic pots/pans and cooking utensils. The self-catering facility is basic, but adequate. Eating out is more fun anyway.
A cleaner comes in 5 times per week (not Thursday or Sunday). Towels are changed 3 times per week and bedding once. There is a TV with a few English Speaking channels (SKY News, Fox TV, Eurosport). Overall the apartment was comfortable, clean and in decent condition. There are also half-board and ‘all inclusive’ options available, but I can’t comment on the quality of food/service in these.

Supermarkets
There are two small supermarkets on site. A very small one in the Castillo San Jorge and a slightly bigger one under the Castillo Suites. They’ve got basically anything you might want, but a better option might be to take a walk along the sea-front to the Centro Atlantico. This is a shopping centre with all the usual stuff (including Burger King, Amusement Arcade, Cinema, Bowling Alley), but also includes a reasonably large EuroSpar supermarket. The prices are better here – as is the choice (except, bizarrely, no fresh milk!). You can get a taxi back with all your shopping (€3).

Swimming Pools
Each of the 3 complexes has their own pool. When we were there the San Jorge pool was cold. Very cold. I think the problem is that it is in the courtyard of the complex and the sun is not continually hitting it (and it’s otherwise unheated). There are plenty of sun loungers, although – again – they are often in the shade depending on the sun movement.

The pool at the de Antigua is more open, more often in the sun and consequently warmer. For these same reasons it’s also busier around that pool.

Resort
Caleta de Fuste (in some cases it’s now being marketed as Costa Caleta) is a small, quiet, family orientated place developed around a man-made beach and shallow bay. The sea was still pretty cold when we were there, but fine when you were eventually in it. There are numerous bars and restaurants with plenty of amusement arcades and mini-golf courses to keep the kids amused. There are also loads of chipmunks living in the rocks at the side of the aparthotel – buy some nuts and amuse the kids by hand-feeding them. Live English and Scottish football games are widely available in the bars.

Weather
This was the most disappointing aspect of our trip. We stepped out of Fuerteventura Airport into a strong breeze and a light shower. Thankfully, that was the only rain we saw during the week, but the strong breeze and cloudy skies remained for the first couple of days. It was always warm, but the combination of wind and cloud meant that full-on sun-bathing opportunities were limited. Watch the sun, though – it may feel cool, but you still need sun-protection.

Overall it was a good, relaxing break. Both accommodation and resort were good. I’d recommend this complex. If anyone has any specific questions please post them on the Forum and I’ll try to answer them.

  • Liked — Quiet, clean, comfortable
  • Disliked — Very basic equipment for self-catering
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank DG145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caleta de Fuste
0.6 mi away
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
#7 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
2,473 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
1.2 mi away
Hotel Elba Sara
Hotel Elba Sara
#3 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
3,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Elba Carlota
Hotel Elba Carlota
#5 of 27 in Antigua
4,011 reviews
1.1 mi away
Elba Lucia Sport & Suite Hotel
Elba Lucia Sport & Suite Hotel
#9 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
1,313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Costa Caleta
Hotel Costa Caleta
#11 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
2,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elba Castillo San Jorge & Antigua Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elba Castillo San Jorge & Antigua Suite Hotel

Property: Elba Castillo San Jorge & Antigua Suite Hotel
Address: Avenida Jose Franchy Roca s/n | Urb El Castillo, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua > Caleta de Fuste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Caleta de Fuste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Elba Castillo San Jorge & Antigua Suite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
smartline Castillo de Antigua is located right on the seafront promenade, and offers a breath-taking view of the Atlantic. The hotel offers a varied activity program for all ages throughout the day. For the younger guests, there is a kids' club at the hotel. If you want to explore the surroundings, the waterfront promenade is very inviting for a stroll, long walks and jogging, and the town centre is just a short walk away! If you want a relaxing holiday, you can chill out by one of the hotel's four pools. smartline Castillo de Antigua features a total of 272 bright and modernly furnished rooms and apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elba Castillo San Jorge & Antigua Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Castillo San Jorge / Antigua / Caleta De Fuste
Castillo San Jorge
Castillo De San Jorge
Elba Castillo San Jorge & Antigua Suite Hotel Fuerteventura/Caleta De Fuste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing