We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT BAD FOR A CHEAPY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Elba Castillo San Jorge & Antigua Suite Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2010

As one lady has already mentioned, being situated over three complexes is a little confusing! We arrived late evening then had to treck to the last block where we were which was the castillo suites. First impression was, massive room/apartment with small kitchen area which did not bother us as we were AI. Seperate bedroom, living area with comfy coutch but very small telly! Small bathroom but, and... NO AIR CON!!! Was confused as i imagined most places had AC now??!!
First day we realised that the sun loungers were those really uncomfortable plastic ones which I could not lie on for 2 weeks so found that we could rent matress from the shop-5 euro each deposit a day then 1 euro to hire so we spent 20 euros extra just on those.
Then, the towel situation occured with the jobs- worth pool attendant. There were signs saying you could not reserve loungers between 10 and half 6, ok fair enough. We were up at 7.15 and then had to sit with them as the pool guy was going round swiping all towels if no body was on them and putting them all into a big tub. However, he was then swiping them after the times that were allowed!! he even began to take them when people were having lunch! He said half an hour to us, so we had to take in turns to go for breakfast and lunch with other familes we met to all guard each others towels- NOT GOOD.

Rooms were given a cats lick of a clean, one day left with one clean towel between 2 of us and heard that it had happened to others so rang reception and got 4 towels. Beds were only changed once in whole stay on second to last??!

Food, ok a bit bland. Ok if you like chips, chips, chips or pasta! Staff very nice, very friendly, got the impression understaffed though. Drinks very strong!!

Overall, an ok stay just apart from the few little things. Fantasic location, brilliant veiws of sea. Caleta town itself lovley and quiet, nice restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blondiebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,933)
There are newer reviews for Elba Castillo San Jorge & Antigua Suite Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,308 - 2,314 of 2,933 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2010

The joinig of 3 hotels is always going to cause confusion, so when you arrive at 2100 hrs with 2 small children (2 & 5) and get told your accommodation is in the next building on the second floor, it makes you wonder??..........if only it was that easy, 30 min later we eventually found our room, 2 hotels down and on the 3rd floor! The accommodation itself was okay except we had no towels or AC as mentioned, in fact there is no AC anywhere, not even the dining area!. The food was okay but could get repetative if you are staying for more than a week.

The cleaners are supposed to be round 5 days a week, we saw them twice and once we received towels they were only changed once in the 7 days we were there, which is not what it states in your arrival pack.

The entertainment in the hotel was average, a parrot and snake display was less than entertaining!! that combined with the sick smelling drain in the bar area didn't really encourage you to want to sit around! The kids disco was good for the first night but if you are thinking of going every night you'll definatley know the songs by the end of your stay..........over and over again, a severe lack of imagination!!

A really disappointing stay at an AI establishment.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
Thank Army394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

Just returned from stay at,CASTELLO SAN JORGE.Place in need of a good revamp..... Bath had three repair jobs done on it,Had to wear flip flops for health and safety .Microwave must have been taken from skip ,that was outside our appartment,that was set alight and sent tick black smoke into our rooms.When reported to hotel they just replied that they where aware of it.If Going selfcatering bring the kitchen sink and all that goes with it as you could not cook a light meal in the apartment unless you did an S.A.S. survival course ..All toasters kettle ..e.c.t. must be hired.. There IS NO COURTESY ROOM AVAILABLE if you have to get a late flight..The manager of the hotel was not availabe as he was in Lanzarote on holidays.... Unless you go all inclusive Not recommended at all.And that by no means is a recommendation for this Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berdee_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

wonderful views if you have sea view rooms which we got for free after moaning about 1st room it faced street just said it was noisy got free upgrade reception were excelent.
food plenty of it and was reasonably varied (they do like thier pork chops) had no issues with food or restaurant all pretty good
bars good service comprehensive drinks list for all inclusive plenty of pool tables about some board games available in english bar.
entertainment some good some not so good big gripe showbar toilets disgusting absolutely stank like open sewer you could smell them from the bar
pools are in need of urgent maintenance tiles missing so bad you can see concrete also tiles round edges very poorley maintained watch youre step as far as sunbeds went no problem getting even at 10.00 in morning
location is fab right next to sea good for fishing diving off rocks good but be careful some shelves just below surface easy to see though can be diffficult to get out as sea can be quite choppy beach is only 2mins away through town or 5mins by pretty coast route all in all we all enjoyed our week also do not use holiday company transfers at £20 each transfers for u cost £42.00 for 5 of us return and they were top notch hope this helps you make your mind up have a nice holiday where ever you go

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hackdadda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

Dissappointing sums up the experience. The San Jorge forms part of a 3 unit complex on the outskirts of the resort. We went in the 1st week of July and despite it being the begining of the season the hotel was in need of serios modernisation and a good lick of paint.. The hotel was run down and about 75% of the shops and aminities qwere closed or shut - a function of the economy perhaps. There are three pools all bloody freezing!

The room itself was spacious but basic with no air con (although a fan can be hired at 10 Euros pw) - not really needed though. Pool loungers were crap and many were broken. Blow up rings/beds etc were "not permitted" in the pool and the attendant maintained guard in the mornings. It would seem this was due to "Health & Safety reasons" but the same level of H&S was not extended to the numerous trip hazards, tangles life buoys or very old looking fire extinguishers.

The staff were very frindly & helpful except the reception staff who were a law unto themselves and off hand. Food is typical of AI but very good quality & varied.

In week 1 the main contingent was Brits, Irish and others but week 2 was premoninantly loud, brash Spannish & French - no sign of any Russians though.

Resort: Plastic and run down.

Excursions: Recomend the Jeep safari & caterman trip.

Avis Car hire - bloody useless. Go round the corner to the many on street vendors - cheaper and more efficient.

In all not one of the best. I would recommend you find another place to stay. 4 Srtar it aint!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2010

The hotel is on the sea front on the outer edge of the resort so is in a quiet location which is good when travelling with small children. The hotel in general is clean and tidy and definatly no worse than a lot of 3 star hotels we have stayed in around the world. On arrival we were allocated rooms right above reception and opposite the lifts, first impression was to complain and move but the hotel was quiet so noise hardly ever bothered us. In fact the hotel being quiet went against us in some respects as only 1 buffet resteraunt was open (for breakfast, lunch and dinner) and 1 bar on an evening which as you can imagine being all inclusive after staying for 2 weeks got a bit repetative (unlike the brochure that describes 3 resteraunts and 3 bars). However none of this spolit our holiday, the hotel is no way as bad as some reviews make it out to be and we would stay there again maybe for a shorter break. All in all you get what you pay for and if you want all singing all dancing then you have to pay the price. Being a young family we got value for money and could always get something to eat or drink.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marksal07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2010

We spent a week all inclusive at this hotel with tow other families and a week was far too long, On arrival our room was full of ants and the fridge still had left over food in from the previous guests. We were eventually moved to another room which was slightly better but the rooms are not cleaned properly and your bedding gets changed once. The breakfasts were cold despite complaining twice to the rep nothing was done, Nothing is cooked properly any meats we got were raw inside and ended up getting left and it does not cater at all for children. What you see in the holiday brochure is not what you get everything in the hotel grounds is closed or empty. The only good point of the holiday apart from leaving to come home was feeding the chip monks.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jessroco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caleta de Fuste
0.6 mi away
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
#7 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
2,509 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel Elba Carlota
Hotel Elba Carlota
#5 of 27 in Antigua
4,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Elba Sara
Hotel Elba Sara
#3 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
3,818 reviews
1.1 mi away
Elba Lucia Sport & Suite Hotel
Elba Lucia Sport & Suite Hotel
#9 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
1,354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Costa Caleta
Hotel Costa Caleta
#10 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
3,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elba Castillo San Jorge & Antigua Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elba Castillo San Jorge & Antigua Suite Hotel

Address: Avenida Jose Franchy Roca s/n | Urb El Castillo, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua > Caleta de Fuste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Caleta de Fuste
Price Range: $84 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elba Castillo San Jorge & Antigua Suite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
smartline Castillo de Antigua is located right on the seafront promenade, and offers a breath-taking view of the Atlantic. The hotel offers a varied activity program for all ages throughout the day. For the younger guests, there is a kids' club at the hotel. If you want to explore the surroundings, the waterfront promenade is very inviting for a stroll, long walks and jogging, and the town centre is just a short walk away! If you want a relaxing holiday, you can chill out by one of the hotel's four pools. smartline Castillo de Antigua features a total of 272 bright and modernly furnished rooms and apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elba Castillo San Jorge & Antigua Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Castillo San Jorge / Antigua / Caleta De Fuste
Castillo San Jorge
Castillo De San Jorge
Elba Castillo San Jorge & Antigua Suite Hotel Fuerteventura/Caleta De Fuste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing