We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Elba Castillo San Jorge & Antigua Suite Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Eurostars Las Salinas(Caleta de Fuste)
$116
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Elba Sara(Caleta de Fuste)
$156
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$185
$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$140
$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Elba Palace Golf(Caleta de Fuste)
$162
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Broncemar Beach(Caleta de Fuste)
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Villa Florida(Caleta de Fuste)(Great Value!)
$66
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
VIP Villas(Caleta de Fuste)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,265)
Filter reviews
3,265 results
Traveler rating
1,362
1,187
461
151
104
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,362
1,187
461
151
104
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewdog and duck pubself cateringsnack barenglish pubsea frontgreat holidaybedroomed apartmentno air confidelity cardon the rocksthomas cookplenty of choicerestaurant staffevening entertainmentreception staffcooked fresh
Filter
Updating list...
2,110 - 2,115 of 3,265 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2013

M e and my boyfriend stayed here in the Castillo Suites over Christmas and new year for 2 weeks with Thomas cook for £620pp sc weather was great, transfers are only 5mins from the airport but the only thing about having your transfers included is the rush of everyone getting off the bus to get into the que to check-in, as there is only 1 reception desk with 2 staff and there very slow. i would recommend getting a taxi as its only 5 mins away and would be much quicker, as we waited over 45 mins for the coach to leave .

There is 3 buildings to this hotel, we were self catering and
got put in the far away building, good views of sea and pool and big enough room but only 3 English news channels and you could hear the people next door going to the toilet during the night, on the bottom ground floor is private bars and shops which are open late and play loud music into the early hours, so if you want peace and quiet and night on your holiday this is not the place. It has 3 bigish pools but 2 of them don't really get the sun only the main one to the back of the hotel looking onto the sea, so this was very busy so we didn't sunbathe there at all and the sun beds were really old and dirty and a lot of rubbish around from everyone that was all inclusive.

The food was not great here, we got upgraded on our second week to b&b because the cleaner sprayed our room with mosquito repellent at night while we were out, we couldn't breathe when we got back at 9pm so we went to reception and they told us someone
had requested this to be done to our room, but it wasn't us as we were out, so we complained to the hotel manager (not the rep) the next day he upgraded us but the food at breakfast was rubbish, coffee was ok. The phones did not work the whole 2 weeks we stayed, so couldnt recieve any calls from family on christmas.

The shops aren't great in this part of Fuerteventura so at night its a bit boring but the beaches are great, the best restaurant is Fado Rock 9only a 5-10 min walk away) we ate there most nights and most nights we had to queue to get in but it was worth the wait, would recommend the mixed grill only 11 euros and it comes on hot volcanic rock still cooking amazing to watch,
The Aberdeen steak house they do fish, chips and a salad which was great and very big for 4.95euros but service was slow.

There is a free bus every 30mins form the hotel reception that takes you to and from the shopping centre which has burger king, a cinema, spar etc, if you get off here you walk through the shopping center and it takes you out to the lovely man-made beach.

If you have the money i would recommend staying somewhere else in the area, but if you get a good deal its ok if your self catering, its a good location with some good resturants and bars and near the airport but i wouldnt go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on top floor...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dumbartonlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CASTILLOSANJORGE, General Manager at Elba Castillo San Jorge & Antigua Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear dumbartonlady:Thanks very much for transmit your opinion about your experience that will help us to improve the services. We take a note of the differents point you mention , we will be working in order bring the solution to it and avoid that happen again.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The hotel was a little dated but comfortable and we had a room facing the sea which was very pleasant.

The food was ok, we could always find something to eat and the snack bar was pretty good too.

All the staff work very hard and nothing was too much for them, I enjoyed trying out the little Spanish I have learned and I was encouraged and praised for my effort.

I must say on reading past reviews and some of the complaints I dont understand why if people pay for 3 star they expect 4.. At this hotel its worth its 3 stars and I couldnt complain.

I also read about the suncare lady in a previous review. I found Sandra to be a very pleasant lady who offered great advice, she was always available to answer questions and she was helpful to me..I got really bad prickly heat then I was bitten by mozzies. She had the perfect solution with her teatree lotion and aloe vera and rosehip..It was a genuine relief straight away. So thanks to her and a big thanks to the staff at the San Jorge x

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandybeaches66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CASTILLOSANJORGE, General Manager at Elba Castillo San Jorge & Antigua Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear Sandybeaches66: You mention in your review that you had a great time, that is the best gift you can give to us, also have a nice apreciation about our staff. Thanks very much. You will be welcome back to our hotel.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

this hotel is three seperate blocks san jorge is one block, antiguathe main hotel where the restaruant and entertainment and reception are. the third block being the suites which seem to be not used. we stayed in the san jorge on the third floor in a one bedroom apartment on an all inclusive basis the room was very large with balcony everything we needed as some reviews said could do with a bit of t l c but they do have a high turnover of guests 52 weeks of the year so must be difficult to keep on top of but that said it was comfortable and everything worked. in this block it was very quiet and peacefull . the food in the resturant we found was very good always a good choice a grill chef cooking on the spot steaks/chops/fish. some reviews said it was samey but we found it was varied with theme nights mexican/asian/italian and international, but remember that they cater for guests from all over europe and beyond we thought it was excellent. now as for the staff every one was friendly and all greeted you with a hola and a smile. the girls in reception were very informative and friendly , in the restaruant sergio and his team were brilliant and never stopped working i needed a drink just watching them. entertainment was a bit like hi de hi but fun. the hotel is very close to costa coleta every thing you need within 10 mins walk and mostly on the flat. we went with thomas cook the reps gillian and dev were always on hand if you needed them but beware of the welcome meeting more like a sales pitch meeting . so overall a great holiday good hotel and lovely people would we go back? yes a really good sunny winter break for two weeks

Room Tip: san jorge block high floor for quiet rooms
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonnyboy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CASTILLOSANJORGE, General Manager at Elba Castillo San Jorge & Antigua Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear jonnyboy58: Thanks very much for your review, we really apreciate you enjoyed how you call "really good sunny winter break for two weeks ", that means we make our jobs and you value it.
Our door is open, anytime you want will be welcome.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This hotel is a very good base for exploring Caleta, on the sea front and 2 mins away from all the main shopping area's.

The rooms are quite basic but comfortable and the pools are well maintained,

I enjoyed the laughs with the animation team and the bar staff were lovely especially Maria and Ines.

I bought suncare cream's from the lady at the pool and I actually got a tan this time. I followed her instructions on application and I was fine. I heard that the lady who was burned went out on a boat trip and didnt apply a higher factor..Everyone knows that it is silly to do that. Anyway, I'm happy, no prickly heat and a lovely tan at last.

I really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandybbfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CASTILLOSANJORGE, General Manager at Elba Castillo San Jorge & Antigua Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear Sandybbfan : Thanks very much for recommend our hotel, we are so happy that you spend your time with us and even more because you has been a nice stay.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Just got back from the Castillo San Jorge, staying in a 1 bedroom apartment. Apartments are a really good size, very basically equipped but the electrical equipment all worked. Bathrooms are a good size too with a decent power shower. The cleaning does leave a bit to be desired though as all they seem to do is sweep the floor, and there was 1 bedding and 2 towel changes in the week.
Ladies, you will need to take a hair dryer - there isn't one in the apartments.
Eating out: We didn't eat in the hotel at all, there are plenty of restaurants really close by - The Trafalgar (turn left out of the hotel and walk to the end of the road it's just near the corner) was really reasonable, good home cooked food, local lager at 1.5 euros a pint and the meals were huge!
We would also highly recommend a restaurant called 15 - you may want to book a table. We went on a Friday night, hadn't booked and got the only table they had available, they were turning people away because they were full - it's opposite the entrance to the HyperDino in the shopping area, down a small ramp near the Chinese restaurant and well worth a visit (not a chip in sight on the menu!)
The Indian restaurant called Fusion 22 - opposite the Aberdeen steak house is also well worth a visit.
The apartments are in an ideal location for all the restaurants/bars but far enough away to be quiet at night.
The biggest supermarket (a Euro Spar) is in the Atlantic shopping centre- it's about a 20-30 minute walk along the promenade that runs beside the sea, or there is a free bus that leaves the hotel roughly every hour - reception can tell you the times.
The best beach in the area is out of the back of the Atlantic centre.
The staff in reception were really helpful and happy to give directions to where ever we wanted to go.
Out and about: Jandia is well worth a visit - it's beach is apparently rated as 7th in the world and is stunning, but be warned, it is used by naturist's in some areas so just be careful when taking photo's!
We would definitely go back to the apartments again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy4996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews