We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst holiday ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Elba Castillo San Jorge & Antigua Suite Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Whoever is intending to stay at the above complex, please think again. We stayed over Xmas period and were put in the Castillo Suites. Rooms were extremely dirty (including bed linen). Phone in room did not work (nor in any other rooms in Castillo Suites as several other residents made the same complaints), nor was there any reception which is clearly breaching H&S. Our room was over a night club which went on until 5.30 each morning. Raised complaint with hotel as well as Thomas Cook representative to no avail. This lasted for 4 days, until they eventually moved us to another part of the complex, The Antigua, had cockroaches, and we were unable to use the balcony as we could see directly into the room opposite. I wrote to Thomas Cook who says their customer surveys state the rooms/complex is satisfactory which is clearly misrepresented. This is the first time I have noted my dissatisfaction on trip advisor so it shows how poor the facilities were. Please reconsider if you intend to book this complex, as well as with Thomas Cook who do not take any responsibility.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,055)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,954 - 1,960 of 3,055 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here recently and had lovely week. Staff very welcoming and helpful, food lovely with plenty of choice, entertainment very good in the evenings. Upgraded to sea view apartment and well worth it! Could do with a lick of paint in places but didn't spoil our holiday and wouldn't complain about it! Mattresses on sunbeds wd be nice too but they may be there in high season. Also DON'T buy suncare products sold around pool area (nothing to do with hotel, think organised by hol companies) - people complained about them and were getting badly burnt using them. Would recommend hotel and wd go back there as good value. Treat yourselves to a night out at Fado Rock tho!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiDooley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Another retrun to this location. An early e mail ensured we had a room upgrade.Room 1223 Fantastic view overlooking the sea. This time we went self catering and enjoyed the change from all enclusive. There are plenty of options for eating out and bars nearby very economical indeed. I fell sure we willbe back very soon.

Room Tip: If you can afford upgrage a sea view is a must. The higher the room the better. Corner suites are mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobbyboyat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here with my Daughter and 7 year old grandaughter on a short one week break. The animation team were brilliant with the kids...... The hotel in itself is very tired and dated needs a good makeover.... Checked in at one reception and had to lug our cases next door to another section of the Hotel, with no directions or signs and no one to help you!!!!Not very good customer service, they should at the very least have a Porter on duty. Which I'm sure people would be willing to pay for ( I know I would) Food was varied for the first few days then got quite repetitive. As we were only staying for the week it wasn't such an issue. (We ate out a few nights)
Happy with size of room: Few down points Being.....Bedrooms and bedding very shabby our over blankets had a couple of cigarette burns in them and looked a bit suspect as though they hadn't been washed in some time. The towels were paper thin and very grey..... Room service hit and miss..... One day I put the sign on the door do Not disturb (my Husband takes heart tablets and they sometimes knock him out for a few hours) I saw the chamber maid and asked if they could pop back!!!! Just to change towels...didn't happen.... Wouldn't like to stay there in the height of the summer as not a bit of air conditioning throughought the building.

They could also do with another bar for people who do not want to watch the Kids entertainers a quiet bar to sit and chat with your friends, if you haven't come with kids.......For the size of the place it is ridiculous that there is only one bar.

As for the Elba Card!!!!! Supposedly if you have one and produce it at reception you get some extra benefits e.g. Upgrade to sea view (already had as booked with travel agent)Dressing Gowns, Slippers, fruit in you room??? Didn't work... I suppose it would if you kicked up a fuss. Also very expensive 25 euros for a safe for the week (not impressed) Thomas Cook claim on there web site this is a 4* Hotel.....Never... All in all my daughter and grandaughter enjoyed it and we went there because there was entertainment for the little one. But, wouldn't personally recommend it or go back there.

Room Tip: Room 2120 was brilliant view wise fantastic side and front sea views, it is a corner suite so great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daveoldham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Booked as a couple travelling with friends and asked for a high floor with sea view(extra charge). after a tiresome check in we were given room 1129 and very basic instructions of how to find it via another entrance further up the road!!! Then follow none existant signs to your room where upon 20 minutes later opened the door to a large kitchen /lounge with bedroom and bathroom to one side. Both bedroom and lounge had sliding patio doors opening onto a very large balcony with views over the bay to the right and sea in front, not a high floor as requested but was happy with what we had been allocated.
A few down points. inadequate storage for clothing, tired furniture and bed linen, rock hard towels that reduced in size as the week went on when replaced and no room service on sundays and thursdays!!!!
A few good points. the hottest and most powerfull shower ever had....curtains that completely shut out the light and heat during the day....note NO airconditioning throughout the hotel, and no noise from other rooms.
Found our bearings very easily within the complex, which appeared to be built in two/three blocks with 2 fair sized swimming pools which were well maintained with kiddies pools adjacent to each.Couple of shops within the buildings for your every day needs were suppringly good value for money.
The Restaurant was buffet style for all meals but was fantasticly laid out with different choices of good quality and continuously restocked as required, with cook to order items also available if you wanted it......no complaints!!!!
The bar and snack bar were always manned at the times stated and measures were plentiful through out, all be it local brands until 11.00pm. Then you could purchase further drinks or visit the Dog and Duck pub which stayed open till 2.00am but not included in the All inclusive package.
But what made this hotel was the staff...from maintenance to reception, restaurant to bar, animation to housekeeping, everyone was so friendly and willing to make you have a great stay,
All in all for a 3* rated complex it was well worth every penny paid, admittedly it needs some TLC in places but this would not stop me going back as its location was ideal for all ameneties within the resort....easily reached via the roads or the promenade via the small harbour. Now my 1 gripe.....25euros for a safe deposit box per week is too much, however there was a report of a break in to a room whilst we were there!!!! Happy times had by all.....especially the birthday boy within our group who was given a free bottle of bubbly for breakfast and another in the bar that evening and a chocolate based cake in the restaurant to celebrate!!!

Room Tip: pay the extra for a sea view, or you could end up facing the roads around the complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We went to the San Jorge back in November 2012 on an all-inclusive 2 weeks stay . My mother had stayed here before and up-graded to sea -view one bedroom apartments. These rooms were amazing , very large , clean and comfortable even the kitchen area had everything you would need to self-cater if you were on that basis. nothing beats waking up and watching the sunrise over the horizon from the balcony from these rooms and this set us-up for the day . All the staff we spoke to were so nice and very friendly and the waiter/waitress service in the restuarant was a great bonus for all inclusive , ask for a glass of wine with your meal and they bring you a bottle , and it was really good wine as well ( which you would pay £6 to £7 for back in the UK) . All the drinks we had were faultless , way better than all the other all inclusive hotels we have been to . We were making up our own brandy alexanders getting 2 shots from the bar of brandy and creme cacao and adding milk from the machine ha ha . The choice of food at each mealtime was unbelievable , if you can't find anything here you like , there's no hope for you . I felt guilty at times having so much choice available , higlights were the egg and bacon at breakfast , the various fish and salad things and being able to make-up your own burgers , plus the deserts were great as well which is rare in a large hotel in a hot country. The swimming pool was very clean and we never had problems getting a sunbed , next time i'd go up to the Chinese shop near Ikea and you can buy a sunbed mattress for about 5 euro because they are a bit hard if your into lying around all day . All in all i'd go back tomorrow , for around £900 per person inc flights for two weeks , it wasn't our cheapest holiday but compared to other places and what you get for the money the San-Jorge is amazing .

Room Tip: Sea view one bedroom apartments , ours were 20 and 21 i think which we found perfect .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kermit-TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We are in a very pleasant apartment with a good sized verandah which is accessed from both the lounge and bedroom. Although not luxurious, it is comfortable, very clean and has everything required to make a relaxing holiday. Some rooms look out on to the pool, others have a sea view with the remainder looking out on to the road (this is where we are and it isn't noisy, except when the very modern street cleaning equipment arrives). The pool has plenty of sun beds, and you are also able to use the facilities of the adjoining hotel.
The large promenade is accessed from the hotel, the "beach" at this point is lava rock; kids seem to enjoy searching in the small rock pools and people fish from the rocks. There is a beautiful beach further round the promenade, beds and umbrellas can be hired here if you prefer this to the pool. There is an abundance of shops and restaurants nearby. We found the Aberdeen Steak house gave excellent value and service (there are a few steak houses but this one is about five minutes away, sits near the roundabout where the road divides. They have an excellent set menu with a large choice for an amazing €8.95, I would recommend this.
Also recommend that you do not use the transfers offered by your tour company. People on our flight were complaining that they waited for two hours before leaving the airport. We picked up a taxi at the rank and it cost us € 12 (much less than what it cost on the bus transfer ) and we were in the hotel within half an hour of leaving the plane, and didn't have to queue at the hotel reception.
No free wi fi in the accommodation, but the dog and duck (independent pub/cafe in the building) + most restaurants and cafes have free wi fi.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Issi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CASTILLOSANJORGE, General Manager at Elba Castillo San Jorge & Antigua Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Issi D : Thanks very much to share your experience with the rest of travellers and mention our hotel like comfortable and very clean.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caleta de Fuste
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
#2 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
801 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Elba Sara
Hotel Elba Sara
#3 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
3,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
#7 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
2,622 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Elba Carlota
Hotel Elba Carlota
#6 of 27 in Antigua
4,199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Florida
Villa Florida
#8 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elba Castillo San Jorge & Antigua Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elba Castillo San Jorge & Antigua Suite Hotel

Address: Avenida Jose Franchy Roca s/n, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua > Caleta de Fuste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Caleta de Fuste
Price Range: $86 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elba Castillo San Jorge & Antigua Suite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
smartline Castillo de Antigua is located right on the seafront promenade, and offers a breath-taking view of the Atlantic. The hotel offers a varied activity program for all ages throughout the day. For the younger guests, there is a kids' club at the hotel. If you want to explore the surroundings, the waterfront promenade is very inviting for a stroll, long walks and jogging, and the town centre is just a short walk away! If you want a relaxing holiday, you can chill out by one of the hotel's four pools. smartline Castillo de Antigua features a total of 272 bright and modernly furnished rooms and apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Elba Castillo San Jorge & Antigua Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Castillo San Jorge / Antigua / Caleta De Fuste
Castillo San Jorge
Castillo De San Jorge
Elba Castillo San Jorge & Antigua Suite Hotel Fuerteventura/Caleta De Fuste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing