We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Elba Castillo San Jorge & Antigua Suite Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Eurostars Las Salinas(Caleta de Fuste)
$116
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Elba Sara(Caleta de Fuste)
$156
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$186
$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$140
$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Elba Palace Golf(Caleta de Fuste)
$162
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Broncemar Beach(Caleta de Fuste)
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Villa Florida(Caleta de Fuste)(Great Value!)
$66
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
VIP Villas(Caleta de Fuste)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,265)
Filter reviews
3,265 results
Traveler rating
1,362
1,187
461
151
104
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,362
1,187
461
151
104
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewdog and duck pubself cateringsnack barenglish pubsea frontgreat holidaybedroomed apartmentno air confidelity cardon the rocksthomas cookplenty of choicerestaurant staffevening entertainmentreception staffcooked fresh
Filter
Updating list...
2,134 - 2,139 of 3,265 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

We have just arrived back from a weeks break half board sea view good weather food fantastic just glad we wasn't all inclusive half board was enough
Will just say this we booked a car online with hertz when we went to pick the car up they wanted 620 pound for a 3 day car hire in case of any damage which we had taken out extra insurance out
The apartment was clean and had no complaints at all

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cswl1199g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Just Back - all good no complaints


First time to Caleta De Fuste, and Furetuventura.

Picked the San Jorge on a personal recommendation and also on trip advisor. Had been thinking of the Fuertesol but location here cannot be beaten! Fuertesol was the far side of the roundabout so I was glad we picked here.

We had applied for the Elba fidelity card and on arrival ( 11.30 am) room was not ready, a bit of to and froing until the room was ready at 2pm but it was worth the wait. A fantastic sea view and also views over the pool ( 2232) . Balcony was a sun trap from 9am - 6pm!!

Minerals, water and beers in the fridge on arrival. Cleaners in every day except Sunday, Towels galore and nothing too much. Cod Bed etc and plenty of sheets provided on request.Floors cleaned every day. Apartment was nice and big, utensils a bit basic, no wine glasses, cups or mugs?? or bottle openers! but we just bought our own and borrowed wine glasses from the nice staff in the restaurant : )

Loved Caleta De Fuste, beach was amazing, plenty of playgrounds to keep kids entertained, restaurants and bars varied greatly in price?
Would recommend Aberdeen steak house, Pummarola pizzeria and Margarita ( great tapas w excellent Sangria) captains Taberna also great tapas( authentic) and great atmosphere around happy hour. Some restaurants were v cheap others more expensive than home which I was suprised to see. Tried Nestors aswell but was not blown away by it- food was nice. El Meson Gallego underneath the hotel run by a lovely family and good inexpensive authentic Spanish food( try the cheese tapas yum), and Goris( Gary's) café next door to the Trafalgar does very good inexpensive food.


Plenty of nice walks to do ( Nuevo Horizonte to see the chipmunks) out to the big shopping centre( where the Spar is) along by the Sheraton( taking the main road about 25 mins walk).
Nice couple of bars in the harbour. We were very lucky with the weather was AMAZING for January and have no complaints at all on the beach every day. Can't comment on food in the hotel as we were self catering, kids club etc... tried to find the mini disco for our daughter one night, but it didn't seem to be on?

Would have no hesitation in returning here and plan to do so next January.
I was a bit wary as had read a lot about break ins etc but security was evident in the hotel at night and in the adjacent block. Hopefully its been sorted. We took a safety deposit box as a precaution.

You get what you pay for and while some people think the accommodation is basic, we have seen a lot more basic so don't be put off : )
Hope some of this info is helpful.

Room Tip: sea view room in the San Jorge Block, plenty of sun all day
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank twinklesplodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CASTILLOSANJORGE, General Manager at Elba Castillo San Jorge & Antigua Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear Twinklesplodge. Thanks very much for your feedback, that ´s very important for us and our service. Will be nice to see you the next year.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

My husband booked this for a well deserved break,it was also my 50th.We hadnt been to fuerteventura before.This review is how we saw it so here goes......The apartments were basic but we only slept in them.The staff were lovely,very friendly.Food was good.My husband has allergies and there was always something available for him i.e..fish,chicken,ribs,chops,salads,pasta,fruit.icereams and much more.Entertainment was ok but more for kiddies(they enjoyed it,rather funny at times).Sea views were beautiful and we fed the chipmonks.We met some lovely people,drinks(no queues) were good,All in all we had a fab holiday.Were going back next jan defo.(we went 5th jan - 12th)Hope this review helps.

Room Tip: Take a jumper,chilli at night.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank christine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CASTILLOSANJORGE, General Manager at Elba Castillo San Jorge & Antigua Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

ear christine r. Thanks very much for offer your point of view about your holiday, is nice to hear you mention our staff were lovely and very friendly and also referenced to the food that was good and even when your husband has allergies and there was always something available for him. Hope to see you next visit. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We'd both been to Caleta de Fuste in about 1999 and went back again 5-13 January 2013 and it really hasn't changed much at all.

I'd checked out TA and Castillo St Jorge & Antigua was in the right location and for the right price for a cheap week in the sun. The complex is right on the rocks with a lovely path along the coast into the bay of Caletta.

We booked with Thomas Cook. If you are booking with a travel company do not spend £100 per couple for return coach transfers. We got a taxi from the airport to our apartment at a total cost of 15 euros. During our week we caught a bus to spend the day in Correlejo and the no. 3 bus calls in to the airport so we saved even more money by getting the bus to the airport to go home at a total cost of under 3 euros !!! The journey was 25 minutes and only a 20 minute walk to the bus stop. Plus if you buy the travel agent transfer they pick you up ridiculously early so instead of having three more hours on the beach or by the pool you're stuck in the airport ..... what a waste!

Our self catering apartment was very roomy. The towels were replaced every day (apart from Thursdays) and beds were very comfortable and clean. Room 2204, roadside balcony but the sun in the evening .... also nice to watch people going by.

Two really annoying things: firstly, the cupboard under the sink needs adjusting so it closes properly. If you're not careful, the fridge door catches on it so if you've got ice in the freezer it will defrost. Second, yes, we are on holiday but we don't stay out all night and so would normally be back at the apartment after dinner and drinks at about 11 - 11.30pm and would really have liked to have wound down with a movie but all there was were THREE CHANNELS OF NEWS: BBC, CNN OR SKY. BORING BORING BORING BORING. We are not interested in what is going on in the world when we're on holiday. The French, Spanish, Dutch and Germans had movies, why do you think the English want to watch three channels of news all the time?

The staff were all very nice but we are so glad we were not trapped with all inclusive. In fact,I would not have booked all inclusive, there are too many lovely bars and restaurants in Caletta to go to, why eat in the same place day in and day out?

Why oh why wasn't the pool bar open? We would have gone to that pool a lot of the time instead we had to endure rotten kids screaming and crying whilst being over indulged by their tipsy parents. We spent most of our week on the beach in Caletta which was superb and it felt like we had it all to ourselves. The little beach bar is fab.

For lunch we tried CaffeNero sitting under the vines with a spectacularly tasty salad; Fado's one evening was atmospheric but only go there if you are absolutely famished as the starters and mains are massive, you could share tho. Also Trafalgar Restaurant is very good value for money: a pint of San Miguel for 1.50 euros. If you fancy a curry do not go to the curry houses as they are so expensive especially the one near the Trafalgar Restaurant. What we usually pay here in Blightly for two starters, two meat courses, and a side of veg and rice, a bottle of wine and a beer is about £35-£40 was over 80 euros and nothing special. We share a portion of rice but the waiter was insistent we should have two and, as I knew, we left one. We didn't leave a tip.

Back to the complex: Dog & Duck is a very cosy place to start your evening but the Luna Blue bar is awful.

We will be going back to Fuerteventura for some more winter sun but we shall probably go to Correlejo for a change.

I would have no hesitatin is saying that Castillo St Jorge & Antigua is a good base but do not go all inclusive and take a latop or tablet so that, if like us, you like a movie at bedtime, you don't have to endure more news.

Room Tip: The pool/sea view rooms are lovely but you don't get the sun in the evening so the road side rooms are best. There isn't much road noise either.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisajs62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed All Inclusive in December 2012.
Reception staff were very friendly and efficient, check in sorted in two minutes.
Staff in the bars and restaurant were very helpful, attentive and friendly. The main restaurant was very busy in the evenings and the staff work very hard with long hours but are always smiling.
The room was a studio and fine for our needs. It was clean, house-keeping was available three times in the week. We didn't use the kitchenette area as we were AI but it would have been fine for basic prep and cooking.
The food was absolutely fine. The breakfast was plentiful and very good. They had 'themes' most nights and again plenty of variety. Always something for children too and meat cooked to order. Lots of variety on the sweets too which pleased my daughter! Food also available from the bar when restaurant was closed, although we didn't try much of this as we ate plenty in the restaurants. Christmas night was great, lots of effort went into dressing the dining room and also the food. My daughter still enjoyed a great turkey Xmas dinner.
The bars were well stocked, the drinks good, local mostly but fine. Didn't have big queues and waiting times either with good friendly staff.
We didn't really use the pools much although they were clean and tidy, just a little cold. We're not big swimmers or good at sitting still so it's not reflection on the hotel!
There a couple of little parks dotted about with swings and slides which is good, they are clean and well maintained too.
We had a great sea view and the hotel was in a great location. Right on the sea front there is a lovely walk either way from the hotel. Great location for fishing off the rocks and loads of rock pools for kids. Also there were lots of chipmunks and birds to feed - my daughter loved the chipmunks as they feed right out of your hands.
The beach was about a ten minute walk, but it was nice to walk through the town. There is a little street train that will ferry you around the town for a euro.
We had a day out at the Oasis zoo on the island, which provides a free bus. Absolutely great day out. Well worth the entrance fees (which are very reasonable). Best zoo ever visited with so many animals and so much to do.
All in all this is a very good 3* hotel. You get great value for money, the hotel is only ten minutes from the airport, ten minutes from the beach and right on the sea front. There is plenty to do in the local area.
Would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KLee514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews