We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good for families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Elba Castillo San Jorge & Antigua Suite Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2013

just spent alovely two weeks holiday at this apartment hotel complex.its situated on the sea front and close to the resturants and shops for anyone who is self catering.the hotel also does bed and breakfast half board and all inclusive. we stayed all inclusive and we were not dissapointed.the apartments are lovely and clean, with maid service every day clean towels etc.the food is very very good catering for everyone including a menu for children. the children have a ball there with fun and games through the day and disco and children enterainers up until nine oclock in the evening.all the staff are very helpful and will go out off their way to make sure you have a lovely holiday.i would definately recommend this hotel apartment for any family holiday. we are hoping to go back in april.there is also a courtesy bus to take you to the big atlantico shopping centre.

Room Tip: request a sea veiw as some rooms are on the side and front road of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patricia k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,042)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,975 - 1,981 of 3,042 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was the base for our first ever christmas abroad and we had a great time. We were only self catering and went out every night so cannot comment on the food or entertainment but if you are looking for a cheap, clean, well located place to stay with stunning sea views then you can't really go wrong. There are two main pools, a "noisy" one full of kids where the towls went down at 6 in the morning and a quiet one where we never had a problem getting a lounger. The complez is well designed with the 3 Aparthotels joined together and several independent bars and places to eat set up around the ground floor perimeter. We did try most of them over the course of the week. El Meson Gallego is a fab little tapas bar, very reasonablr prices, The kings arms shows all the footy and has karaoke nights, Luna Blue does nice cocktails (particularly the Mojitos) and has free wi-fi , (very handy especially as we could hook onto it from our apartment!) but our personal Favourite was the Dog & Duck run by a really friendly couple serving huge measures at great prices. We had a brilliant time and it certainly won't be the last time we spend christmas abroad in Caleta. Roll on the next one :o)

Room Tip: Upgrade to a sea view , only a few extra pounds a week but so worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Norwich_Tractor_Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and i arrived in Fuerteventura at lunchtime and proceeded to wait for the bus to take us to the hotel.Upon reading our transfer voucher we realised we could have up to an hours wait for the bus for a trip that would only take ten minutes and so we paid the 12 euros for a taxi...well worth it! Our check in was quick and efficient and we were grateful of the room upgrade to a two bedroomed apartment in the San Jorge part of the hotel,massive for the two of us and not a seaview but as it turned out we got the sun in the evening unlike many of the sea front apartments.The cleanliness was not the best and i didnt appreciate that clean towels were left in the bidet!Our main concern was security as the front desk in this part of the hotel is unmanned at this time of year,anyone could just walk through the building unnoticed and it was very quiet,other than that we were happy with the location just off the seafront walk and minutes from the centre.We didnt use any facilities apart from the inner pool which was freezing!Also the Dog and Duck bar beneath the San Jorge which was good and cheap and very welcoming.Overall it was the break we wanted,nice weather when its snowing in Britain!

Room Tip: Room 1303 was large and facing the back of the hotel with views to the mountains,also it got the sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Billi2i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the San Jorge part of the hotel from 16 December 2012 until 09 January 2013. These are our honest personal opinions:

Good Points:

The hotel is ideally situated on the seafront and is only 10 minutes away from the airport and costs between 10 and 15 euros. The hotel provides access onto the promenade and you can walk or cycle in either direction for miles. Bars, cafes and restaurants are literally a few minutes walk away with many offering a menu of the day (menu del dia) around 6 or 7 euros and the resort felt very safe. Our room was bright, spacious and clean, housekeeping everyday except Thursday & Sunday and a mini market on site if you didn’t fancy the walk into town. We like to eat where the locals eat, so stayed on a self catering basis, the kitchenette was well equipped (fridge, microwave, kettle, toaster). The public areas are kept clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful, especially the cleaners who are always smiling. Free bus service to town and golf courses. An abundance of hot water anytime day or night.

Not So Good Points:

The pool was really cold, and I mean cold with a capital C, but once you were in it was okay..
TV’s outdated (we didn’t go on holiday to watch TV, so no problem for us, could be for others).
Noisy in the evenings until the entertainment finishes at 11 PM (finished promptly our stay)
The hotel is without air conditioning; weather was in the low to mid 20’s throughout our stay and we didn’t feel the need for A/C at this time of the year..
Only one of the three reception areas is manned.
Too many Brits complaining about the smallest and insignificant things – the majority of people know that everything is not going to be perfect. Instead of complaining to each other have a polite word with the staff, they might not be aware there is a problem.

Finally, this hotel has a lot going for it. But remember, it is 3 stars, so if you decide to stay at this hotel, be realistic in your expectations. For those that like the comfort and facilities offered by a 5 star hotel, be prepared to carry your own luggage and find the room on your own. Staying for 4 weeks we took time to speak with the staff and as a consequence had a great time at this hotel. Currently planning to return in April for another 4 weeks.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms above the Dog and Duck pub and the entertainments area. Travel by taxi to / from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Having decided to holiday in Fuerteventura for the first time, we booked the hotel through internet. We chose our hotel - Aparthotel Castillo San Jorge in Caleta de Fuste - based on our needs, reviews on Trip Advisor and our our own research. It seemed to tick all the boxes. We arrived at the airport in the forenoon, got through the airport quickly and found a taxi outside. Ten minutes later and €12.75 less for the fare, we arrived at the hotel. All good so far. We took our luggage into the reception area - it was empty. Nobody there, not a person. We waited and soon, some German visitors came and advised us to go to the building next door for reception. Not a good start. Reception staff here were unapologetic and unconcerned about our arrival. They allocated us our room which was back in the first building. We asked for a second key to our room and were advised that we would have to pay a €10 fee refundable when the key was returned. They also sought a fee for use of the safe and a fee for use of TV remote control. This fee refundable upon safe return to reception of remote. When we eventually got throught the check in procedure (which seemed eternal), we got our room number and directions on how to get there. So, we now had to trek back to the first building with our luggage. First impressions were very poor. Our room was on the second floor. It was large, sparsely furnished and grubby. It had a large balcony. Room was not nice, it was tired and poorly decorated. I wanted to leave immediately and get alternative accommodation. Before we unpacked, I got my laptop and tried to get online. There was no internet access. I returned to reception to complain. I was advised there that the internet in the complex was down and the technician had to come from Lanzarote to repair it - he would not be there until the following day. We were tired and decided to stay that night and get better accommodation the next day. That night, there was a cabaret just below our apartment and it was very loud. It did not finish until 11pm. We could not sleep. I went to reception again that night to complain and advise that I intended to leave the next morning. The receptionist advised me to speak to the reception manager - a gentleman called Tito - the next morning before making any final decision. Next morning I met with Tito. He was most agreeable and pleasant. Having heard my complaints, he offered me alternative accommodation which was much better and offered sea views. We accepted his offer.
Leaving aside my initial experience of this establishment, it has a good location on the seafront close to the resort centre. There is a nice walkway in front of the hotel beside the sea. It is a standard 3 star hotel and the prices reflect this. Tip; Try to get a room with seaview, it is worth it. I feel that if I did not get satisfaction when I complained, my impression and review of this hotel would be very different - it would be terrible. We only have Tito to thank for making our holiday an enjoyable one, Thank you.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jjwals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

the hotel was OK bit disappointing that we was next to toilets so when you was in the room you heard everything in the toilets the cleaner cleaned then at 7AM every morning waking us up and with a baby not very good. the entertainment was great specialy frank and oswald they would be the only reason we would come back too the hotel. we stayed all inclusive food got very boring but was nice until the last day i had a burger before leaving and as i opened the burger they was a green bug crawling around init so i wouldn't be staying AL next time. The pool is FREEZING too cold too put a baby in witch we got told it was suitable temp for a baby other than that we had a great time frank defiantly made our holiday and will visit again just too see frank so maybe go to the Barcelo hotel instead but still go too the hotel for the entertainment.

Room Tip: Stay away from 2137 next too toilets and no sun through day at all took 3 days to dry some denim sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayleigh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

On arrival we were given a room which was supposed to be upgraded we had a two bedroomed apartment that was at the side of the hotel.This room was filthy, we found toys under the bed and the walls and floors were very dirty.We had to go to reception on many occasions to have things fixed.
We asked to be moved 4 times from this cold dirty room that had no sunshine at all.Eventually we moved to a 1 bedroomed appartment where we did get sunshine in the afternoon it was so nice to be able to sit out and have a drink,and be able to dry our clothes. The walls were still very dirty in this room, we cleaned them ourselves we were fedup of complaining, for the rest of the holiday we were greatful for the move. Some of the reception staff made us feel like idiots when we asked to move, and told us to go back the next day and we could have a new room this didnt happen until 7 days later.The pool was green midue around the sides which was brushed away by a man occasionally not many people went into the water.The Good side was the food, it was amazing, there was nothing that we could complain about. Staff in restraunt were very kind and helpful.The wonderful entertainment team worked very hard and kept both the kids and adults entertained,We went every night to see them, Frank and Oswald well done you deserve a rise, wish we could have you at every hotel, you made our holiday fun and entertaining you both are worth your weight in GOLD.The shows were good except for those with birds and animals I felt all they wanted was money for photos The lady at the large pool bar INIS is such a helpful kind hard working person I would have liked to bring her home.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank donandjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CASTILLOSANJORGE, Manager at Elba Castillo San Jorge & Antigua Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear donandjune. Thanks very much for your feedback. We take a note about your point of view and use that to check the points you mentioned and improve it.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caleta de Fuste
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
#2 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
796 reviews
0.6 mi away
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
#7 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
2,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Elba Sara
Hotel Elba Sara
#3 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
3,960 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Florida
Villa Florida
#8 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
537 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Elba Carlota
Hotel Elba Carlota
#6 of 27 in Antigua
4,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elba Castillo San Jorge & Antigua Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elba Castillo San Jorge & Antigua Suite Hotel

Address: Avenida Jose Franchy Roca s/n, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua > Caleta de Fuste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Caleta de Fuste
Price Range: $85 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elba Castillo San Jorge & Antigua Suite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
smartline Castillo de Antigua is located right on the seafront promenade, and offers a breath-taking view of the Atlantic. The hotel offers a varied activity program for all ages throughout the day. For the younger guests, there is a kids' club at the hotel. If you want to explore the surroundings, the waterfront promenade is very inviting for a stroll, long walks and jogging, and the town centre is just a short walk away! If you want a relaxing holiday, you can chill out by one of the hotel's four pools. smartline Castillo de Antigua features a total of 272 bright and modernly furnished rooms and apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Elba Castillo San Jorge & Antigua Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Castillo San Jorge / Antigua / Caleta De Fuste
Castillo San Jorge
Castillo De San Jorge
Elba Castillo San Jorge & Antigua Suite Hotel Fuerteventura/Caleta De Fuste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing