We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great complex............. grumpy bar staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elba Castillo San Jorge & Antigua Suite Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great complex............. grumpy bar staff”
Reviewed November 4, 2007

The San Jorge is part of a huge hotel complex, with three swimming pools and loads of facilities. It is also set in a great location, right at the end of the old town about 10 to 15 min’s walk away from everything.

We were all inclusive and the best I can say on that is the food was ok, not brilliant but not awful. The restaurant staff are friendly although a tad slow with the drink service. On the downside the bar staff, in general, weren’t the most helpful and the service is extremely slow everywhere, there seems to be a hidden agenda of restricting the amount you drink, while that may not be a bad thing for some people it is a great source of frustration for those who can act responsibly but don’t want to queue 30 mins for a drink every time they go to the bar.

I would reccomend the hotel because I think the complex itself deserves a little more than the three starts it has, however it could be so much better if some of the staff altered there attitudes........marks out 10…….I’ll give it a 7

  • Liked — location and pools
  • Disliked — bar staff and service
  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank ronkerno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,160
    1,059
    421
    145
    98
See reviews for
1,175
1,206
33
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (948)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2007

stayed at castillo san jorge 15th september for 2 weeks with my girlfriend. upon arrival, we checked in quickly and as we arrived late at night we were given some rolls and fruit to eat. Room exceeded expectations- we were all inclusive, yet was given a spacious self catering room with a pool and sea view, even though we didnt not pay extra for this and was always clean. on site restaurant service was always good, and food was repetitive but varied with a selection of meats, fish pasta etc.evening entertainment was as always at these complexes was karaoke singers and lots of dancers- although it was enjoyable- african footprint and Zapping was brilliant!!! Bar service in the evening was understaffed but an easy solution is to get a few drinks at a time! Unlike any other all inclusive we have been to- the package was very good here- not only do you get your 3 meals a day and drinks, but also unlimited ice creams and crisps- served at the snack bar you also get main meals outside of the set buffet meal times- such as spagetti bolognaise, chicken, burgers..The hotel is situated a nice distance away fom the local town center but in walking distance. Bus service is in walking distance and good links to go to corralejo. Bus stops at the airport and takes 15 minutes to the most local bus stop by the hotel. A must is to go and feed the chipmunks- but beware of the pigeons, they get a bit cocky. Can imagine in school holidays its very busy with lots of kids, but is easy to escape this as it is a big complex. Only complaint is ignorant, rude and arrogant english guests(only some) who have no patience, or respect. They expect to go abroad, talking english to spanish and on the rare occasion that the locals have trouble understanding, the english become irrate and abrupt- i think these people go away to complain- so what if it takes a few minutes to get served??!! Remember this is a 3 star hotel and you get what you paid for, but in my opinion it exceeded my expecatations of a 3 star.In summary good food, friendly staff, good location and nice clean hotel.

  • Liked — good views,food, location, staff.
  • Disliked — some arrogant english tourists
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank katedal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire UK
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2007

Our family of 2 adults and 1 teenager travelled with Direct holidays to this hotel for the half term week we booked a 1 bedroom apartment in the San Jorge complex. On arrival at 7.45pm on Saturday night the reception staff advised us that our room was not yet ready and we would have to wait for another half an hour, anyway as I had booked this holiday as a surprise for my husbands 40th birthday I really was not in the mood to argue with them so we went to have something to eat. Now I don't know if it was just good luck or if they made a mistake with our booking but we were given a 2 bedroom apartment in the Castillo Suites with a seaview and a double balcony for no extra charge.
The only down side I would say about our room is it was located in the section of the hotel which has the evening entertainment (Apartments no 3101 - 3335) so from 8.00p.m until approx, midnight you WILL be disturbed by the noise!!!!
The Castillo San Jorge apartment room numbers 1101 - 1336 are on the other side of the complex and the Castillo de Antigua apartment room numbers 2101 - 2334 are in the centre of the complex.

The location was perfect for us, within walking distance of Costa Caleta centre with just enough shops to get your duty free and holiday nic-nacs, we are not really into shopping so it was fine for us.
If you want a meal out there are plenty of place to eat, we had a meal in FADO ROCK, you might have to wait for a little while outside for a table but it is FANTASTIC. In general the All inclusive food was average and we always found something to eat. You can upgrade to AI at the hotel reception, it cost € 30 per day per person.

Here are the few things that we did not like.

I would agree that the hotel is very short staffed in all areas and you do have to wait for a long time to get served with drinks in the restaurant and all the bars both during the day and at night.

I am not sure if these apartments would be very comfortable in the hot summer months due to the lack of air-con which is something we have always had at previous hotels. You can hire fans for €10 per week. A word of warning this might sound REALLY STUPID but considering the arparments do not have air-con I think most people left windows or patio door open, please make sure you wedge all interal doors in the apartments open because when the wind gets up the door slam shut at a alarming speed and this could cause serious injury both adult and children.

I did not like the fact that the sheets were not changed during the week you only get clean sheets at the start of the holiday, again not great it is very hot at night. The same with towels these were changed every other day, but when we are on holiday we shower twice a day so we had no dry towels.

I have the cost of few trips here and hope someone will find this helpful. Child price for over 12 year olds.

Baku water park adults 26€ child 17€
Oasis park zoo - great day out food included adult 44€ child 22€
Quad bike ride adults 70€ child 45€
Ocean catamaran day trip adults 54€ child 27€

We had a really nice time it was a relaxing break the weather was lovely and on the whole it was what we expected after reading various reviews. On the whole I would say this is a good 3* hotel. It was great for a week but I would not want to spend much longer at this resort. It's perfect for families with younger children.
If you are looking for wild night life, loads of shopping , a romantic break or peace and quite them give this hotel a miss.

  • Liked — Large room not problem with sunbeds
  • Disliked — entertainment no air con, noise at night
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MADAMMOZZY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2007

We stayed in the San Jorge Apartments. A very large complex although the rooms were a decent size for a family of 3. We started off as a party of 8, ie, 2 families, but then our friends susprised us the second week so in total there were 21 of us, ie 5 families.

Enjoy the walk along the seafront outside the hotel and watch the little chipmonks come over to you whilst you sit down - especially if you have nuts and water. If you put the water in the cap/bottletp and leave on the ground they come over and hold it up to drink out of it - they are so cute.

We liked Caleta De Fuste - but our favourite is Corralejo - a little bit more to do and a better choice of restaurants

The only negative thing I would say about the complex is if you go all inclusive, expect the drinks to run out before 11.00pm and after 11pm you pay. In our 2 wk stay they ran out of Vodka, Baileys, Beer and lots more and that happened on several occassions throughout our stay. ANd it was not just one bar, but ALL of the bars in the complex. Expect to queue for over 20 mins in the buffalo bar (where the nightly entertainment is held) and with only 1 bar staff serving, that was every night, its a long wait for a thirsty crowd !.

We love Fuerteventura so much, this is our 5th time there - and all 21 of us will be going back next October, but to Corralejo this time.


The Ozzies.

Overall great complex but just be prepared for a long wait for a drink.!

  • Liked — The rooms were a decent size compared to some 4* accommodation
  • Disliked — Not enough towels and not changed often enough either
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank ScotlandOzzies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWANSEA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2007

returned from the aforementioned apartments on wednesday 24th oct 2007. The Apartments were very clean and spacious with regular towel and linen changes, apart from thursday and sundays. The food was very
nice ans well presented. It varied from the usual burgers, hotdogs and fries to pasta, fresh salads to Griddled chicken, steak and fish.
breakfast can be a free for all especially after 9 am when the retaurant is at it's fullest. The freshly made pancakes are a must!!.
The beautiful white sands beach is nearby which gorgeous views across
the bay. The town bosts numerous restaurants for all tastes from chinese and indian to steak houses etc. The entertainment at the San Jorge isn't great but two shows worth watching are the Snake show and the African Footprints Acrobatics with fire eaters and various other stunts. Lunch is best eaten in the main dining hall rather than
the snack bars because there is a more varied choice. The snack bars are great if you don't want to leave the pool side. Adjacent to the hotel is a beautiful coastal walk which spirals its way from resort to resort with wild chipmunks friskly playing amongst the rocks.
The staff at the hotel may not smile that often but work tirelessly to please the masses. A brilliant week at the san Jorge which i thoroughly recommend and which i will bve revisiting in the near future.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank MADJACKSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2007

have just returned from 2 lovely weeks here. Recommend you book a sea view it was well worth the extra 12 euros / day instead of looking out onto the road. 1 bed apartments very spacious and cleaned practically everyday with towel change every other day. Any issues with maintenance were dealt with very promptly. issue with the towels along the pool side in the 2nd week you will need to get down to the pool by at least 8.30am to get a bed, but would reccomend going along to beach. Food wise lots of restaurants not too badly priced definately reccomend the restaurant at the end of the promenade near to the harbour where fresh fish is grilled infront of you on a BBQ gorgeous!!!!. however if you are self catered there are lots of supermarkets around but none of them sell fresh meat i.e. chicken or beef you will have to catch the free bus to the commercial centre on the other side of the beach to buy meat from the spar shop. Overall fab holiday and great for the littlen's.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — availability of sunbeds around pool
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank manc74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skye
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2007

We spent a fabulous 10 days at the Antigua Suites, having had to check out of our original apartment at the nearby Caleta Gardens because of noise, unsuitable accommodation and the general run down 3-star (allegedly) apartment booked via Thomsons.
This place is superb and we will be retuning on 14 November this year for two weeks. This time we've booked the apartments via the internet and the flights separately. We will be taking a taxi for our transfer from the airport as this is cheaper than anything elso on offer.
The suites are well situated near the rocky shoreline but the man-made beach is not far away - about 10/15 minute walk. Great place to fish for mullet and other species.

  • Liked — Well managed, clean and convenient for all needs
  • Disliked — Lack of sun on balcony - many other suites have sea and sun views
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CallumSkye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caleta de Fuste
0.6 mi away
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
#7 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
2,472 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
1.2 mi away
Hotel Elba Sara
Hotel Elba Sara
#3 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
3,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Elba Carlota
Hotel Elba Carlota
#5 of 27 in Antigua
4,011 reviews
1.1 mi away
Elba Lucia Sport & Suite Hotel
Elba Lucia Sport & Suite Hotel
#9 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
1,313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Costa Caleta
Hotel Costa Caleta
#11 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
2,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elba Castillo San Jorge & Antigua Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elba Castillo San Jorge & Antigua Suite Hotel

Property: Elba Castillo San Jorge & Antigua Suite Hotel
Address: Avenida Jose Franchy Roca s/n | Urb El Castillo, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua > Caleta de Fuste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Caleta de Fuste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Elba Castillo San Jorge & Antigua Suite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
smartline Castillo de Antigua is located right on the seafront promenade, and offers a breath-taking view of the Atlantic. The hotel offers a varied activity program for all ages throughout the day. For the younger guests, there is a kids' club at the hotel. If you want to explore the surroundings, the waterfront promenade is very inviting for a stroll, long walks and jogging, and the town centre is just a short walk away! If you want a relaxing holiday, you can chill out by one of the hotel's four pools. smartline Castillo de Antigua features a total of 272 bright and modernly furnished rooms and apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elba Castillo San Jorge & Antigua Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Castillo San Jorge / Antigua / Caleta De Fuste
Castillo San Jorge
Castillo De San Jorge
Elba Castillo San Jorge & Antigua Suite Hotel Fuerteventura/Caleta De Fuste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing