We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 Star accommodation with 5 Star service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Elba Lucia Sport & Suite Hotel
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Caleta de Fuste
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“2 Star accommodation with 5 Star service”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I new what the area was like when booking the hotel. Development stopped many years ago leaving half completed apartments and areas of undeveloped land. We stayed all inclusive and booked this apart hotel for the tennis, squash and lounging around the pool afterwards. Which did not disappoint. Also we wanted to do some cycling but did not have time. The hotel itself is nice and we had the place virtually to our self, which made the service great. A big thanks to Inma, her service around the pool area was exceptionally good. I disagree with the rotting vegetation remark in the pool, a few leaves blow into the pool but the pool is cleaned daily. The Public areas seemed clean and well maintained. Nice reception pleasant bar and well laid out restaurant.The food I thought was very good, try the soups they were great. Lunch time is served at the poolside bar which was nice. Luckily we had a great week of weather, it might not be such a nice place to eat during colder days. All the drinks were served and in descent size containers.
The big disappointment was the apartment. We stayed in 308 which was clean but poorly maintained. The entrance door stuck the mattress was frayed and the bed frame seemed to be held together with rope! The furniture was tatty and uncomfortable. the faucet on the kitchen sink was loose and we had no TV worth watching. On the whole a big let down. Would we go again? With an apartment that was more comfortable.Yes.

Room Tip: Don,t be too fussy. Get one over looking the Pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank popey47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CASTILLOELBA, Manager at Elba Lucia Sport & Suite Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Popey47,

Me and my team want to thank you for taking the time of writing a review of your recent stay in Suite Hotel Castillo de Elba and share with other potential clients on this web site.

It has been a pleasure for us to be your host and made you spending a nice holiday. Your congratulations about the service will be shared with the whole staff.

In fact there is nothing more to add on your detailed review of the different services offered by the hotel.

I am sorry that the room conditions have not been to your full satisfaction therefore I want to take the opportunity to explain you that every year there are taking place different kinds of renovations of the hotel equipment, public areas and rooms. Nevertheless you can be sure that your opinions will be considered when planning the changes.

We hope to welcome you back again in our hotel so you can see the progress of our service and hotel facilities. Please contact us for further reservations so you can keep enjoying the advantages of our Fidelity Programme.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    410
    334
    128
    143
See reviews for
416
599
46
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Hello everyone just got back from here and had a lovely time and stay in this great retreat in the sun . after reading reviews on here ? I was very worried about our stay ?? Was pleasantly surprised when we got there what a really nice hotel ? Must agree with sum points but would say there was a lot of lies about this hotel ? Don't no what these people think the hotel is going to be like when you pay a little money for a very nice and clean hotel ? All staff were very friendly and help full ? Manager was very nice spoke to him over pepe ? Cleaners were also brilliant used to fold all our clothes when cleaning room ? Hotel pool was great seen them checking ph levels every day .Was only self catering so cannot comment on the food . calleta due fusta only about 20 min walk along the sea front with the chip monks haha lovely ? There was a lovely bar next to hotel called stoners they made lovely food and drinks and cheap too thanks to the lovely leigha ?? In the main town calleta there were pleanty of places to eat ? We went for breakfast every morning to Trafalgar full English 4 50 euro ? There are other places that do 2 breakeys for 5 50euro but are all very nice ? Had the chinneas buffet a few times and that was a bargain 8 euro pp with 2 free drinks also had tapas a few times in the best place on the island el capatan and went to fado rock a few times that was nice I recommend the fish paella mmm lovly ? We also met some lovely people there and we will keep in touch with then all ? Thanks to fuertaventura for a lovely holiday and I will back soon Keith and Alisha xx

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keith w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CASTILLOELBA, Manager at Elba Lucia Sport & Suite Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Hello Ashley and Keith,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with Suite Hotel Castillo de Elba, we are delighted that you had a memorable holiday with us. We are pleased that your overall experience with us was positive. Your feedback and insights are much appreciated.

My team and I are happy to read that you found our service and staff friendly and helpfull and that you do not agree with all the negative things written about the hotel.Your congratulations will be passed to everybody.

Thank you also for giving a detailed review of the surroundings and Caleta de Fuste which helps future travellers to get an impression.

We definitely enjoyed meeting you and hope to see you back again soon. Do not hesitate to contact us for future travell plans back to Fuerteventura and the Suite Hotel Castillo de Elba.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The hotel is located in Costa de Antigua, an isolated development area of terraced apartments, the majority being empty, part finished, or just derelict building sites. A multi-acre half-finished leisure complex lies behind high concrete walls which disfigure the sea-front. Several shops and bar / restaurants are still operating in the immediate area, but otherwise the financial mess can be seen everywhere.

Local tourist maps conveniently omit a 2km section between CdA and Calete de Fuste, which is where the tourist facilities are located. It’s possible to walk to CdF in 30 minutes - but only by taking shortcuts across the building sites and walking briskly. The shuttle bus for a minimum 1-hour round trip to the main supermarket (necessary for fresh food; adjacent to nearest beach), with 20 minutes to shop, leaves 3 times per day. There are 4 other departures, with the last return at 20.05.

The hotel appears to have been one of the earlier developments and now typifies the sad state of an area in decline before completion, with insufficient resources for further development and inadequate maintenance. Room decor is tired; furniture is shabby and uncomfortable. The kitchenette is poorly equipped and suitable only for preparing basic meals for 2 using the frypan, or for reheating ready-made meals in the microwave. The hob is too small for two large pans, with few cooking utensils. The tea/coffee maker is a filter jug. The small TV has no remote and the only English channel (SKY News) is susceptible to interference.

The pool area is possibly the most pleasant part of the entire area. Plenty of sun-loungers for the small number of guests – no tour operators appear to be present here ( Feb -March). However, the pool accumulates wind-blown vegetation and other debris on both the bottom and around the sides. Management were disinterested in cleaning it each day as ‘it will only happen again’. It typifies the low level of routine maintenance / cleaning.

All this requires a low room rate to attract guests. I would have said it’s an acceptable place to stay for a low-budget DIY holiday if you are content to eat simply and stay within the hotel (or plan around the bus schedule). However, the lack of resources to clear the pool of rotting vegetation at any time during our two-week stay leads to the conclusion that tour operators have good reason to avoid bringing guests here. The ‘Hoteles Elba’ chain has several other hotels in CdF – this particular one doesn’t do the brand any favours.

Following our stay, we spent 4 weeks touring the entire island. Other communities also have areas of overdevelopment and many unsold or unoccupied properties, but CdA is easily the worst example. Avoid this sad area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alec A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CASTILLOELBA, Manager at Elba Lucia Sport & Suite Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Alec A.


Thank you very much for your comment about your recent stay in Suite Hotel Castillo de Elba.

According to your opinion on the location of the hotel, Nuevo Horizonte (Costa de Antigua) is a residential area, many British and Irish people found their new home here and it is 2 km away from the main centre of Caleta de Fuste. Nothing different is written in the hotel information; many customers choose this area because of its tranquillity. A part of that, as you also indicate in your review, the hotel does offer a free shuttle service to the shopping centre and Caleta de Fuste, so there is no additional cost for customers when using transport. The shuttle bus takes between 5 and 10 minutes from the hotel to the shopping centre and supermarket and on the way back it stops at 2 hotels before returning to the hotel. You have also the possibility to walk along the lovely sea side promenade into town which takes you around 30 minutes.

Concerning the equipment of the rooms the kitchenettes are fully equipped with everything you need for a self catering basis. Kettles and toasters are available for rent in case you need them as we have signed to all TTOO and at check in time when you arrive to the reception. Remote controls for TV are available at reception, which is explained in the hotel information every customer receives at arrival.

On the other hand, I want to let you know we have contracts with lots of TTOO, not only English, Germans, French, Polish,…, as I could indicate when we were talking if you have this doubt, instead of write an incorrect information because of a lack of it. I am always at disposal of all of clients in case you want to receive further information as you were able to check by yourself.

About the pool area and its cleaning I spoke to you already during your holiday and explain the situtation. The hotel pool has an automatic cleaning system. Due to very bad weather with rain, wind and storm for a few days and the vegetation of the surroundings of the pool it was nearly impossible to keep the pool clean of leaves in every single moment, but of course we clean. Furthermore our technical services check water every day several times as the Law indicates, an external company is doing regular controls of the water and Inspectors from Canary Government came to the hotel to test it; in fact, the last visit from an Official Inspector was last 15th of March and he certified we fulfilled all requirements. Much more, I would like to indicate H&S inspectors from different TTOO check our installations to certify not only the pool, all our hotel and no problems have been detected because if not it is impossible to work with them or simply hotel is opened.

Nevertheless I took note of your opinion even if I do not share some of the points you mention.

I want to add that the development and planned projects in the surroundings of Costa de Antigua do not depend on the hotel and they are not under our responsibility but I can assure you that it is not the worst example.

We hope to see back in one of our hotels in Canary Island or Andalusia.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The look of the hotel from outside is really attractive and the Reception also didn't dissappoint.
The reception staff were outstanding very cheerful and helpful. The rooms were extremely basic, I would have expected more to be honest being on all inclusive such as hair dryer and kettle. The cleaning was just about average. The restaurant breakfast was perfect with every choice imaginable, but this lead us into a false sense of security. The lunch option at the poolside bar was very limited and everything was fried, not what everyone wants. The evening meals where very poor with little choice for adults, moreso less choice for children. After dinner there was a lovely bar to go to but absolutely no entertainment. With the hotel being in the middle of no where, an entertainment package should be paramount to keep guests in the hotel, instead we had to eat out everynight, spending a small fortune on taxi's and meals out. Overall very dissappointing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nermal49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CASTILLOELBA, Manager at Elba Lucia Sport & Suite Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Nermal49

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Suite Hotel Castillo de Elba.

I sincerely apologize because you haven't enjoyed your holidays as you thought. On one side we truly appreciate receiving honest and constructive feedback from guests such as yourself but on the other side it would have been nice to know about these inconveniences on direct basis during your stay as it would have given us the chance to react at the moment and so to try to fulfill your expectations.For example, if you consider food is no appropiate we cook an special menu as we do with people who have any problem (coeliac disease, lactose intolerant,...) or directly because they do not like what we offer.

Tthanks for indicate staff were cheerful and helpful; I will pass them your impressions.

Nevertheless your comment is very important to us and I can assure you it will be considered when improving the service.

We hope to welcome you back in one of our hotels in the near future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Was part of group with 'blondiebits' and agree that all inclusive was good value. Plenty of choice for breakfast but the lunchtime 'pool' menu was heap and cheerful if you liked your food deep fried. Could have done with an inside option as paper plate took off in the wind a couple of times. Not appreciated by blondiebits as it ended on her plate. The buffet was themed each night so if you didn't like anything then there was no options. Hotel itself looked 'tired' but unlikely to be updated for a while. Iso our barman for 5 out of the 7 nights was brilliant and had good sense of humour.

Most drinks were included in our all inclusive package otherwise it would have been a lot more expensive holiday. Nothing much to do in immediate area but short walk to Caleta de Fuste for shopping, bars etc broke up the days. As did a hire car for the day. There is a regular shuttle and taxis were cheap too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lileth59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CASTILLOELBA, Manager at Elba Lucia Sport & Suite Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Lileth59

I would like to thank you for your feedback about your stay in our Suite Hotel Castillo de Elba.

I feel sorry that yout did not like our menu in the dinner buffet. We do offer every night a variety of cold and hot dishes to choose, every night a different theme with its typical plates acompanied with traditional background music. Nevertheless, we are really glad you enjoyed breakfast buffet.

As you write there is a free shuttle service which takes hotel residents to the town where you can find the beach, shopping center, shops, bars and restaurants. This service leaves at several times a day.

Your congratulations for the kindness of Iso will be transmitted by myself.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend as our first holiday together, absolutely loved the resort peaceful and relaxing! however there is not much to do, & wouldn't advise anyone young! the hotel was pretty much average, we requested a sea view room but when arriving got a room over looking someone opposites balcony and seeing a naked old man isn't the first thing you want to see in the morning! the light in the room was not bright I felt like I was getting ready in the dark, and the room was very basic lacking decor and furniture, on arrival we had dirty towels however when complaining they did provide new ones on the same day, the reps are friendly and helpful with thomas cook! & all in all the service the airline included was lovely! however same couldn't be said about the hotel, there was two pools however the pool located in our hotel no one was in, & the other one was freezing! the sunbeds were rock hard & extremely uncomfortable! We were self catering so couldn't comment on the food however there is lovely places to eat! there is also a free bus outside which is helpful and gets you from a to b! the tv in our room was broken, & the whole room was infested with small ants, the shower goes from boiling to freezing making it impossible to actually wash your hair! the entertainment on the night is pretty much shocking and run by the same man all day. However he tries and is especially good with kids. The entertainment bar is nothing like what I have seen at any other hotel and is in fact old fashioned and small. The hotel is nothing like any other 3 star hotels I have stayed and is nothing like any picture in the brochures. It's just false advertising! The lady on snack bar is rude! If you want wifi go to the dog & duck below the hotel friendly staff! there is also a bar up the road next to trafalgar which has free wifi! The hotel security is also shocking as for our hotel there was no reception only in the one allowing anyone to walk in and out the hotel! All in all we did have a lovely holiday, as we made the most of what we had, however would not stay in this hotel again! and infact spent the whole week at the barcelo hotel over the road! - would highly recommend it's gorgeous!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikWos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CASTILLOELBA, Manager at Elba Lucia Sport & Suite Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear NikWos,

I would like to thank you for your comments about your recent staying as well that you share it with other potential customers through this website.

Unfortunately I want to indicate you that the hotel description is corresponding to Castillo San Jorge & Antigua hotel belonging to our network, so please leave your opinion in the profile of the establishment. However I will pass your information to the manager and staff there.

We are honored you have had your holidays at our facilities and we hope you come back soon to enjoy the beautiful island of Fuerteventura in one hotel of our chain.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We have been to Fuerteventura many times and booked this Hotel as we new the location "Calete de fuste" and on a previous trip stayed at another Elba Hotel.We recognised the the Hotel as we had walked the coastal path way many times. We arrived to find the Hotel was not the one the Holiday company lead us to believe it was they had used photographs from the San George which is in Calete de fuste.
This Hotel is in a place called Nouevo Horizonte which is a residential area and is full of half built hotels etc it is a good 3 miles by road into Calete de Fuste or 2 miles if you walk the costal path towards the San George.
The Hotel is very sad,run down and neglected although I am sure once was a lovey Hotel.
The pool was very dirty and not once whilst we where there was it cleaned!
The room was ok again very tired unloved and cold very cold! No Sun got on thi side of the hotel. The bathroom window was broken and had probably been like that sometime but we fixed that ourselves. We asked for extra blankets it was so cold it took 3 attempts asking different receptionist before we received them (3 Days). We hired a car, thank god we did,we were so disappointed with our hotel we went out all day visting different places on the island so we didnt have to stay around the hotel it was so depressing.
We meet some english people who were residents down the road and frequented the Pizza Place and Mustang Sally's (Fab Night Out - LIve Music) they advised us not to walk the streets as they were unsafe after dark!
Although we love Fuerte we will not being going back or a while as we feel we have exhausted the island on the trip due to the disappointing accomodation.
We hoped to spend our holiday relaxing and chilling be a pool instead we drove the length and breadth of the island and walked many miles!
What a shame!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jui1934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CASTILLOELBA, Manager at Elba Lucia Sport & Suite Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Jui1934,

On behalf of the Management and the whole staff we would like to thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on this website. Your comments are valuable to us, as we are constantly evaluating how we can improve our services.

We were therefore disappointed to hear that we could not fulfill your expectations.

About the pool I want to indicate we have an automatic filtration system, Chlorine and pH automatic injectors, an external company which certifys the quality of water, Health & Safety inspections from Canary Government and they are daily checked and reported in our pool control books.

According to your opinion about this area is unsafe, I would like to inform you that lots of us live here, no steal in my hotel for years, police drive through our streets several times a day,..., so it is really quiet. Much more you yourselves haven't referred any unsafe situation.

I also want to point out that our reception staff is always available to help you with any incidence and try to solve problems as soon as possible.

We regret again that you did not have had a pleased holiday but hope to see you back again in the future in one of our 3*, 4* or 5* hotels.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caleta de Fuste
1.5 mi away
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
#7 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
2,473 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Elba Sara
Hotel Elba Sara
#3 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
3,746 reviews
0.2 mi away
Globales Costa Tropical
Globales Costa Tropical
#1 of 4 in Costa de Antigua
1,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Costa Caleta
Hotel Costa Caleta
#11 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
2,964 reviews
1.2 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
1.9 mi away
Hotel Elba Carlota
Hotel Elba Carlota
#5 of 27 in Antigua
4,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elba Lucia Sport & Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elba Lucia Sport & Suite Hotel

Property: Elba Lucia Sport & Suite Hotel
Address: C/ Teniente Coronel Jose Zerpa Guevara, 8 | Urb Costa Antigua, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua > Caleta de Fuste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Caleta de Fuste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Elba Lucia Sport & Suite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Elba Lucia Sport & Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Castillo De Elba Hotel Caleta De Fuste
Castillo De Elba
Elba Lucia Sport & Suite Hotel Fuerteventura/Caleta De Fuste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing