We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel - very relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Caleta de Fuste
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 9, 2010

We stayed at the Barcelo Thalasso Spa for a week at the end of May / start of June and had a very enjoyable time.
The hotel is very close to the airport so you can easily get a taxi for a reasonable price - ours was prebooked with First Choice so we could get there before the transfer coach and avoid big queues at reception.
Our rooms were spacious with very comfortable beds plus a sofa bed, table & chair. We went for a sea view which wasn't spectacular but pleasant enough and it was nice to sit out on the balcony. The room design was quite good because you have a large area with washbasin & big mirrors which is open to the room (difficult to describe but actually very well done) and then the bathroom just has the bath/shower/toilet. This avoids the problem of someone wanting to do makeup / brush teeth etc when another person is using the bathroom. Also gents can have a shower and then shave without a steamed up mirror. The room had TV but only a couple of English language channels. There was no kettle although you could hire one but we took a travel kettle anyway, bought milk in the nearby supermarket and kept it in the minibar fridge. We paid for their WiFi service which was quite expensive and rather slow. We also paid for the room safe which I thought was a bit costly but they explained the fee is only to cover their insurance, they don't make any money from it (not sure I believe that). The rooms were quiet - you didn't hear anyone in other rooms - the air conditioning worked well and there were light-stop curtains so the room stayed dark and you could sleep in if you wanted. We slept well there.
The hotel itself is very clean and attractive inside (not so attractive outside), the corridors are wide and tall and airy and always cool. We never got the feeling of being crowded in with other people.
The pool area is fine but what others have said about towels on sunbeds is true. The first morning I woke up at 7.30 and looked down to the pool - almost half the sunbeds already taken with towels! After that it was a case of if you can't beat them, join them so I had to get up with the others to make sure my kids had some shade in the day. Seems like a silly vicious circle which the hotel should take a firmer hand with. Anyway, the pools are clean and nice but feel a bit chilly when you first go in.
We were all inclusive and I think it was well worth it. I thought the variety and quality of food laid on was excellent, so did the rest of my group. At every meal in the main restaurant there's a cold buffet, hot buffet, grill bar plus lots of other choices plus fruits and desserts. It's not haute cuisine but we found lots that we liked at every meal. The house wine was free in our package but it was a bit odd that you could only order it by the bottle and couldn't then take the bottle away if you hadn't finished it - seems very wasteful. There's also the poolside grill bar which is quite large and a very nice place to sit and have a drink or snack. If all inclusive you can just help yourself to beer, wine, Cava, hot or cold drinks and ice cream tubs. Very very bad for you :-)
The entertainment team were excellent and worked very hard to keep people amused. As well as younger and older kids clubs they laid on adult activities every morning and afternoon - I did rifle shooting, archery, volleyball, mini golf, among others. Every evening there was a show in the theatre, many of which were put on by the Entertainment Team and, although they were effectively amateur productions, they were really good fun. The bar/theatre layout is good; the two areas are open to each other and the theatre has rows of seats with tables so waiters will bring you drinks while you sit there.
The staff were almost all very friendly (one grumpy barman but everybody has their off days) and helpful and all worked incredibly hard.
We didn't explore Fuerteventura because we were there for a lazy week. We walked into the town a couple of times, where there are bars and a few tourist shops but didn't go far. We went on the beach several times, which looks lovely but apparently a lot of the sand has been shipped in and if you go out in the water you find out it's still sharp volcanic rock underneath. We didn't try. We also didn't use the gym, except to have a shower on the last day after we'd checked out.
All in all, we had a marvellous stay and were very well treated. I have no complaints at all and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snooky64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (9,076)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,204 - 6,210 of 9,076 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2010

this hotel was fantastic there were shows at night and lovly sunbathing weather during the day you would have to go all inclusive otherwise it would be to expensive but there was a big shopping centre about a mile down the road and there is a small supermarket right next to the hotel and a jewerly shop and restraunts and a lot more what can i say it was fantastic the best holiday ever.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pollydog98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2010

After following Trip Advisor advice I booked up through 'On the Beach' and got 30% other Tour Operators. Get a taxi and not a coach to the hotel. There is a great beach 10 mins walk from the hotel if you keep walking past the Spa to the hotel next door. All inclusive is almost essential if staying here as the prices for food and drinks are very high. Towels are placed on sunbeds at 07.00 but this is only an inconveinience for the first day, or drink too much the night before. The in house entertainment ranges from outstanding (Lion King) through too diabolical (Night at the Movies). The professional touring entertainment again was hit and miss with the hotel opting for cultural acts such as African singing and Flamenco. The food and service was excellent and the daytime activities catered for everybody. I would recommend the deep blue diving centre which is only 5 mins walk to the harbour. Overall I would revisit this hotel as it met everything I wanted in the holiday and more.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DroitwichJJhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2010

this was our first holiday abroad with our 3 year old son. firstly i would like to say to everyone please ignore the negative comments about this hotel. i am a very picky person and i found it hard to fault this hotel. yest a few of the staff can seem a little off but i think this was just their personaltiy. on the whole everything was great, the waiter in the restaurant and pool bar were fantastic with our son and always took the time to play with him. the childrens enterainment was fantastic and the cleaners and pool staff could not have kept the hotel any cleaner. this is a fabulous hotel for families and the resort is quiet but not too quiet. our room was lovely, food ok not 5* but on the whole was great, plenty of chioce for picky eaters. our young son loved the hotel soo much that we are planning on booking to return next year this week. please go with an open mind and come back with some wonderful memories.
if you book with thomas cook their rep there darren was great.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annmarie_wh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

The hotel, facilities, food & service was excellent.
We travelled as 3 families, 2 families had 2 children each under 5yrs old. This is an excellent family holiday, they loved the children and put plenty on for them.
The evening entertainment was excellent for all the family.
It is quite pricey for drinks, however you can pay when there to upgrade to all-inclusive for a minimum of 1 day at the rate of 18euros per adult and 9euros per child. Excellent value!
Caletta is still very new in development so if you want to explore, hire a car as there isnt too much around.
The local saturday market is good (mainly all fake designer bags, watches etc), you really can haggle!
The manmade beach is lovely, the sea is warm & shallow however it is quite rocky, you will need crocs/flipflops to walk out comfortably.
The resort & surroundings are extremely clean.
Really enjoyable holiday!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo_JoNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2010

The Hotel is very good; I booked a family roon with sea view and it was clean and nice (stayed there from 18th to 25th of June). Staff is friendly, lovely pools. Food was great (and for an italian guy this is not secondary..lol), very close to the airport (around 7-8 km). Caleta de Fuste is a nice village with many bars and some shops (a little bit too "british" to me but ok Football World cup was on and English guys know how to be nationalists in those events).
I decided to go around the island and not staying all day long inside the hotel anyway the beach just outside is nice and not so windy (which is rare in the whole island).
So I can recommend this hotel to families with children as kids will love the mini golf just outside, the mini club and the pools (remember they organize little shows for kids and adults close to restaurant "La paella" and the mole.
Oh almost forgot the bathroom was pretty with wc separated.
Is better you to take a light sweater with you as sometimes wind is strong and one rule is to have trousers on for dinner while for breakfast people were dressed in every way (dunno what during lunch as I was in media pension)
Now something upsetting:
1) I don't know why but many people (sorry but mainly english) woke up early in the morning just to put their towels on the sun beds (even if they were not going to use them before hours!!!!!!!) = very rude....there should be a respected rule
2) one morning a lady entered inside our room without knocking at the door claiming she should have had to clean it.............and finding us trying to dress she said..."ok I will come later"...argh
3) one lamp of the mirror was off but was immediately fixed
4) wow.......during last match of Italy I never saw before so many anti-italian guys collected in one room.....but this is not hotel fault just other European countries envy...lol

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andbianchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2010

I understand that this hotel used to be called the Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort. I stayed in this hotel for four nights with two girlfriends. We booked it all on the "on the beach" website and paid about £350 each including flights from Scotland for an All Inclusive stay.

Our twin room was on the second floor and it was basic but fine for our needs ie somewhere to get showered and sleep. As we were three in the room, the third person had to sleep in a bed made from a single seater settee, and although I found it okay, my friends felt it was more suitable for a child.

Our fridge did not work the entire stay, nor did the safe that we paid for, but when maintenance arrived on the second day to fix it, he took forever, and we didn't want to waste any more of the sun by staying in with him, so we ended up asking reception to cancel. We didn't suffer from any losses in the room whilst we were there, but it would have been nice to have a fridge working for our water etc.

The air con was also not on, this would have improved our holiday without a doubt especially at night as we all suffered from bites of some sort whilst we slept, and I feel an air conditioned room would have helped reduce this. In any event, the temperatures were not so bad that we couldn't sleep.

The hair dryer in the room was next to useless, so we usually just let our hair drip dry! Also, we were surprised to find there was no soap at the sink...

So, I've not been very complementary so far, and I haven't even started on the food yet! The restaurant for breakfast for dinner and breakfast was large, clean with attentive staff. There was a wide choice of food, but I think it would become very monotonous if you were staying longer than a week. Breakfasts were great, plenty of choice. We tended to have our lunch in a take away form from the outside bar/restaurant, although they did a buffet lunch in the main dining room - we did not want to miss any of the sun!

I am glad we were All Inclusive, the prices of the food and drinks were rather high, but that is also due to the poor exchange rate for Euros.

So, onto the good stuff... We came here to get some sun, sea, sand and a bit of colour on our cheeks. The hotel has two MASSIVE pools with lovely refreshing water. I am glad it was quite cool, as there was always plenty of space to swim about in. Once you were in, the water temperature was fine, you just had to steel yourself a little to take that plunge! One of the pools had a kiddies area, so we stuck to the other pool, but there were loads of sun loungers throughout the gardens.


One of my friends was extremely good at getting up to "book" three loungers together for us, especially important if you want some in the shade. Every day we were there the place was cloudy until mid morning to midday, then the clouds disappeared leaving hot hot sun in blue skies until after 6pm. There was a constant breeze so slapping on the sun cream was very important. We stayed at the pool on our loungers from about 10am to 6pm every day. It was frustrating to see the number of sun beds that appeared to be "booked" but unused the majority of the day. The hotel should really address this matter.

From the large garden grounds, you can walk directly onto the sandy beach. There is a small harbour to the north end of the cove, and the water is protected and perfect for swimming if you don't like waves to play in. Disappointingly, the sea bed was quite rocky and slippery which made it difficult to walk into. We swam in the sea day one, and stayed by the pool for the rest of our holiday.

All Inclusive meant you could help yourself to San Miguel on tap, fizzy drinks. wine, including Cava, ice cream and cheese and ham rolls throughout the day. Anything else such as coffees, teas etc were supplied to you at the bar along with any other drinks you may wish.

Snack food such as chips, toastie's, pizzas etc can be ordered at the outside bar except from 1pm to 3pm (you would have to pay for it during these hours). We ate and drank plenty throughout our stay.

Drinks at dinner time is waiter service but the service is prompt and polite, we had no problems and we enjoyed all our meals.

The night time entertainment was very poor when we were there, and the upstairs bar where they had the "shows" was smelly! Really, the place STANK of body odour or bad drains or something. We tended to stay at the outdoor bar. All the bars are shut at midnight, and the All Inclusive drinks finish at 11pm.

All in all, we had a cheap and cheerful girlie holiday in the sun. The hotel is not five star, more 3 star, but if you are there for enjoying the sun, it is perfect. Also, our taxi to the and from the airport was about 12Euros each way and about 10 mins, so quick and easy for a short break.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NiciJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caleta de Fuste
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
#2 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
825 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Elba Sara
Hotel Elba Sara
#3 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
4,028 reviews
23.6 mi away
Avanti Hotel Boutique Fuerteventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
#6 of 45 in Corralejo
5,243 reviews
23.2 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
#7 of 45 in Corralejo
1,224 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Elba Carlota
Hotel Elba Carlota
#6 of 27 in Antigua
4,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa

Address: Avenida de El Castillo, s/n, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua > Caleta de Fuste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#1 Green Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#1 Family Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#2 Romantic Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#4 Luxury Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
Price Range: $122 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa**** hotel, awarded with the prestigious Tourist Quality Q price, is located on the beachfront in the privileged enclave of Caleta de Fuste. Only 7 km. from the airport and 15 km. from Puerto del Rosario, capital of Fuerteventura - you will be able to enjoy an amazing holiday. Its large and fully equipped rooms, its countless and superb services and its extraordinary location make our hotel a desired destination for all types of holidays: you can enjoy a relaxing holiday, a romantic getaway, an experience full of sports or even a business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Orbitz so you can book your Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Hotel Caleta De Fuste
Barcelo Caleta De Fuste
Hotel Barcelo Fuerteventura
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa Caleta De Fuste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing