We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What is there not to like?” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Caleta de Fuste
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bourn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“What is there not to like?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

Having read some of the reviews on this hotel before we went for a week's break I did wonder if we had made the right choice. All I can say is that those who found the hotel and staff lacking should perhaps look to themselves! I can just imagine a review from a couple near us by the pool when the husband voiced his displeasure that a football match was not going to be shown in the bar, as thee was no TV in the bar this probably wasn't a great surprise - if he wanted to watch football why didn't he stay at a hotel that shows it or better still take himself off to several local bars that only seemed to show football, some people just moan for the sake of it!

I would agree that Reception was a bit stretched on arrival but when First Choice drop a whole coach load in one go I doubt any Reception would be able to book everyone in in just a few minutes.

The restaurant was large, the hotel has over 400 bedrooms, so it needs to be, yes, a bit noisy but then there were always a lot of people in there but if you worked it right you could always get a seat outside where it was much quieter ( apart from the odd kid that seemed to think that screeching was a fun thing to do) ! The waiting staff were excellent, always ready with a greeting and to take orders for drinks. The food choice was very good and always kept topped up, those on here who have moaned about it probably wouldn't be satisfied with anything, perhaps they should try the Papillon Zeugma in Turkey, see my review, then they would have something to moan about!

Dining late we are not great ones for entertainment but on our last night the Animation Team were putting on their version of We will Rock You and boy did they do a good job, OK they were miming to a pre-recorded track but they were spot on, far better than many 'stars' and the lead female role was taken by the girl in the team who took the water aerobics each day - how's that for diversity? Well done indeed and what a pity the audience didn't participate a bit more.

Just one word of warning if you are going to this hotel on an All Inclusive basis there are a number of things that are included elsewhere but not here, bottles of water in your room, wi-fi, safe, tea & coffee in room and parking if you hire a car. These chargeable extras can all add up to quite a bit but apparently this is common practice in the Canaries, never having been before we didn't know.

Nice break, would we return to Fuerteventura, probably not, nothing to do with the hotel, the island just isn't that pretty but the roads are an awful lot better than the UK!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Probably best to try and get in one of the blocks (unfortunate name) away from the main Reception ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelalPeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,698
    2,619
    854
    178
    92
See reviews for
2,455
3,721
128
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,530)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

We were privileged to get the use of this hotel for our annual sales and training conference from our arrival to departure the staff could not do anymore for us the hotel is also well situated for local shops bars and restaurants a really nice place to unwind

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

Me and my partner stayed here from 23rd-30th April. We have never been to Fuerteventura before so did not know what to expect. We have been on 10 holidays together so far and this is one of the best ones. This hotel was really nice-every need was catered for. Before we arrived I emailed and asked if we could be upgraded into a Superior Room as a treat as we were travelling to celebrate a birthday. Not only did they do the free upgrade for us, they also supplied some cava and chocolates in our room on the birthday in question. We didn't wait long to check-in (about 10 minutes which was fair as it was busy). We stayed in Block 3. I read reviews on here about the resort being too big but I found the walk from reception/restaurant/to our room was fine. Also-wifi has to be paid for but when on holiday we leave all that stuff at home-we're on holiday after all so we never used it. The food was great-we went half board and never went hungry during the day due to a large breakfast every day. The choice and selection is one of the best and biggest I have ever seen and they are on the ball in terms of topping up and refreshing the food. We enjoyed all of our meals and the variation every evening was really good--you can not go hungry here, there is something for everyone! The sunbeds were plentiful and we never struggled to get them (despite usually going to sunbathe around 10am). The local shops and bars are good-different shows every night and very entertaining-only a short walk from the hotel. The beach nearby was nice and you can either walk up to the harbour or towards a shopping centre (shopping centre has a bowling alley, shops and restaurants and a play park for children etc). Our room was lovely-nice balcony and the bed was made every day and the room cleaned. The bed was massive-and very comfy. We both did not want to leave this hotel and we will be back. We do a lot of travelling and all we like is to be fed, watered and looked after. This hotel did all that and more. Very, very happy we went and we will be returning.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank CleverPickle44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

i waited 18months for this holiday and it was my first with my 2 year old daughter. The Hotel was lovely, the staff amazing - never stopped running around with big smiles and always stopped to say hello to my little girl. There was a big group of us and we were helped to our sunloungers by a waiter instead of us struggling with all the drinks.

The rooms were cleaned everyday, fresh towels each day. We missed housekeeping one day as the children were sleeping, but i had a call to the room to see if i needed towels and was asked a convenient time for housekeeping to call - they came at 11am each morning promptly.

the evening entertainment was a little strange, as mostly it is the hotel staff trying their hardest - footprint of africa night has left a footprint in my memory for no good reason, but we choose to take our drinks to receptions large sofas and enjoy conversation instead.

all in all the hotel is lovely, food amazing too much choice and always hot and Delicious. keep up the good work

Room Tip: go for pool view - they get the sun in the afternoon so you can sit out while the kids are napping
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Victoria Cather... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

Just returned from nice relaxing break weather wonderful. Emailed ahead to say I had limited mobility and would be possible to have a room close to the amenities which was granted without prompting when we checked in. The room we were allocated was perfect roomy with 26 inch TV with 5 English channels modern furniture and top of the range balcony furniture and very comfy twin beds. The restaurant served a wide selection of food with some themed nights, you are only offered one drink with your meal and have to give your order to the waitress/waiter and (they give u a receipt to hand in before you leave the restaurant) been to lots of all inclusive 4 & 5 stars before and usually you can help yourself to wine etc ., same in the entertainment lounge getting served is quite a challenge. Family entertainment is offered but lacks adult bar and all inclusive drinks end at 11 pm sharp ...! Nice gym and spa (at an extra cost) but we enjoyed a nice day there relaxing & peaceful. Just outside the hotel is a promenade if you like a short walk, it's very flat also good Irish bar with live music & sky sports also some shops and bars & restaurants close by.

Room Tip: We had room 3202 top floor near lift overlooking swimming pools and beach and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAROL T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

We have had a really nice holiday. I'm not one for writing every detail so this will be brief. First trip to Fuerteventura so I had an open mind regarding the hotel and area. The hotel was clean, staff were helpful and the food was very good with an abundance of choice. It is a 4* and I would rate it at that. Our room was not ready when we arrived but we were told it would be ready in about half an hour, which it was. We were able to go off and have food and drink immediately. We went all inclusive and the only thing I could really complain about was although the kettle and cups were in the room you had to pay for the tea and coffee at €3 A DAY. Honestly, why be so petty. We are not drinkers of all the alcohol that was available yet we were asked to pay extra for a tea bag, not acceptable Barchelo for an all inclusive deal. A big thank you to Jessica for her wonderful Yoga classes, I've now taken it up since I came home. Sandra also gave good classes when Jessica was off. Thank you ladies. Hotel in excellent location. I would go back again and would recommend this hotel for a nice relaxing break.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

This hotel is about 7km from the airport, which is about 12 euros by taxi, we attempted to go by bus but gave up. Everyone (except the taxi driver???) spoke english, to varying degrees of quality, but atleast it was english. I hardly speak any spanish. We arrived on the 8th of April, and were surprised by how nice the temperature was, warm, but with a pleasant breeze. The daily average was about 25 degrees, much better than 11 back in Lancashire.
Our room was a double with a sofa bed, the double bed was more like a king. The room is open plan, with a sink and mirrored wall to one side of the room, and a balcony to the other side. The actual toilet/bath/shower room is not open plan, gladly.
The main pool was rather cold for my liking, but the secondary pool was heated and much nicer, although neither are deeper than about 1.2m, and both are very very salty, I assume this is instead of chlorine.
The sunbeds as per usual are mostly taken by 10 am. -.-
The breakfast is the largest breakfast variety I have ever had at anywhere that i've stayed, they had kiwis, melons, other fruits Ive never eaten, bread that you can slice yourself, smoothies made infront of you, really nice chilled fresh not bits orange juice, doughnuts, bacon(not back bacon but hey ho), and pancakes. Loads of other items at the breakfast that i've forgotten, but I had so much at breakfast that not paying for the dinner didnt matter.

Room Tip: The beds are massive,but if you choose a room with a double and a single bed (a twin), you will get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mydwinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caleta de Fuste
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
#2 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
23.2 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
#6 of 46 in Corralejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,197 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Elba Sara
Hotel Elba Sara
#3 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
#7 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,301 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Elba Carlota
Hotel Elba Carlota
#5 of 28 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,723 reviews
22.9 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa

Property: Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
Address: Avenida de El Castillo, s/n, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua > Caleta de Fuste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#1 Family Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#1 Green Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#2 Romantic Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#4 Luxury Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa**** hotel, awarded with the prestigious Tourist Quality Q prise, is located on the beachfront in the privileged enclave of Caleta de Fuste. Only 7 km. from the airport and 15 km. from Puerto del Rosario, capital of Fuerteventura - you will be able to enjoy an amazing holiday. Its large and fully equipped rooms, its countless and superb services and its extraordinary location make our hotel a desired destination for all types of holidays: you can enjoy a relaxing holiday, a romantic getaway, an experience full of sports or even a business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Barcelo, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Hotel Caleta De Fuste
Barcelo Caleta De Fuste
Hotel Barcelo Fuerteventura
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa Caleta De Fuste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing