We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return trip showed improvements”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Caleta de Fuste
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Return trip showed improvements”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Returning is not always a good idea, but hey things were better. Firstly reception was well drilled, and a very helpful receptionist was all one could ask for. We did not mind hiring towels in the knowledge that the deposit was returnable in full.
My concern at hiring the in room safe however was due to the fob proudly bearing the room number, which could be a security risk. Also only one room smart key was handed out.
During our week stay we did notice that pool beds were being claimed from 7.00am which saw a smirk from my group on the day it rained heavily! Resulting in soaked towels being rung out by returning guests later, with much water being drained. Thanks also to the duty manager and the life guard for clearing un-used beds during the day.
Hotel and restaurant very busy, with queues at all serving areas, no problems however, with
Patience we got there.
All inclusive was out mode, and we had no problem with this, well served by the waiting staff.
Cannot understand why some guests complain about being asked to dress up for meals, although it would be appropriate for some degree of sex equality.
With young people in the group they all enjoyed their stay, and even enjoyed the entertainment.
TV better than last year with more English channels.

Room Tip: Block three was right for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,130
    2,890
    925
    203
    95
See reviews for
2,781
4,111
138
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,588)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed at Barcelo from 13 -20 Nov 2013. Reception on arrival was very efficient and welcoming.We were allocated a superior room with sea view. it was well equiped including a kettle so if you like a cup of tea take teabags with you. The pool area is clean and plenty of sunbeds. The outside bar area is a 'suntrap' in late afternoon so ideal for enjoying a coctail before sunset (about 6pm).
The restaurant is buffet style with a wide variety of choice and the food is a good standard. The waitresses are pleasant and will promptly replenish your wine glass upon request!! The entertainment on an evening starts at 9.30 and all the shows were very professional. There is an efficient waiter service during the duration of the shows which last about 1 hour.
The hotel is in a good location on the sea front and a 5 min walk to the harbour area and plenty of bars nearby.
For the more adventuous take a 50 min walk in the opposite direction to the harbour to Las Salinas.It has a lovely bay (very peaceful and relaxing)and just 1 bar/restaurant where you can have a lovely meal and a few drinks for about 25 euros for 2 people For the more inquisitive there is also a salt museum at Las Salinas. There is also a cycle track all along the coastline and you can hire bikes near the hotel.
Uverall a very enjoyable holiday in a very good hotel

.

Room Tip: Try for a room in Block 3 as this is the quieter side of the hotel.Rooms 3120- 3127 have good sea vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulnickLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfreton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Just returned from this hotel we stayed between 13th-20th November all inclusive. This is our 2nd visit the last time was 5 years ago. The rooms are spacious and beds are comfortable, the only grumble is we were allocated in Block 1 which is currently overlooking a construction site which apparently will be a children's area. Although it did not affect us too badly as they didn't start work until after breakfast and finished around 5pm in the evening. The outlook/view was not too pleasant but again it didn't in-pact too much on the holiday. The food at the barcelo is excellent, the choice and different dishes caters for all palettes and tastes. All inclusive drinks menu again is very good with waiter service if desired. The entertainment team are fabulous and the evening entertainment whether by the hotels entertainments team or others is the best you will see in a hotel. I would highly recommend the hotel and would return but I would visit when it is a little warmer as it was very cloudy and dropped a little chilly, maybe late September/October would be better but then again no one can predict the weather. A definate must for anyone who has not visited this hotel, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Block 1 is currently having construction in the grounds outside for a children's area so can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LISA K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Stayed for 1 week on all inclusive basis and had a pleasant experience.
The hotel has a great location you are right in the middle of everything and on the beach.
We had booked and paid extra for a sea view room and although we did have a sea view it was blocked a bit by trees, not sure if it was actually worth paying extra if I'm honest as a lot of the rooms over look the pool and would also see the sea.
We arrived before 3pm so we were told to go for lunch and come back at 3, we came back at 3:15ish reception was still crazy busy we qued again and this time we were told maintenance was in they couldn't tell us when we could get in our room. Luckily it didn't go on too long and we finally got in and sorted we could smell paint so we figured they must have just been touching up.
I do feel they should promote the spa more, we used it once and the cost waz meant to be about 24 euros per person but when we got in it was 18 euros per person and told it was a special gift? I dont know why it was cheaper but that was a bonus! You can use the water circuit from when you pay in right up to 6pm so if you go make sure you book in early as you can come and go as much as you like for the day!


Good Points:
●Hotel was very clean
●Table service by the bar/entertainment area
●No flies etc on any of the food (unlike our stay at Elba Carlota)
●Kettle and hairdryer in room
●Lots of sunbeds (even though a lot get reserved which isn't meant to happen)
●Staff seem friendly
●You can get premium alcohol such as smirnof vodka on all inclusive
●Tennis is free to do during the day
●Great location!!
●Pool bar lovely to sit at minus the birds flying about
●Grounds well kept
●Hard working entertainment team

Bad Points:
●Food isn't great not a lot of variety and meat often undercooked
●Even if you are all inclusive you are still expected to pay for some of the drinks and mini golf
●You get 2 bottles of water (1 still and 1 sparkling) on arrival and if you want more you must pay for either a re fillable bottle or more glass ones
●You get served 1 drink at dinner and lunch so we started ordering our drink plus water so we had plenty to drink
●The safe has a key which means you must carry a small key which has your room number on it everywhere you go, might sound petty but not ideal going to the beach
●Our balcony never got swept or cleaned once during our stay but ones facing pools did
●The concrete around the pool needs renovated!
●Our shower screen was very leaky soaking the floor even just after 5 mins of being in it

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I stayed here with my husband and 20 month old daughter from 6th - 13th November 2013.
I booked this hotel after reading lots of fab reviews and then a couple of days before we went I made the mistake of coming on here to read more recent submissions - only to feel down heartened and worried about our choice!
However - I need not have worried!
OK - so this hotel has some"development needs" - coffee/tea etc in the rooms to go with the kettle and cups, charging for use of the safe in the room seems an outdated approach these day and they could do with being not so stingy around WiFi availability (which you do get for free in the superior rooms - although only one device can connect and it's a little unreliable - although this was kind of relief - meant we really did have a proper holiday - stops reality peeping through too much with access to facebook, work emails etc.!), and we did have a long wait for our room to be ready on arrival - which was a bit of a pain - but we managed and we had our toddler to keep occupied. But these things to us were minor.
Overall - the hotel was clean, beds were very comfortable, good location - a short transfer from the airport, close proximity to the beach and shops. We found the staff to be friendly throughout the hotel. We had no trouble finding sunbeds around the pool - but perhaps this is due to the time of year we visited.
We thought the choice of food was quite good - extensive. Yes - you did get the repeat of some items but we found something different to try every night and and snack bar had food from around 10-5 everyday too. We also certainly made the most of being AI!
It was a good hotel for families - with a kids pool, children's club, playground areas and a evening mini disco which our little one loved.
I went to the spa for a massage treatment - reasonable price and relaxing.
Overall it was a lovely comfortable holiday.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlemrsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

If anyone reads my reviews you'll know they're honest and practical, this is no different.

So then 9 of us arrive late at night (6 adults, 3 children) after a short 10 min transfer. Check in was easy, plenty of help available with luggage but more importantly the hotel had laid on dinner for its late arrivals which was fantastic!

The rooms were clean, spacious and our beds were very comfortable, a canary island first for me. Even the sofa bed for our 2 year old was comfy but I wouldn't want to sleep 2 children in it. We had a superior room so our bathroom and beach towels were included which was handy. We had an adjoining room with my sister which was handy but it's worth noting that little children can slip through the gap in the balcony and annoy next door! The balcony is safe end enclosed fro a height point of view so no big worries there. Girls the hair dryers are quite good so no need to pack one.

This is a big hotel so walking is a must, if there any problems with mobility ask for blocks 1 or 2. We were in 3 which was very quiet but the trade off was the walk. So breakfast, well what can I say? Lovely, all the food you can imagine and more. It's waistline hell! Sadly though you can't get bottled water in the mornings and only glass bottles at night. This is a pain in the bum but having a child that loves milk with us we found it easier to walk 5 mins to the supermarket and buy water and milk. Top tip, buy uht milk if you need it, the room fridges can't cope very well being full. We kept it stacked with water. You can get milk from the bar in the evening but it's a challenge in the morning.

The biggest problem this hotel has by far is a shortage of sun beds. People were setting out towels the night before because it was so bad. The hotel despite warnings do not move them except when I complaint is made to management. My husband got up at 7 every day so that we could find something as a family but it was near on impossible. The plus side is that it rains regularly in the early morning......wet towels all round which made us chuckle!

The pools are ALL salt water very cold and it's horrible, your eyes sting, the salt dries your skin and stains your clothes. I can't really find anything nice to say about them. Don't be tempted to buy your kids inflatables as they're only allowed in the baby pool. The lifeguard does tell you off!

Lunch is available from the pool bar and restaurant. Again a fantastic spread and no complaints. You must however be dry to go into the pool bar. It's also worth noting that you are not allowed to take food to the poolside, we grabbed the odd cup of chips for the kids and never got caught but they're hot on it.

We never really ids the entertainment and kidsclub but it looked like fun and well organised. We had access to the spa too but never used it because we had children with us. Be aware the spa and gym are not on site and is about 5-10 min walk away.

Dinner then, gents YOU MUST WEAR LONG TROUSERS TO YOUR ANKLES, you will get turned away wearing shirts or 3/4 length trousers. Don't say I've not warned you. The food was lovely and if you can't put a meal together then you need shooting! There are adequate big tables to accommodate big families and the service is great. You are not expected to tip anywhere in the hotel.

The evening entertainment is touch and go although it's what you like. We went out one night to the music hall drag night which was fun. Together honest I didn't pay much attention to the hotel entertainment but there are local pubs.

The shopping is pretty good, just around the corner there's a little mall and the market is a 15 min walk on a Saturday morning. There is another shopping centre a taxi ride away. Souvenirs sorted.

All in all had a nice time, I've stayed in better 4* hotels and I've stayed in worse. This was enjoyable, reasonably inexpensive and a good family holiday. The hotel could do better at a few things but they do listen. Enjoy your travels and I hope this has helped.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
runcorn
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

my husband and i have just returned from our wedding anniversary treat the hotel was as usual fab our room was changed for us as we where not pleased with the first choice of room which was ground floor and miles away from everything going on.
the staff where fantastic and really helped us to change rooms to our choice we enjoyed a very relaxed holiday the standard of entertainment as usual was first class the animation team exceptional and very entertaining i would recommend the bar cello to anyone well done and thank you.

Room Tip: block 2 or three upper floors above the pool areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanandderek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caleta de Fuste
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
#2 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
686 reviews
0.3 mi away
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
#7 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
2,474 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Elba Sara
Hotel Elba Sara
#3 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
3,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
#6 of 45 in Corralejo
4,774 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Elba Carlota
Hotel Elba Carlota
#5 of 27 in Antigua
4,014 reviews
23.6 mi away
Avanti Hotel Boutique Fuerteventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa

Property: Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
Address: Avenida de El Castillo, s/n, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua > Caleta de Fuste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#1 Green Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#1 Family Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#2 Romantic Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#4 Luxury Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa**** hotel, awarded with the prestigious Tourist Quality Q price, is located on the beachfront in the privileged enclave of Caleta de Fuste. Only 7 km. from the airport and 15 km. from Puerto del Rosario, capital of Fuerteventura - you will be able to enjoy an amazing holiday. Its large and fully equipped rooms, its countless and superb services and its extraordinary location make our hotel a desired destination for all types of holidays: you can enjoy a relaxing holiday, a romantic getaway, an experience full of sports or even a business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Barcelo, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Hotel Caleta De Fuste
Barcelo Caleta De Fuste
Hotel Barcelo Fuerteventura
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa Caleta De Fuste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing