We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Caleta de Fuste
GreenLeadersSilver level
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We have recently returned from our second holiday at this hotel and it was a good as we remembered. The rooms were spotless, the linen was changed daily if required.....fab . the breakfast was excellent and the restaurant was kept clean
The staff were all friendly and willing to help

Room Tip: We had a room over looking the pools and sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank snookie1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,774
    2,667
    867
    184
    92
See reviews for
2,513
3,792
129
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,548)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

So last year was our first visit to Fuerteventura and we went self catering. This year we decided to stay B&B at the Thalasso Spa Hotel.

After doing some research we opted to upgrade the room to Superior and weren't disappointed. We got a 2nd floor room in block 3 with a brilliant view of the beach and bay, chilled cava in the room on arrival, robes and a good rain shower. Also included is free entry to the spa (normally €18 per person per day) The bed in the room was absolutely huge - must have been a double double! With superior you also get free car parking (€3 per day) and free WiFi (€5 a day)

Room cleaned every day if you wanted it and pool towels provided free.

The breakfast was fine - very large buffet selection of hot and cold with plenty of hot drinks and juices.

We only really used the hotel as a base so didn't try the restaurant other than breakfast.

The hotel is very clean and reception staff very helpful and polite.

The spa is brilliant and really good way to relax and chill out, loads of different pools and showers. out =door and indoor loungers including large double bed type loungers. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Great thing is you can go in the morning for a couple of hours then go away and have some lunch leaving all your stuff in your locker at the spa to return to in the afternoon.

BEWARE! One of the barmen tried to scan us with the change on a round of drinks. The drinks came to €4 and we handed over a €20 note. We watched him take €16 out of the till but put the €10 & €5 notes on top of the till and handed us back €1 ! When we questioned the change he acted al; forgetful and gave us the €5 note! Again we questioned this and he suddenly remembered we had given him €20 and handed over the €10 note. Those a bit worse for ware, a bit more trusting or just not familiar with the currency might easily fall foul to this scam so ALWAYS CHECK YOUR CHANGE. If the hotel management are reading this you need to investigate - if you message me I can tell you the barman and the night it happened.

So overall a very nice hotel, mostly good staff and great location for the town, beach and airport.

Room Tip: Block 3 is the furthest from the bars and quieter but is a bit of a trek. Upgrade to superior if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Armacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

My family and I had a fabulous holiday at this hotel in February 2013, the hotel was excellent, very comfortable and large rooms, two swimming pools and the beach in front. There was never a problem with getting sun beds as most seem to observe the rule of not reserving with towels!

We opted for half board based on Tripadvisor reviews and must say dinner was excellent with a good variety for all tastes and on two nights there was a chocolate fountain were in heaven! Breakfast buffet great as well.

To make our holiday better the check ins at the airport were all very smooth and the transfer by taxi was only fifteen minutes for 12 euro. Also the management was great as we booked late check out they agreed to give us voucher for free lunch - first we asked if we can swap dinner on last night for lunch next day :-)

We also booked superior room (as tripadvised) with great seaview, wifi and free parking and free SPA :-)
Good entertainment but MINI DISCO - funtastic.

Room to improve: have to pay for beds on the beach: not nice...

Room Tip: superior room with sea view. Contact reception few days before you go and ask for hotel plan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sylwia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We were given a room in A block which is near the bars and restaurant. It was very noisy at night, kept us awake until 4 a.m. We asked for a room change and this was done after two nights. Spoilt the holiday a bit though as we were only there for a week. Take a taxi to and from the airport only about 15 euros. We were all inclusive. Food was good. Drinks were good but had to wait a long time at the bar sometimes, especially when there were people who were not all inclusive waiting. Shows were good (mimed) and staff friendly. Plenty of sunbeds round pool and nice walks along the sea front. Wi-Fi was not free and quiet expensive. Cheaper to get a drink in a bar and use their free Wi-Fi. Wouldn't return because of the 'noisy' block of rooms.

Room Tip: Avoid Block A
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanAndCaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fife uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I was here in 2009, returned 2010 and most recently returned Sat 13th April and I WONT BE BACK.

Positives are that the hotel has a good location, short trip from the airport with pubs and a good choice of eating places close by. Which you will need as the food is dire!! Chips, pizza and hot dogs at dinner time but dont worry if you miss them as you will catch them at your evening meal every day!!!!. Trying to get served at the bar under twenty minutes is a challenge. Was a mystery to me how residents were overlooked but others were treated like royalty? Big tips I thought so I tried that, made no difference. We tried a spa day, using the heated pools sauna etc. We were struck down with skin infections.

Paradise Park in Los Cristianos have got it just right, great helpful staff. Excellent choices of food, never repeated. If they can get it right maybe Barcelo needs to take a lesson from them and then they would have a truly great hotel.

Room Tip: We were in rooms 1119 and 1120, first floor, avoid these if you like a sunny balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frances177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed every moment of my stay here. I booked half board as I've been on so many all inclusive holidays where the food is cold, drinks are watered down and variety is poor, well not in this hotel! Plenty of selection for breakfast even a glass of Cava! No plastic cups in sight and freshly squeezed juices everyday. Evening meals were lovely - steaks, chops, fish cooked in front of you so hot & tasty. The restaurant itself was very well run and as there was plenty of food so other holiday makers did not act like "pigs to a troff" !!
The rooms are immaculate, ground floor rooms even have their own decking with sun beds. The rooms have English TV ( I thought i wouldn't really like this but there is something comforting about it. ) I travelled with my 14yr old son and there was plenty for us to do, mini golf , tennis etc. my son even went along to the maxi club which was well run and the staff treat the teenagers as friends which I thought was cool.
The location is superb with the hotel on the beach , the complex is gated ( entrance in and out by swipe room card) which is good. The transfer from the airport is only about 10-15 mins which again was fab and only about €23 return! Local shops to buy drinks for your room and a paper are on your door step.
The evening entertain was so cringeworthy it was funny! They work hard so full credit to them.
All in all this is a good holiday destination especially for families or if your a single parent.
Go A/I

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Xmasbaby2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We spent a week in a 'superior' room in early April. Overall, the Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa is a high class hotel in a good location.

The location of the hotel is ideal. It is a very short transfer from the airport by taxi - €11.00 - and directly adjacent to a large, clean artificial beach. There are shops, bars and restaurants within a short walking distance. The resort was very quiet, but it was very early in the season.

The public areas of the hotel were very clean and comfortable, and the staff all seemed to be very friendly and helpful.

The pool areas were clean, but starting to look a little worn in some areas. One of the pools is heated, the other was mostly empty. We had no problem finding sun beds when we needed them. There are signs saying 'reserving beds is prohibited' but this is largely ignored and un-enforced.

We were 'all inclusive' so usually ate in the restaurant three times a day.
The food was high quality and reasonably varied. Plenty of choice too if your tastes are a little more conservative. The usual pizza and chips are available if that's your preference.

We chose to pay for a superior room as we wanted to use the spa. We were disappointed then to be as far from the spa as it is possible to be. It would be more sensible to have these rooms closer to the spa. (The spa was very nice and quiet. It costs quite a bit to pay for entry, and under 16's are not allowed in)
A 'superior' room also gets you WiFi included, but insanely, only for one device! If you want to use more than one, you have to pay an extra €25 per device. WiFi coverage is patchy at best, and non existant in some areas. this may not be an issue to some people, but we found it frustrating. It was not made clear that this was the case when we booked.

The room itself was comfortable but not very large. The beds were big and comfortable, our TV had a few channels in English so if you need an early morning news update or to watch your soaps you'd be ok.

Evening entertainment was a weakness. Three evenings consisted of the in-house team miming to pre-recorded soundtracks. The 'shows' started at around 9:30 and were always finished well before 11:00. As the all inclusive ends at 11:00 (too early!) we were quite disappointed.
I have no doubt that the team are doing their best and work hard all day entertaining the kids etc, but the hotel really needs to try to improve the entertainment and get in more professional acts.
(Branded drinks are included in AI, so always ask for something like 'Smirnoff and Sprite' rather than 'vodka and lemonade' - it makes a difference to what you get)

Overall, we had a good holiday, in a nice hotel at a good location. But to be 'special' you have to try a bit harder, and this hotel isn't quite there yet.

Room Tip: Avoid block 3 if you want to use the spa - it's a long way
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caleta de Fuste
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
#2 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
597 reviews
23.2 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
#6 of 46 in Corralejo
4,320 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Elba Sara
Hotel Elba Sara
#3 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
3,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
#7 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
2,342 reviews
22.9 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
0.7 mi away
Hotel Elba Carlota
Hotel Elba Carlota
#5 of 28 in Antigua
3,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa

Property: Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
Address: Avenida de El Castillo, s/n, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua > Caleta de Fuste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#1 Spa Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#1 Green Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#2 Romantic Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#4 Luxury Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa**** hotel, awarded with the prestigious Tourist Quality Q prise, is located on the beachfront in the privileged enclave of Caleta de Fuste. Only 7 km. from the airport and 15 km. from Puerto del Rosario, capital of Fuerteventura - you will be able to enjoy an amazing holiday. Its large and fully equipped rooms, its countless and superb services and its extraordinary location make our hotel a desired destination for all types of holidays: you can enjoy a relaxing holiday, a romantic getaway, an experience full of sports or even a business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Barcelo, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Hotel Caleta De Fuste
Barcelo Caleta De Fuste
Hotel Barcelo Fuerteventura
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa Caleta De Fuste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing