We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Caleta de Fuste
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Just spent a week at the Barcelo and I must say I was very impressed. We travelled as a group of 6 with another family and booked via Monarch. Superior room on the 2nd floor of block 3 was a super room with a mini fridge a huge king size bed and a fold down bed for our son. The room could have done with a tea/coffee making facility but as the hotel serves from 7.30am it wasn't too much of an issue. The selection of food was very good - meats, cheese, cereals, omlettes, fruit, yogurt for breakfast and lunch and dinner had a fantastic selection with the dishes changing each day so we never tired of the selection, the dishes are constantly replenished too so everything is fresh. The main restaurant gets very busy at mealtimes with people wandering around aimlessly so its a bit like the dodgems - just keep your wits about you! Sunbeds are close together but the hotel wasn't at full capacity so it wasn't a problem for us in October. Night time entertainment was so-so but the animation team tried very hard to please and did their best - and they are superb throughout the day at getting the kids involved with the clubs. Spa was lovely and kiddie free - you get complimentary entry to the pools there if you book a superior room. Overall a great stay and I would recommend the hotel and the tremendous effort they put in to making you feel welcome.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor on the 3rd block for a lovely view and take advantage of the pillow menu if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chickaboo68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,892
    2,747
    885
    188
    92
See reviews for
2,575
3,925
132
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,564)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The barcelo was very clean and staff very friendly. It's right on the beach and there is a promanade to walk for a few miles. Many hotels along this and 2/3 beach areas to visit. Not like other resorts I've visited in that it doesn't have restaurants and bars along the front. Buffet meals (I personally don't like these) lots of choice. We sat on the terrace outside the main hall as it was quieter and more like a restaurant. Good entertainment for children, there are 2 very large shallow pools. The largest pool is only 4 m deep and is salt water so you float! Evening entertainment is lacking in my opinion, as others have said the staff do their best by miming to show tunes. I saw the lion king and having seen the west end show twice I found it a bit if a joke. The only outside entertainers I saw were the Chinese acrobats and they wer excellent but the show only lasts from 9.45 to 10.30, hardly a night out. O'connors Irish pub and Pieros just around the corner ( there is a side gate from hotel near block 3 which gives quick access to these). All in all a very nice location but not much entertainment at night, nothing for 16 plus who may want night clubs. Tried to find the chipmunks but no joy.
If you don't mind buffet meals and have children this is an excellent hotel especially if you go All Inclusive.

Room Tip: We were in block 2 first floor, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Rooms at this hotel are very big and pleasantly decorated, nothing was overlooked on furnishings the cleanliness was excellent. The resturant had everything food wise that you could have wanted,the staff were quite helpful and some were very pleasant. The reception staff were really helpful and they were extremely nice. The outside bar area was adequate but the staff were not very pleasant to us british, thats how we felt anyway,The grounds and pools were really nice and overall it was all very clean everywhere.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms did not have much of an outlook as there was a hedge right outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jonno1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Let's start with the negatives (and there's not many):

- The little extras you have to pay for when you get there, there's the safe in your room at 3 euros per day. Doesn't sound like much, but really? I'd rather just have that included in the price, I don't want to be faffing with small amounts like this when I'm checking in, for me, not something you should have to do at a 4 star hotel. It's a bit cheap. Then there's the wifi, more additional costs and it ain't cheap. Here's a tip, there's a bar just 60 seconds walk called Pieros and they have good free wifi!

- Having to wear trousers in the restaurant in the evening, men only. A bit frustrating having to go back to the room to change for your evening meal, then back to the room to put your shorts on. Not a massive issue, but a little frustrating at times.

Now the good stuff:

- It's a fabulous hotel, worthy of 4 stars. Well kept, clean and tidy. It certainly has the "wow" factor when you arrive. Our room was lovely with a great sea view. Our room number was 2005.

- The hotel has all of the usual facilities including a games room with table tennis etc. It also has a crazy golf course!

- The food in the restaurant was brilliant, vast choice from the buffet, enough to cater for most tastes. At the start of the holiday we were eating as much as we could (to get our moneys worth, being typical tight Yorkshire folk). However, our bodies could only take so much. The quality of food was really good. We were half board and so were entitled to breakfast and evening meal. There's plenty of places to grab a snack during the day outside the hotel.

- The hotel is literally on the beach, you leave the secure gates of the hotel and then there's the beach. I've read lots of comments about rocks and pebbles ruining the swimming experience in the sea, can't say I noticed too much of that. There's also a nice cafe on the beach serving food and beer.

- The location of the hotel is spot on, close to the beach, other bars and shops, the harbour and coastal pathway. No complaints at all.

- The free evening entertainment that the Hotel provide looks really good, although we didn't watch much of it (not our thing really), but from we did see, it looks quite entertaining. Good for the family!

- Sunbathing, we never had any problems getting a sunbed around any of the three fantastic pools, one of the pools is heated. You'll have to put down a deposit for the hotel beach towels, but you get that back.

Other stuff:
- Car hire, I'm so pleased we hired a car (just 40 euros for the day). We headed for the very top of the island, driving through the sand dunes! Do not miss out on seeing the sand dunes, spectacular. Take a beach towel with you as the beaches up there are amazing. At the very top of the island is a very busy town centre with lots of shops and bars.

- You'll find plenty of trips and excursions to go on, all reasonably priced. Gutted we didn't get time to go on the whale and dolphin trip.

If you're chasing the sun and looking for a nice relaxing holiday with still plenty to do should you get bored, then this place is for you.

I'm a filmmaker and decided to shoot a short holiday video on my iPhone while out there, this will give you a much better idea of how nice our holiday was. Take a look here http://www.vimeo.com/51874960

Room Tip: Choose one close to reception, 2000's are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DLaceyFilm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Just returned from a quick week in the sun at the Barcelo. Although not a fan of All Inclusive we got a really good deal for AI in a Superior room booking through Monarch and I was very pleased with the hotel. For what we paid we have no complaints. The rooms were very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Foot was plentiful and the menu varied, no complaints regarding the drinks either, the house white, red and rose were all quite palatable. The beer and spirits were of good quality too and I didn't feel the drinks were being rationed as experienced on our last AI trip to Turkey. Plenty to keep the kids occupied, good kids club and activities. Staff were attentive and helpful. The evening entertainment wasn't really my taste but the team tried hard to entertain everyone. I'd certainly go back to this hotel without any hesitation. As you'll see from my previous reviews I am very honest in giving my opinions. For the price we paid this holiday was an absolute bargain.

Room Tip: Request a room in Block 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HJMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

When built this may have been a 4* hotel, recent refurbishment doesn't maintain that standard, I rate this hotel 3* and cannot understand the No1 hotel in Caletta de Fuste rating.
We were a little earlyso the room wasn't ready, we were given our complimentary drink ticket for the bar to fill in the time, we were told we would be advised when the room was ready, after purchasing a few more drinks no one came, I went to reception to be told the personel had changed over duties and they hadn't been told we were there, the room had been ready for some time.
We booked a Superior room which had a balcony, it had a sea/garden/pool view, much is made in the publicity about a pillow menu, what you got was 3 different sized pillows with varying grade of filling, like most hotels abroad there were no tea/coffee making facilities.
The sheets were not changed all week, I asked at reception the evening before we booked out about sheet changes to be told they were changed after the third day, not so, the next day (our last of 7) a card mysteriously appeared in the room, on it was stated it needed to be put on the bed if we wanted the sheets changed, no mention of it in the welcoming folder that made reference to towel changes..
The balcony door was very stiff and air conditioning unit faulty (fell to bits when touched),if you are on holiday you do not want to spend time at reception complaining.
Using the Internet near reception was awkward, there were three chairs, all with sagged seats, this resulted in using the mouse above shoulder level and the keyboard at or above eye level, I reported this to reception but nothing was done about it.
The pool area was good if lying in sizzling conditions is your thing, however as mentioned elsewhere the sunbeds were lined up close together.
The food was plentiful but again as mentioned elsewhere no better than warm, nothing to excite, it was difficult to put a decent meal together, partly cooked food finished off later and cold vegetables is not cooking, plenty of salad with various ice creams and puddings, saving grace was we were half board and a snack in the local drinking establishments was more than welcome.
All inclusive appeared to be a waste of money, the selection of beers available were limited and spirits served in glasses packed with ice and were not available after 11.00 pm..
Biggest asset for the hotel owners were the staff who worked their socks off, they certainly worked under pressure.
I can't see myself returning to this hotel mainly because of the cold food.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have only one view, the garden hedge. Block 1 could be noisy into the early hour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DETONATOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Well run hotel with attention to detail for cleanliness, food and service. Buffet syle meals cover a broad range of European styles. Some fish dishes excellent. Two great swimming pools - one heated- with plenty of sunbeds, maybe a little too closely packed for some tastes. The evening entertainment shows were top class. Staff very friendly to us.

Room Tip: Avoid suites 2401-3 if you like a good view. The roof of Reception is fairly plain, but then who wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caleta de Fuste
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
#2 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
23.2 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
#6 of 45 in Corralejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,461 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Elba Sara
Hotel Elba Sara
#3 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
#7 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,389 reviews
22.9 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
0.7 mi away
Hotel Elba Carlota
Hotel Elba Carlota
#5 of 26 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa

Property: Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
Address: Avenida de El Castillo, s/n, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua > Caleta de Fuste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#1 Family Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#1 Green Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#2 Romantic Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#4 Luxury Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa**** hotel, awarded with the prestigious Tourist Quality Q prise, is located on the beachfront in the privileged enclave of Caleta de Fuste. Only 7 km. from the airport and 15 km. from Puerto del Rosario, capital of Fuerteventura - you will be able to enjoy an amazing holiday. Its large and fully equipped rooms, its countless and superb services and its extraordinary location make our hotel a desired destination for all types of holidays: you can enjoy a relaxing holiday, a romantic getaway, an experience full of sports or even a business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Hotel Caleta De Fuste
Barcelo Caleta De Fuste
Hotel Barcelo Fuerteventura
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa Caleta De Fuste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing